We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel lovely( shame about the staff )”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Horizons Boa Vista
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Boa Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Had a lovely holiday the weather was great the hotel was ok lots french. we went round small pool very quite. round large pool lots of loud french music. food was ok . the staff was horrible very poor they was closing the bar at 10.30 i would not tip them if they are not nice .the rooms are very large keeped clean .make sure you take a top for night time cold wind .

Room Tip: all looked ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 1,923 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

My wife and I spent 11 nights from 14th March 2014, got back this Tuesday. We read reviews before we went and a lot were negative. But we always go with an open mind and we found a lot of the negative views were completely wrong and wondered at times if the people who wrote them were actually at a different hotel!
Staff , locals, food, weather, accommodation all excellent and having travelled a lot in Africa l was very impressed. When out in Sal Rei for instance the locals still live in very poor conditions, but loos in local bars/ restaurants for example were spotless with all facilities provided ( puts a lot British establishments to shame).
I advise you visit and enjoy this unspoilt paradise before it is developed into just another mass tourist destination.

Room Tip: All units seemed much the same. we requested a first floor room with balcony and sea view and that w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave1951_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Like many others, I was worried after reading the negative reviews. Ignore them - this place is brilliant. Two of us travelled to Cape Verde in February 2014 - we're both in our late twenties, and wanted a relaxing week, with good food and culture thrown in.

Our room was immaculate, and I didn't see a single bug/mosquito while we were there (amazing, given we were in Africa and were expecting there to be quite a few!) We couldn't hear a thing and slept amazingly.

The staff were lovely and massively helpful - bags are transported for you to your room, and the reception staff were very speedy at answering any questions. The Thomson rep is also very helpful (albeit a bit talkative!)

The food's good in the buffet, but excellent in the two a la carte restaurants (included in the All Inclusive) - especially the Italian restaurant. The menu changes in the buffet every day, so there's very little repetition, and plenty to choose from.

We chose to sit by the quiet pool every day. There were sufficient beds (although I wouldn't recommend turning up mid-morning and expecting one), and you couldn't hear any of the noise from the other pool. The beach is far too windy to sunbathe on, but there are plenty of spots around the two pools.

I used the gym every morning, and it was definitely adequate although not particularly fancy (so exactly as I expected). Again, the staff were very helpful and friendly.

We went on the quad bike excursion to the shipwreck, as well as a trip on a catamaran, and also walked into the local town (a free walk run by the hotel). The quad biking in particular was excellent, and we'd fully recommend it.

The airport's a bit of a farce (it's very primitive), but that's really the only criticism - and it's hardly a criticism, given you can carry on sitting in the sun while at the gate (shade is also available!) We were delayed by 22 hours due to a sandstorm, but were kept well informed and well looked after.

Overall, I couldn't recommend it more!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CMC2011_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We booked a week of winter sun in February. We were a bit worried after reading some of the reviews - but ignore the negative ones!

We had a great week - yes there is a big percentage of french speaking guests but all the staff try their best with English.

We sat by the pool each day and there were lots of activities you could join in - but we were not shouted at to join in, just asked in a friendly way. There is lots of room by the pool, so you don't feel packed in. I used the gym most days and found it fine.

The food was good, we don't normally like buffet style dining, but we found fresh food cooked and a variety every day for each meal. We had no problems with drinking the water from the bar and did not feel the need to buy bottled water. We drank plenty of gin and tonics throughout the week and we were happy with that.

The staff were all friendly and polite and the views of the ocean from our room and the rest of the hotel were stunning.

We booked a quad tour with the thompson rep - we had travelled there from holland - but although she was not our rep she was friendly and booked the tour for us. She also stopped us the next day to ask how it was. I would recommend this tour of the south of the island. We rode on undeveloped beaches and sand dunes, amazing - where in the world can you do that?

There is not much to do on the island, but we had a lovely relaxing week. Take a jacket for the evenings as it does get cold and pack plenty of sun lotion as the wind fools you - be careful.

We would definitely go back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank MissGeorgeLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Just had 2 weeks at this hotel, we also had suite with hob in adjoining room, this was due to the fact it has been a self catering apartment and the hotel are gradually upgrading, having said that it was spotless, the bedding was changed daily, the towels were changed daily, the floors mopped daily, what more could you want in a third world country. The outside toilets were being cleaned constantly I was impressed with the overall cleanliness The food was average but plenty of it. We had a TV but never had it on, the only thing I missed was not being able to make a cuppa in the room as due to the small luggage allowance I didn't take my travel kettle. The staff were very friendly and helpful although sometimes there was a bit of difficulty with reception as they mostly spoke French. I was informed by the entertainments manager who spoke perfect English, that all staff are going to have English lessons as they recognise the problem. There was plenty to do during the day if you wanted it, the entertainment staff were superb they involved all ages from kids to pensioners. In the evening there was dancing then a show and at 11pm the disco opened, I even got my 80 year old friend to the disco and she had a little dance. The pool was superb all one depth so it suited everyone.The downside of the hotel is, it isn't suitable for the disabled there are a lot of ramps and a lift, but the footpaths are a sort of grey block paving (in their fashion) and are not cemented in, also very steep, so anybody could trip at any time, even the agile & fit, but I was told that is something else that will be put right eventually. We knew about it being unsuitable for disabled before we went but we managed. There is no where to walk out to at night as it is very barren.The other fault is there are cat's in the Italian Restaurant getting up on the tables, the situation is made worse by holiday makers feeding them. I think they should be locked away and let out at night when the food is finished if they have to have them. It is not the only hotel with this problem. All in all we had a lovely holiday and the continuous breeze was most welcome.

Room Tip: If you are fit a studio on the upper floor around the quiet pool area seem to be the most favoured...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madge134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Arrived that the Royal Decameron & first impressions were good. After checking in & our luggage being taken to our room by one of the reception staff, we unpacked & went for a nose around. We were in a room next to the relaxing pool which was lovely, quiet & a very spacious pool with sun loungers & parasols. The main pool area again looked very nice but it was very noisy due to the music that was being played. We went to the beach & again that was lovely, white sand & crystal clear water which was what we remembered of our last holiday to Cape Verde. The walk around & to all the accommodation & the beach can be pretty lethal, all the paving is on a hill or slope & is like very badly fitted blocked paving but so long as u were wearing flat shoes & are not slightly immobile or pushing a pushchair then you would be ok. The Italian restaurant well what can I say, the staff were not very helpful at all & we went back a second time just in case the first time we had taken things wrongly but no they were exactly the same on this occasion. The Cape Verde restaurant well everything was brilliant, the staff couldn't do enough for you, always making sure that we has a drink in front of us, talking each time they passed our table & the food was piping hot & very nice. The main restaurant was ok, breakfast was good, omelettes & fried eggs cooked to order so always hot, all bread made on site so always lovely & fresh & plenty of choice. We did hear a lot of complaints from parents with young ones due to the lack of choice & chips for their children at lunch & dinner. Overall the food was ok. The hotel provide a free doctor who visits 6 days a week for 2 hrs a day & I have to say that it's a fantastic service to provide especially when I had to use this facility, So thank you very much. Well overall a great holiday that was relaxing, lazy & chilled. I have to finish by saying a very special thank you to Lisa-Marie the Thomson/ First Choice rep who couldn't do enough for any of her guests, she was a very lively, bubbly & helpful addition to the holiday, so thank u Lisa.

Room Tip: Rooms are only 2 storey so an upstairs room gives u a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebsieOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed 1 wk beginning Mar 14. Booked Suite with Sea View - got bedroom and adjoining room with sink, hob, fridge and sofa bed (no tv or comfy chairs) with balcony looking out over other rooms to the sea in the far distance. Rm 813 on arrival had badly cracked leaking bathwith blocked plug and broken water boiler which was not fixed for 5 days leaving us without hot water. Reception lost tour booking conformation for both hotel and flight, then said we had given them fake ones. Sunbeds on beach are mostly broken and dangerous, one lady had one collapse on her leg leaving her wheelchair bound for the remainder of her holiday. Complementary beach towels were no bigger than hand towels, thread bare and tatty. Hotel electrics unsafe with wires pushed into sockets on appliances and twisted together to make extensions. Hotel management very arrogant and did not see it in their interest to help. Followed THOMSON complaint procedures and on returning home received a letter from them thanking us for our feedback, but the hotel exceeds their standards so will no be taking anything further action and hope to see us again soon. Well, Thomson and Decameron, neither of you will be seeing our custom again - and I recommend do not go to the Royal Decameron Hotel and do not go anywhere with Thomson.

Room Tip: Do not book at this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ssssssh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boa Vista hotels
4.9 mi away
Marine Club Beach Resort
4.0 mi away
Hotel Estoril
Hotel Estoril
#5 of 5 in Sal Rei
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
#1 of 11 in Boa Vista
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
#2 of 11 in Boa Vista
7,447 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Touareg
Hotel Riu Touareg
#1 of 1 in Santa Monica
8,090 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vilas Praia Chaves Boavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Horizons Boa Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Horizons Boa Vista

Address: | Boa Vista Island, Boa Vista 4110, Cape Verde (Formerly Royal Decameron Boa Vista)
Location: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Boa Vista
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range: $153 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Horizons Boa Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Horizons Boa Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Boa Vista Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Resort Boa Vista
Royal Horizons Boa Vista Cape Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing