We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Horizons Boa Vista
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Boa Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed at the RD between the 4th-18th of September and had a brilliant time. The Hotel was just the right size for us, having previously stayed at the RUI in Sal. The location of this hotel was perfect and sea views could be seen from almost everywhere.The food was great with lots of variety. Pool beds were all taken on most days so we tended to laze on the beach which we preferred anyway. The beach was beautifull and stretched for miles. The sea was rough at times but not so strong that you couldn't go in for a swim. The entertainment staff were brilliant and so hardworking. We did the 4hr quads which was great fun and also the best way to see the island. Boa vista is quite an under developed/sleepy island so if you are a bit of a party animal then this is not the place for you. All in all, this was a perfect holiday for relaxing and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 4326stacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 1,923 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Perfect location for a relaxing holiday. Rooms, restaurant,pool area, beach all good. Entertainment staff were hilarious at times and the big shows in the evening were brilliant. Dancing was really professional and costumes were amazing. Watch out for the lamp units outside rooms. I leant against one and it collapsed leaving me with serious cuts, abrasions and a puncture hole in a very tender part of my rear abdomen. Rather worrying when there is no medical help at all. I survived , however and had a great holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband & i have been back for just over a week now & we still cannot stop talking about the superb holiday we have just had.If you want total relaxation than this is the place.Ok we did have a few storms but you can never predict the weather & it never stopped us from lazing about by the pool which sometimes was a laugh with other guest.Daytime around the pool there was always something going on by the entertainment staff so you could either join in or just chill there was no pressure.Food was excellent so much choice for everyone even if you are a vegetarian.Once a week the hotel would put on a managers cocktail party which we thought was very good as managers mingle with the guest well impressed with that.Hotel in general very clean staff work round the clock.If you ask would we go back to the Royal Decameron the answer would be yes loved every minute of it didnt want to come home.The only thing i would say was evening entertainment think would of been better by the pool as you had bar near & at peak times more staff behind the bars as they can get busy & having to wait for quite a while apart from that holiday was a well chilled one brilliant.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 423 far end of complex over looking the sea superb view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debs Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from an amazing week at the Royal Decameron on Boa Vista.

There are lots of reviews on here which speak of the various things on offer and how they didn't like them. My wife and I loved all of it.

The entertainment team were excellent - especially the blue team that the hotel employers aside from the Look Voyages french entertainment team.

The hotel is aimed at the more active holiday maker. We both played the sports that were organised - water polo, beach volleyball, football etc.

it was a great way to bring Europeans together, whilst playing Volleyball the score was translated and re-translated into french, Portuguese, German, English, Polish...truly European.

The entertainment team work really hard getting things organised and it is great fun to join in. Quite where these guys find the energy to entertain during the day then dance at night is beyond me.

Showtimes in the evenings were really good, especially the dances of the Cape Verdian islands this was a great show and nice to see the cultural differences on these great small islands.
The french team were not as good dancers though they did try.

As other reviews have stated there is music played much of the day though much of it is relaxing, especially when the stretching and abs classes are on in a morning and over lunch. There is a quiet pool which we didn't not use.

Food - great, fresh, quality, plentiful - really good. They also do measure portions on things which are cut in front of you such as Raw fish (caught that afternoon) and beef/pork joints. this is so that food (freshly grown on the island for this hotel) is not wasted. I strongly back this. I hate food waste.

Drinks - all the soda and water you would ever want, the service was slow at the bar and they do serve in an odd order at busy times (especially after the showtime)

Nightclub - bit of a youth club feel though they do love to dance. Saturday nights are big nights for cape verdians so the party continues late into the night.

Beach - endless sands, good sand too. the Sun loungers are good too, though some could do with updating. Espeically good that you can drag them to the waters edge and listen to the waves crashing in.

Sea - the waves can get quite powerful - be careful.

Rooms - we were in room 446, ideally located right below the steps to the pool area. The rooms I did here were laid out in a funny way and there is no indicators to find your own way. The people we met who had a living room did complain about the local brown crockroaches coming into the room, though these are very timid creatures and not horrid looking like the big nasty european ones.

Weather - when it is hot it is hot, when it rains it rains especially in September. you would get an inch downpour in 20 minutes then it would be sunny and hot again. the hotel does need to look at its drainage and how to minimise flooding. One night i even picked up a squidy and helped sweep the water away. all part of the fun.

Gym - needs updating though everything you need. more weights than cardio. Be aware though that the treadmill decrease speed buttons don't work!

We both had a lovely time and thoroughly rested by being active. There is a relaxing holiday to be hard here too, the entertainment team are not pushy and will go away if you ask them.

Room Tip: Sea views are amazing. I would ask for not a living room as the people we met with one were not happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank YorkshireSykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely 2 week holiday at the Royal Decameron, Boa Vista. Whilst there we celebrated our Silver Wedding Anniversary and we couldn't have chosen a better place to be. The staff are really helpful and friendly, from the cleaners and gardeners to the General Manager.
The food was really lovely and the choice of food was second to none, there was something for everyone, most of the food was cooked fresh that day and depending on the type of meal you wanted it was often cooked for you, as you wait.
Unfortunately we were subjected to quite a bit of rain, but it did not detract from the holiday and we usually had a bit of fun with the staff and other guests whilst waiting for it to stop.
The Managers Cocktail party was exceptional, all the Managers were introduced to the guests and then performed a couple of dances, this was really good but the best thing was that the management made sure they were available to speak to guests at any time day and night, should you have a problem.
We did have a problem with the air conditioning on arrival, but this was dealt with quite rapidly, we would return again and look forward to our next visit.
Sue & Richard, Leicestershire, UK

Room Tip: Our room was near the quiet pool, Room 239. Really lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue Rich E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The most relaxing holiday ever. Fab hotel. Wonderful food and lovely staff. White beaches for miles, on the beach, plenty of sunshine. What more could you ask for! Just like being in Caribean without the long haul!

Room Tip: Can't remember room number but don't think there was a bad one! Heard no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank janet g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

As usual with hotel reviews - it depends on how stuck up you are.
4 star hotels in a foreign country are never what they are in the UK. This hotel was well designed - with almost every room having a really attractive sea view and patio area. The beach was clean and large, with absolutely no danger of over crowding. For the first two days we were there it was very windy and that did put us off the beach for the rest of the week. The sunbeds were satisfactory and the pool and surrounding area always clean. French holiday company make up most of the animation team though and the locals do not communicate in English that well.
Food was typical of all inclusive resorts although there was not much in the way of take away type foods. The variety was enough that almost everyone would enjoy the food though.
The island itself was quiet, as you come in to land at Rabil you are immediately aware of the desert island qualities it has. Lots of Sand, lots of rocks and not much green. One road, maybe two roads make up the islands transport network, if you wanted to reach the coast on the North, South and East sides of the island you would have to do so by dirt track.
All in all its a really good holiday destination, its only got 4/5 because if it rained it would be quite a boring destination, Though according to the locals - its only likely to rain for a week or two in August.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nds1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boa Vista hotels
4.9 mi away
Marine Club Beach Resort
4.0 mi away
Hotel Estoril
Hotel Estoril
#5 of 5 in Sal Rei
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
#1 of 11 in Boa Vista
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
#2 of 11 in Boa Vista
7,446 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Touareg
Hotel Riu Touareg
#1 of 1 in Santa Monica
8,090 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vilas Praia Chaves Boavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Horizons Boa Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Horizons Boa Vista

Address: | Boa Vista Island, Boa Vista 4110, Cape Verde (Formerly Royal Decameron Boa Vista)
Location: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Boa Vista
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range: $153 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Horizons Boa Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Horizons Boa Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Boa Vista Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Resort Boa Vista
Royal Horizons Boa Vista Cape Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing