We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fon Banana

Fon Banana
Ranked #22 of 56 Restaurants in Boa Vista
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Harrogate UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We booked this trip through the hotel and it was good to get off the resort and see some more of the island, however as it was evening, once off the short bit of road, we were on an unlit track until we got to the village, so not a lot to see! However once we got there, the restaurant were expecting us, we got seated, got drinks, and had dinner. Staff were attentive and the food was good, very tasty! After dinner there was dancing and singing (both us and the staff) and we eventually got back to the hotel about 2 am. Great night, as I remember, it was a year ago!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janetlou12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    27
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fiskars, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lobster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Rocky road on a small bus to the village of Povoasao Velha, a lobster dinner with some music and dance. (local) .

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hannu h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great tasty food wish we never booked with Thomson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

The food here was superb and very tasteful, However we booked through Thomson and paid 122.50 euros for 2 adults and 1 child which I thought was really expensive for what we had. And because of the value for money would not recommend anyone to do this trip. At least with Thomson's anyway, unless you can get it cheaper direct. I personally think Thomson must have had at least a 50% cut out of the cost. It was also sold as a family night out which I would totally disagree with. I blame Thomson for the miss selling and cost and not Fon Banana this is why I have rated it 5 star.

Summary. If you can book direct and not through Thomson then give it a try as the food is amazing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

This was our one night to get out of the hotel. You had a choice of three menus chicken, fish, lobster or goat. The food was so fresh and well presented and tasted very good. They had live music who were the locals and put on a good show of their cape verdian dancing. Very entertaining and they made you join in. Great food, great people, great entertainment, definatley recommend this night to anyone.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dannielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We went on this evening to take a break from the hotel and it was money well spent. We had an excellent evening of food, fun and dancing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank June L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fon Banana also viewed

 
Boa Vista, Cape Verde
 

Been to Fon Banana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing