We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Horizons Boa Vista
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Boa Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel, highly recommend”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

I was a bit put off before going by all the negative reviews but having been I can assure you for myself it was a wonderful hotel, food especially was top notch
Just a few negatives and advice because that's why you read reviews to learn from others.
1) bring your own towel, if you lose or it stolen the hotel towel its 20 Euros fine (stealing towels is quite common)
2) hotel Thompsons rep was really bad, WiFi is expensive in the hotel and she forgot to mention several other options of getting WiFi cheaply till our last day.
3) if u want to get out of the hotel and do something don't go with Thompson's there very overpriced if you want to explore the island I recomned using the family run business The Giggling Gecko much cheaper and nicer.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    837
    251
    79
    52
See reviews for
398
1,074
60
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

I would say that most of the things were just great, so I decidet to write just the 3 negativs. 1) not enought sunbeds by pool and on the beach. ( but i guess that is everywhere) 2) bottle of water cost 2 € ( i would expect to be free) 3) wifi you have to pay for it 7€ an hour. ( in lobby could be free) otherwise everything was just perfect. I would highlight beautiful Beach infront of hotel and + clean ocean.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucisek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Back from 10 days in Royal Decameron on 10 July. Beautiful location if you want to do absolutely nothing and get away from it all. Room 412 overlooked the awesome beach with amazing sunsets. Predominately French tourists with handful of Brits which was fine. All evening entertainment (shows) were in French but not a problem. Food good if a little samey. Our tour rep (Deon- Thompsons) best tour rep ever. Great fun and very knowledgable. Definitely give Italian restaurant a try as much quieter and nice location by beach. Wifi expensive but minor point. Staff friendly enough. All in all would recommend. Don't expect to see anything much outside hotel. Capital village worth a visit. Friendly people there too.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary-Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Hotel was great, a bit smaller than some of the others on the island but we met other holidaymakers from other hotels and ours seemed nicer. Great choice of food, restaurant and staff all exceptionally clean. Pretty surroundings, lots of flowers. Very relaxing holiday, went for 10 days and didn't want to come home. We liked the choice of pools and restaurants, although the main restaurant was our favourite. Room was a bit basic but clean and had a huge bed, no view which was disappointing as it was so near the sea - unfortunately a lot of the rooms are bungalows so only look out on other buildings. Would recommend a trip round the island and the quad biking, good fun. No shopping really if that is your thing!

Room Tip: I would book a sea view room next time as our room had no views whatsoever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravellaDachsund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Visited in June 2014. The Hotel, Food & Staff are very good. Cleanliness is paramount and there are often snap checks on the food tempratures. A bakery on site provides fresh hot bread on a daily basis and the home made soups are fabulous.
You would have thought the weather would be great, being near the Equator. This is not so. I thought for the best part of the week there was more clouds than over Manchester !! Now, when the Sun is out, the constant 24/7 wind is pleasant. When it is cloudy, it is cold and the swimming pools were always freezing because of the wind.

The visit to the town (Village) which is 10 Euros each way in a taxi from most Hotels is sparse, bordering on desolate. The few shops open are sparse and I have to say I was dissappointed.
athough the intimidating group of large men, who were the only people about and were very focussed on offering us a taxi service back to the Hotel, served as the best tourist information advice to return to the hotel complex pretty quickly in our pre ordered taxi.

We could only go in the sea twice, when the Yellow flag was up (strong swimmers only) as the waves and currents were very powerful & the ever prevailing wind make it look like we had joined the French Foreign Legion. ~You are issued with rocks to put on your bed to keep your mattress on the bed whilst you stand up.

Would I go again.....No sorry !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sherlock999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Visited this hotel in march with my friend . We were staying for 2 weeks but had to return home after only 1 week due to my friend braking her wrist and being unable to get treatment at the local hospital as there was no x Ray machine. I won't bore you with the details of that other than to heap praise on Jackie our rep who took control of the situation and helped us from the start to the finish of our ordeal. UP until then I couldn't fault the hotel other than to say that after 3 days it was full and we struggled to get a table at mealtimes. The food was fantastic with a huge choice always.We had an adequate room by the small pool, but if you didn't get your sunbed by 7am you wouldn't get one. There's not much more I can say about this hotel , although as it was so big it was very impersonal and stuck in the middle of nowhere, there was nothing outside the hotel. We looked on this as a winter holiday, expecting the weather to be good, but unfortunately for us it wasn't't hot enough and the wind was cool and quite cold in the evening. The beach is huge and fronts the hotel and had the weather been better we would have had no complaints as we are not wanting to do much.. Overall a lovely hotel but we weren't impressed with boa vista and won't be re visiting

Room Tip: Decide what you want to be near, it is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 123hmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opava, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I really like almost empty beaches, familial hotel crew. If you don't much demanding and you're looking for good price = it's absolutly good choice.
There are many things which are not good, but it isn't horrible things.

Just no stress :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Kuba707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boa Vista hotels
4.9 mi away
Marine Club Beach Resort
3.9 mi away
Hotel Estoril
Hotel Estoril
#5 of 5 in Sal Rei
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
#1 of 11 in Boa Vista
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
#2 of 11 in Boa Vista
7,083 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Touareg
Hotel Riu Touareg
#1 of 1 in Santa Monica
7,568 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Spinguera Ecolodge
Hotel Spinguera Ecolodge
#1 of 1 in Espingueira
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Horizons Boa Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Horizons Boa Vista

Property: Royal Horizons Boa Vista
Address: | Boa Vista Island, Boa Vista 4110, Cape Verde (Formerly Royal Decameron Boa Vista)
Location: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Boa Vista
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Horizons Boa Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Horizons Boa Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Boa Vista Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Resort Boa Vista
Royal Horizons Boa Vista Cape Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing