We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Horizon Boa Vista
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Boa Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just arrived back from 2 weeks at the Royal Decameron.I did not know what to expect after reading some of the review.I was pleasantly shocked.Rooms were all you needed & cleaned daily.Plenty of choice with the food,even for my fussy daughter.The staff are worth their weight in gold ,nothing is a bother.Our holiday rep was excellent,nothing was ever to much bother.We only had one problem at that was the FRENCH.

Room Tip: room 822 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tracey f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 1,966 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

If your looking for winter sun then you won't go far wrong here in Boa Vista only negatives is that the place is very windy and the sea often to dangerous to swim.It became quite frustrating to stand on the shore looking at this inviting sea only to be stopped quite rightlyby the 3 life guards on duty there.The pool is cold but does suit the purpose.We found the food very good and veried.The rooms spotlessly clean with the staff making every effort to keep this place clean at all times.The room we had 713 was actually a suite but although all rooms appear sea facing not all like ours had a sea view.Asked to change but was fully booked.We went for R&R and achieved our aim by far with our room very quiet and just a short walk from reception.The question of security seems to be addressed with new bolts fitted to patio doors and plenty of guards on patrol at all times.Entertainment was available but we just chilled and enjoyed the bar atmosphere.Joel the Rep was always available and led a walk one Sat morning to the local town which broke the week up.Not much to do here but that suited us.Doubt if we'd return but only because of the wind & sea.Finally staff seemed ok but allow for the language barrier.

Room Tip: Request Sea View.Take clothes pegs to secure towels to sunbeds on beach you'll kow what I mean w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Metcalfe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We went for some Winter sun and t o celebrate a birthday. Rooms were basic but very clean with good air con and showers. Take a kettle if you like a tea/coffee in your room though. Highly populated with French and German, there was seldom a sun bed available past 8am, but luckily usually more to be found at the alternative pool or on the beach. Food was varied, again catering predominantly for mainland Europeans, but there was a good range of food and great basics such as fruit, pizza or pancakes to fall back on if the main dishes were too alien. No tummy problems either as they appear to take cleanliness very seriously. Thompson rep (Joel) was good at sorting out any little problems (our safe wasnt working for the first couple of days) and staff always tried to be helpful. There weren't too many children around at this hotel when we were there, so the atmosphere was very relaxing and really quite quiet. The evening entertainment is mainly in French. The reason I wouldn't go back to the hotel is that overall, unless you can kite surf, there is very little to do in the water as the sea is often off limits (too rough with wicked undertows or littered with Jelly fish). Sadly the wind can also be quite wicked too, so prepared to take cover or be a little sand blasted if on the beach (we had a couple of days where it was seriously cloudy and very windy). Overall a nice relaxing place to take some sun and do a little reading when it's pouring with rain or snowing at home.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susieetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spend 10 days in this hotel 28 Jan- 07 Feb and have to say we had the most amazing holiday ever. Boa Vista is beautiful island, hotel was maybe not the poshest there but with the most beautiful beach ( Santa Monica is the best but no hotels there so far). This hotel deserves 4 stars. We had room 325 just yards from the beach, room is simple but cleaned every day, towels changed every day- please take some toiletries as they provide only few sachets and bars.At the end our stay we left all toiletries as our rep asked so they can give them to local people. The most important- huge king size bed- very comfy-so you sleep like a baby.
Food was really good, we did not have any problems and enjoy every meal- we had 1 dinner at the restaurant and we ate too much so we did not go again.
Animation team too noisy sometimes and almost everything in French but so what!
Weather was excellent- only 2 cloudy mornings but we still manage to play in the ocean every day - only 2 yellow flag days , other days red flag but guard on duty and still you can enjoy warm ocean.
We did not spend any time at the pool and yes- the beds are reserved in the morning but we did not care as we preferred to spend time on the beach.
You can walk for miles in this beautiful scenery, on the left you can walk on sandy dunes, on right side you can go to Sal Rei as we did 2x. When you walk there you pass Riu hotel- yes it looks like sandy castle but no to pretty beach and too massive for us- too crowdy.
Sal Rei- well wonderful experience but people will try to sell you everything -not too big deal for us as we knew about it.
Please take some goods for the school or nursery- we took pens, pencils, color books and sweets - they are so grateful!!
We took full day trip 4x4 -to see whole island and is not comfortable as most is off road but hey this what holiday is about- to see how people really live there.
So if you think going there- book now as this is fantastic place, beaches are white and ocean is blue and when you are standing on the high dune you feel like - this is like paradise!!
We will be back to explore more Cape Verde island but when we will be back to Boa Vista- we can go to this hotel with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 325 -ideal for couple-view of the ocean, steps from the beach, security all night long so you f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BonaLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Went to Cape Verde for some winter sun and was not disappointed. Arrived at airport in and out very quickly. After a short but bumpy ride to hotel. Check in took about 30 minutes. Room was okay, nice outlook on to beach. Room cleaned every day. Really great shower. Take travel kettle if you want hot drinks in room.

Food was very varied and plenty of it. Staff seemed quite reserved but helpful.

Entertaiment was all in French I'm sure it was good but not for us.
We enjoyed the hotel but would not return purely as it geared for French but would go back to Boa Vista

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wilsojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I went to Cape Verde with my partner, we both had a great time and loved the Royal Decameron. The rooms and food were both good. The pool area was great, although the water was freezing. Cape Verde is a nice place, we went on a lot of the excursions available. The whale watching was amazing and the desert was great. However, there wasn't much for young people. We're both in our mid twenties and we found the evenings to be a little boring as there is nowhere else to go. however we knew this before we went. Overall, the hotel was good and the staff were helpful. We had a couple of issues, our key broke in our door and the safe door also broke but they were quick to come to help.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed at the Royal Decameron in October 2012 and had a really good 10 days. It is as some people have stated in need of a little TLC but overall a nice pleasant place to stay. Staff friendly and always willing to help, always cleaning and sweeping! Yes the animation team are French but good fun really enjoyed the water aerobics. Food was good and plenty of choice, something for everyone. One gripe was having to pay for bottle water but hey-ho never mind. If you want a relaxing holiday go to the Royal Decameron and enjoy the sun and the wonderful beach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne1741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boa Vista hotels
4.9 mi away
Marine Club Beach Resort
4 mi away
Hotel Estoril
Hotel Estoril
#5 of 5 in Sal Rei
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Club Boa Vista
Iberostar Club Boa Vista
#1 of 11 in Boa Vista
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
#2 of 11 in Boa Vista
7,614 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Touareg
Hotel Riu Touareg
#1 of 1 in Santa Monica
8,296 reviews
4 mi away
Residencial A Paz B&B
Residencial A Paz B&B
#7 of 14 in Boa Vista
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Horizon Boa Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Horizon Boa Vista

Address: Praia de Chaves | Boa Vista Island, Boa Vista 4110, Cape Verde (Formerly Royal Decameron Boa Vista)
Location: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
#4 Spa Hotel in Boa Vista
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range: $141 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Horizon Boa Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Horizon Boa Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Boa Vista Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Hotel Boa Vista
Ventaclub Resort Boa Vista
Royal Horizon Boa Vista Cape Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing