We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location!”
Review of Casa Velha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Velha Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Boa Vista
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous location!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Downstairs apartment a little dark and lacking utensils but the hospitality and location were stunning. Staff are so friendly and nothing is any trouble at all. Walk to town centre is 8 mins and many fab restaurants and supermarkets

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerryr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    33
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
38
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was my first to Casa Velha and the place on arrival.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and were available to assist in arranging places to eat as well as tours. The apartments are spacious and designed with an eye for detail and kept immaculately clean. The roof terrace is a lovely peaceful space to relax and enjoy the tranquility and the beautiful sunsets. I loved my stay there and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: The penthouse is amazing as are the room at the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shakira20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Friendly staff and very nice accomodation. This appartement is perfect if you're visiting Boa Vista with some friends or as a couple.

Casa Velha is also close to the main street so shops, restaurants and taxis are always close by.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed in Casa Velha several times and each and every time i felt at home in this place.
The staff is most friendly and help you with everything from morning till evening. The apartments are spacious and designed with an eye for details. Ecology and durable are 2 important worths in this building, but i never means that you have to replace some luxe. Especially if you have the opportunity to rent the penthouse, you will experience the best view & place in Casa Velha. A special place ... worth every euro !
If i have to give 1 worth of remark; the breakfast could have some more variety ... but the cakes & cookies they bake every day are delicious !

Room Tip: The penthouse is simply the best place to stay in Casa Velha ... worth every euro !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeertStrobbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I went in Boa Vista to have one week of windsurfing and we enjoy to rest in Casa Velha after our days. The place is very calm and charming. You have space inside rooms. Our bathroom was a bit humid. We enjoy breakfasts and happy hours as much as for the quality of the fresh products than for the resort people which is very friendly and professional. The terrace on the roof is the place to finish your book quietly at the end of the day. I definitely recommend Casa Velha.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

If you are someone who likes to walk around with a bracelet in a sealed-off holiday resort then this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a rustic haven that is close to the beach and the town Sal Rei on the beautiful island of Boa Vista then this might be your ideal location. Large clean white apartments, friendly staff, fresh breakfast, beautiful patio and rooftop terrace. The island is developing and so are the surroundings, meaning that there might be building going on (or has been permanently ended halfway) but on the other hand this island is still so pure and to a certain degree unspoiled. We found Casa Velha to be a real home away from home and recommend it highly!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RemcoLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Me and my boyfriend just came back from a perfect mid winter holiday break. Boa vista is a beautiful, quiet but friendly, growing destination. I def recommend it to those who seek some rest and "fresh air".
Casa Velha is a charming appart-hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was huge and decorated in truly-rustic Cape Verdian style. The hotel is walking distance from the center and nice beaches. We also enjoyed our breakfast made with local fresh products every morning.
Great stay for an affordable price!

Room Tip: If you manage to reserve with plenty of time in advance, ask for the "pent-house" : -)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Memepare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boa Vista hotels
1.4 mi away
Marine Club Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Estoril
Hotel Estoril
#5 of 5 in Sal Rei
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Por do Sol
Aparthotel Por do Sol
#4 of 5 in Sal Rei
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
#1 of 11 in Boa Vista
1,917 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
#2 of 11 in Boa Vista
7,186 reviews
3.6 mi away
Royal Horizons Boa Vista
Royal Horizons Boa Vista
#4 of 11 in Boa Vista
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Velha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Velha Resort

Property: Casa Velha Resort
Address: Joao Cristovao | Sal Rei, Boa Vista 4110, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Boa Vista
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Velha Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Velha Resort, born in 2007 in Praia Estoril, just 200 meters from the beach and 500 meters from the square of Sal Rei. The building, constructed in the Portuguese colonial style, consists of various types of apartments, with one or two rooms, which overlook the characteristic quintal. Each apartment is equipped with kitchen and private veranda. Above, the beautiful terrace overlooking the sea; the lovely bar on the ground floor for the abundant breakfast buffet with fresh local produce and traditional dishes made by our staff and for drinks with a romantic candlelight with live Cape Verdean music. Casa Velha Resort, ideal for families, authentics traveler and sports lovers (thanks the proximity to the most important club of kite surfing and windsurfing). The reception organized on request, yours days with excursions, and guided tours on quad bikes, cars and catamaran; group dinners and cultural events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Velha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Velha Hotel Boa Vista
Casa Velha Resort Cape Verde/Boa Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing