We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wounderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Horizon Boa Vista
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Boa Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The reviews are all true,its an amazing,clean,happy friendly and beautiful hotel.The beach is the best along this coast line.The choice of food was great and they catered for everyone.We had an apartment on the edge of the complex and we felt safe all the time.It is windy all the time,so you have to be aware of burning even when the sun isn't out.It's a great place to chill out.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 1,969 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

As all the reviews say it's true. The whole hotel was brilliantly clean including all the public areas. The room was spacious and the shower was great with a seperate washbasin and mirror. You do need to be careful when getting out of the shower as the floors are rather slippery with wet feet, also the same around the pool we saw a couple of people go flying. As previously stated there are not enough sun loungers and if you want one of the nice padded chairs around the main pool you will need to get up by 7 am. The beach is lovely but can be a little to windy, it would be great if there were wind breaks to shelter you. The food was good and we always found it hot and varied. You do have to buy bottled water but you can have as many cups from the bar and dinning room as you want. We went on the tour round the island and it was well worth the trip. Our guide Paulo was very informative and you get the real feel of Boa Vista and its people. If you want a quite break with some lovely weather and people this is for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BozliReef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The last few reviews have said it all. Great place, great food, great service, great weather 30C+.
Can't wait to go again. Spa great... Massage 60€ Salt/oil scrub 35€ lovely staff. Beach fantastic and so quiet. Saw a fish eagle eating its prey and so close. Joel the Thomson rep was polite and helpful.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
6  Thank 60Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at the Decameron for 2nd time and found it as relaxing and enjoyable as the 1st time. Amazing location on the best part of the beach, fantastic pool area, great staff and good food. Got upgraded free of charge to a junior suite which had loads of room and the usual gigantic bed! Hotel kept spotless due to countless staff tidying and cleaning all day and night. Service in restaurants and bars is exceptional and the entertainment team are hilarious. Scooby Doo is nuts and the nightly shows are fantastic! Not all of the staff are fluent in English but always make the effort the to have a word or two with you. There is a French speaking entertainment team at the hotel to cater for the fact that the majority of guests are from France, and also the Decameron's own team. We found all of the staff to be extremely pleasant and don't consider the fact that they aren't all fluent in English as a sign of rudeness. As I can't speak any other languages, I think that would be hypocritical. Certainly I'm not so thin skinned or paranoid to believe that the staff discriminate against English speaking guests. If you feel the need to constantly converse with the entertainment staff, then perhaps you should consider a different hotel.
Joel, the TUI rep was fantastic and I would recommend the free walk into Sal Rei on Saturday mornings. Even better if Scooby comes with you! Overall, a fantastic, relaxing holiday in a great hotel with beautiful views, fabulous weather and friendly people. Can't wait to go back!!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just returned from the royal Decameron, we had read all the reviews and really didn't want to go. The holiday turned out to be fab. Firstly, we stayed in a suite on the beach front, room 637. What fantastic views to wake up to, and to see the sun set. We were worried about security, but there were security guards around all the time. The rooms are basic, and with not much storage for clothes etc, but the room was spotless all the time.the safe costs 2 euro per nte, but was worth it for peace of mind, I kept my iPad in it when not in use. For people who have any walking difficulties, beware there are a lot of steps to get anywhere around the complex. The Thompson holiday rep Joel, is fantastic, whatever your issue or problem, he will go out of his way to solve it. He is always on hand, he sits and chats with guests, and he is very informative. Thanks Joel for helping us to have a fab holiday. The hotel staff were generally friendly, but really laid back, so don't expect anything to happen quickly. Any little issues we had were sorted in the first day though. Please be aware that you will need to pay for bottled water, 2 euro a bottle. This is not stated in the brochure. The food was ok, but not very hot, which was a shame, but the specialist restaurant was lovely. Make sure you book in advance. The uv levels are around 11, and even though it is windy, and you feel cool, make sure you use a really good sun screen, as you burn very quickly, as I found out. If you go out and about, you only need euros, as these are accepted by everyone. The red flag was up every day, so was unable to go in the sea, and the swimming pools are great, but very cold. Overall we had a lovely holiday, and it turned out better than expected, which was a bonus.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 637, which was a suite, view fantastic, right by the beach bar, but a lot of steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ann119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed 1 week in early november 2012 at the Royal Decameron in Boa Vista, great short holiday. We strongly recommend to go.

The hotel is nicely located, with a beautiful long white sand beach right at the foot of the hotel facilities.

There's not a lot to see or discover on Boa Vista island, but going there for 1 week relaxation holiday in our autumn or winter time is great. We had 30°C virtually all the time, bright sunshine and blue sky most of the time.

The food was good, with sufficient variation, fish especially was most of the times excellent.
Wine is not their thing, red was ok, white acceptable, rosé not recommended, at least to our taste.
The cocktails prepared with local drinks were very good.

The staff at the hotel is very very friendly.

The 4 hour quad tour is wonderful, 4 hours on quad, through half of the island, with a 45 min break at a paradisiac beach and a ride through the dunes withj fantastic landscape, great experience !

The 4X4 island tour was very nice as well.

So, just go there.

Room Tip: Pick a room preferably at lower level, closer to the beach, and make sure you test the equipment of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thierry_Bea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from 25th Feb - 11th March, our second time in this great hotel. Staff were lovely, food great, rooms spotless. Joel the rep was hilarious, and extemely helpful. Take the Saturday walk into Sal Rei, Joel does this for free and it's a great chance to see more of the island. Pool great, perhaps a bit cold but who cares, the sun will heat you up when you come out. Animation team are superb, they work really hard, and the nightly shows are great. Weather was fantastic, it was a bit windy at night time so you may want to bring a fleece, but we came home to minus 12 degrees! Please bring some items with you to leave with Joel, as they will get given out to the orphanage and the locals, eg paracetamol, clothes, toiletries, etc. Overall an amazing holiday, very relaxing and peaceful. Our only gripe is with First Choice, they have stopped flights from Glasgow, so we had to fly from Manchester. Try the Brittania Airport hotel in Manchester, we paid £57 for one night and 15 days parking. Bargain! We will be going back to the Decameron at some point, it's just so relaxing and a great way to recharge your batteries. Try it for yourself!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boa Vista hotels
4.9 mi away
Marine Club Beach Resort
4 mi away
Hotel Estoril
Hotel Estoril
#5 of 5 in Sal Rei
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Club Boa Vista
Iberostar Club Boa Vista
#1 of 11 in Boa Vista
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
#2 of 11 in Boa Vista
7,622 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Touareg
Hotel Riu Touareg
#1 of 1 in Santa Monica
8,310 reviews
4 mi away
Residencial A Paz B&B
Residencial A Paz B&B
#7 of 14 in Boa Vista
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Horizon Boa Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Horizon Boa Vista

Address: Praia de Chaves | Boa Vista Island, Boa Vista 4110, Cape Verde (Formerly Royal Decameron Boa Vista)
Location: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Boa Vista
#4 Spa Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range: $140 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Horizon Boa Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Horizon Boa Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Boa Vista Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Resort Boa Vista
Royal Horizon Boa Vista Cape Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing