We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Decameron is the best one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Horizon Boa Vista
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Boa Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I visited Boa Vista in June, just come back, and yes, it was awesome! Lovely view, sea and beach, also hotel was perfect, great food, friendly staff - Tanko was very very nice and also other staff in restaurant and woman on reception with short hair was great. Just one woman in bar next to reception was unfriendly and arrogant. Close to the hotel are sand dunes and also beach is great for a nice walk. Room was nice and clean, there are pools one is big and more noisy then second is in quiet area and it's great for relax. just one thing - we are both from Czech republic and evening entertainment was almost only for French peoples, that's make us quite upset, we were excepted that someone will be able to speak english, but there wasn't. very nice was evening with staff party, lovely night. There are 3 restaurants - one is normal - buffet - and two ala carte. We were in one ala carte - on Italian night and food wan't good, but on the other hand Kapverdian night was better.Nights are cold, but during day is very hot, but there is a wind so its ok. Love this place and hotel and I hope we will there next year for a holiday again, cause I miss this hotel etc. already. Can't go wrong with this.

Room Tip: We've got room number 305 and this room is great, quite sea view and pretty close everywhere, lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greta Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 2,067 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

Just returned from our 2nd visit to Royal Decameron, Boa Vista. We arrived on 2nd June, & the friends that were with us were celebrating their 35th wedding anniversary,despite the a la carte being full that night, the manager at 5.30pm found out it was their anniversary & arranged for us to eat there, there was also a cake brought out with a bucket of champagne on ice. This is a awesome place, the staff are so friendly & nothing is to much trouble, rooms are spotless. Beach/pool towels are included 7 hairdryers are in the bathrooms. The restaurant offers a enormous choice of food. The pools are huge, we never had trouble getting a sunbed & there were always spare ones on the beach. we went on 2 trips with giggling geckos, both fantastic, met some great people on the half day north tour, hi to Tony & Te, you missed a great night. i would go back there tomorrow, you wont regret it. a bottle of water is left in each room, but when its empty, just take the empty to the restaurant & ask the staff to fill it for you. please go here its amazing. we had a couple of cockroaches in the room but just take a can of raid with you, i sprayed the entrance to the room & no problems after that.

Room Tip: ask for 118/119 as they overlook the quiet pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eternit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Good size rooms. Beach and pools very good. Very spacious. Food excellent variety. A few cockroaches about so take bug spray. Rooms need a bit of modernising but very good value for money and prefer to rui

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank D55aphnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Really don't know where to start as we were a bit unsure of things because of other peoples reviews on here and the fact we were 1 of 2 couples off the whole plane to go to the Decameron BUT Wow! Our own jeep for the 4 of us a 5-10min drive no messing straight to reception Cocktails and a very big warm welcome fron Deon the rep who was 1st class all week!! Got signed in paid for safe n the tourist tax and away we went our luggage is brought for you and fetched on dep day our room was 614 near the Tortuga al a carte no sea view but whatever its only somewhere to sleep the bed was HUGE as was the bath saying that for 2 of us the whole digs where.A quick welcome meeting plenty of info then we explored the beach is STUNNING everything and everyone was helpful and polite there is a breeze but you need it and it doesnt blow sand everywhere we could'nt find a negative point all week but had wished we had a driving licience between us to go Quading on Santa Monica beach I will say if you are wanting to go scuba diving as I did..but it didnt happen for personal reasons There is no centre here and after visiting the dive centre at the next hotel Iam still unsure if its worth taking my gear next year. In main buffet area if you stay entrance end on an evening Tanko the waiter will see to all youre drink needs he cannot do enough for you also we left loads of meds eg paracetamol n bits n bobs as there is a very poor community who cannot afford these certain types of things Deon the rep will pass on for you . The gym area is not modern but it functions new towels were handed out while we were there which were lovely we know not to take beach towels next year On the whole its bargain price with a little bit extra and a view to die for Plus I had a birthday cake made for the hubby and dined in the Cape Verde al a carte res all the staff made it night to remember Fab

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I visited Cape Verde in November 2013 and it was superb! the weather was glorious every day - sometimes hitting 30 degrees, but because of the sea breeze it never felt too hot. We couldn't fault the hotel, our room was clean and we had no issues, we had a lovely view of the beach and the maid came every day.

The pool was lovely and we only had trouble finding a sun lounger on one day and this was after we had been in to the local town for the morning, we still managed to find one in the quiet pool.

The food was brilliant, we can both be quite fussy eaters yet managed to find stuff to eat every day, the fresh fish is amazing and there is plenty of choice. the a la carte restaurant was lovely - one of the best steaks I've had!

The staff were lovely and couldn't be more helpful, there is something for everyone with different activities through the day bowling (which I won!!!!) croquette, volley ball, football and AQUA GYM to name but a few! Kenny was hilarious!

The beach was gorgeous and we walked quite a way down it past other hotels, the only downside is there are sometimes jelly fish warnings and the sea can get very choppy, you can feel a strong current even just walking through! I would recommend getting a taxi in to the local town - just to see the local culture it is 10 euros each way and when we went our taxi driver waited for us! the locals do try and harass you a bit but only to get you in to their shops, we went in to town twice and learnt after the first time that you just had to be stern and say no!

Over all we had an absolutely amazing holiday - it is not a busy holiday and if you like doing different things every day I would not recommend it but if you want to go to relax then its perfect! there are excursions available, we did the catamaran trip which was great, it had all inc drinks and you were able to go snorkelling in the sea!

I wish we went for two weeks and would love to return in a few years to see how much the island will have changed!!!!!

Room Tip: we had a room right on the beach front which was lovely. about 4 minute walk from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful week in May. The staff were so welcoming and it was a really relaxing holiday. If you want a chill out time go here. All we did was eat drink sleep and read by the lovely pool each day. The beach is long and silky. There could be a little more evening entertainment as it was all much of a muchness, our room overlooked the beach and the outlook lovely. Everywhere
You went on the complex it was scrupulous clean. Will be going back.

Room Tip: Get a sea view well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juanita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

If its a relaxing 'feet up enjoy the sun' holiday then this hotel fits the bill. The flight from Birmingham is 6 hours and a bit of a pain especially with no in flight movies etc, something Thompsons need to sort but it is bearable (just). The airport reminds one of a middle eastern castle rather than an airport terminal. The biggest gripe we had was checking through their passport control, only one at the counter, and it took over an hour and an half to get through, and it's exposed to the weather (no roof). The trip to the royal decameron hotel was somewhat of an experience, brick paved rickety road and it did make us think 'oh gawd' what have we done? We arrived and once into the complex we began to relax, check in was easy and we were escorted to our rooms with a representative who showed us the features. Once settled, we began to explore and enjoy the atmosphere. The staff were excellent, from the waiters, chefs, reception, and the entertainment team were brilliant especially Andrea,Clara, and Liese. Nothing was too much for them, they all were so welcoming and friendly and on top of that provided fantastic shows every night! It's not everyone's ideal choice because it is so isolated and there are no shopping centres close, but if it's peace, sun and a good chilling out you need then you'd be hard pressed to find better!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blebski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boa Vista
4.9 mi away
Marine Club Beach Resort
4 mi away
Hotel Estoril
Hotel Estoril
#5 of 5 in Sal Rei
93 reviews
162.9 mi away
Residencial Ponta do Sol
Residencial Ponta do Sol
#1 of 2 in Ribeira Grande
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Aparthotel Por do Sol
Aparthotel Por do Sol
#2 of 5 in Sal Rei
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Club Boa Vista
Iberostar Club Boa Vista
#1 of 11 in Boa Vista
2,100 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
#2 of 11 in Boa Vista
7,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Horizon Boa Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Horizon Boa Vista

Address: Praia de Chaves | Boa Vista Island, Boa Vista 4110, Cape Verde (Formerly Royal Decameron Boa Vista)
Location: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Boa Vista
#4 Spa Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range: $155 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Horizon Boa Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Horizon Boa Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Boa Vista Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Resort Boa Vista
Royal Horizon Boa Vista Cape Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing