We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Club Boa Vista
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Boa Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Club Boa Vista. We found the staff very helpful and friendly, although communication was not always easy, and knowledge of Portuguese would at times have helped. The food in the main restaurant was good, but we found the a la carte restaurant very disappointing. We were not able to swim much because of the red flag which was there throughout our stay, but a couple of times we walked along the beach where a yellow flag was flying, and had an excellent swim. We found the water surprisingly warm, unlike the hotel's pools!
The high point for us was the evening entertainment in the outdoor theatre. This was of a very high standard, and the director of entertainment, or whatever his title is, is to be congratulated for moulding his young enthusiastic and delightful team into such professional performers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
8  Thank JohnTManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Club Boa Vista, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear John,

We are thrilled you enjoyed staying with us at the IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista hotel and are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your feedback here on Tripadvisor; We appreciate all of your input, as it helps us identify areas that could use more attention to detail.

The gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we sincerely regret reading your disappointment on our à la carte restaurant and passed on your comment to our Head Chef for information and improvement; however we are very pleased to read that our main buffet restaurant was able to meet your expectations thanks the quality and variety of both local and international dishes thoroughly prepared by our talented kitchen staff.

We also appreciate your kind words towards our staff, their genuine kindness and helpfulness are definitely one of our hotel's main strengths.

Last but not least, we also want to thank you for your nice comments toward our animation staff, their enthusiasm is contagious and they strive to offer a wide variety of leisure and sport activities throughout the day as well as entertaining evening shows for our guests to bring back some unforgettable memories of their holidays among us; we will certainly not fail to congratulate our head of animation and his energetic team on your behalf.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the island of Boa Vista; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and remain at your entire disposal through our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR destination among more than 100 hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,025)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 2,027 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Good food, excelent beach, friendly animators. Cold water in the pool - very fresh :)
We were together with 7 years old child - all were happy. Comfortable rooms with terrace in 1 floor buildings.
Recommended for lazy holidays.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Krista Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay last week at Iberostar Club Boa Vista. Not big fans of all inclusive, we chose this hotel due to a good experience with Iberostar in Cuba. Although it’s not 5* as in the Ritz, we couldn’t fault the service from a friendly and hardworking team.
Room (1402) – spotless, spacious with a firm comfortable bed. Lovely powerful hot shower. Nice terrace overlooking a garden.
Food – an impressive and delicious range of fresh salads, daily meat/fish from the plancha and interesting options including goat, local cachupa, plus pastas and pizzas for the less adventurous. For unfussy eaters there was almost too much choice and we’ve come home a bit heavier!
Drinks – great cocktails from Amadi and Hevraldo at the pool bar. Cappuccinos in the lobby made up for weak coffee at the breakfast buffet.
Entertainment – the animation team were great fun. We watched a couple of shows and enjoyed a few activities which we were asked but not pressured to join. The daily stretching class under the late afternoon sun was blissful. A little more live music would be nice – we enjoyed the pianist/singer on Saturday night.
Beach – absolutely stunning although the loungers were not as comfortable as those by the pool. The racket from the Decameron next door confirmed we had made the right hotel choice.
Sal Rei - We found this a quiet town, with a bit of hassle to go into shops to buy but nothing compared with say Marrakech. Many people we found were interested in a little conversation.
The only thing that marred our stay was some members of a large corporate group which spent a couple of over-exuberant days somewhat dominating the resort. While the hotel management cannot be held responsible for the behaviour of their guests and I understand such a large booking will be lucrative, having 80 Belgians descend onto the buffet or the pool, barging the rest of us out of the way doesn’t make the other guests feel quite equally valued.
This island will not be for everyone – it is underdeveloped and there is not a huge amount to do but we came wanting an easy week in the sun away from the hectic pace of London and this was exactly what we got and I’m glad to have spent time in this lovely laid back place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank salieri_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Club Boa Vista, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your trust in IBEROSTAR for your holidays and for choosing our IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista when looking for a relaxing holiday in the sun; we are thrilled we were able to deliver once more and to read your satisfaction with your choice.

We sincerely regret reading that the presence of a corporate group marred your stay for a couple of days, although we did our utmost to limit the possible disturbances that may arise by such a large group, we commit to revise and improve on this aspect so as to ensure all guests are feeling well cared after and comfortable at all times among us.

On the other hand, we highly appreciate your kind words towards our staff; their kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying at our hotel.

At IBEROSTAR we believe that nice leisure activities and entertaining evening shows are part of the real holiday feeling this is why our animation team strives to offer a wide range of activities for our guests to join in, we are glad to read that this was a pleasant aspect of your stay among us.

It is also very enjoyable to read you felt comfortable in the room we accommodated you in; our goal is to provide comfortable and spotless accommodations in unbeatable locations and we thank you for letting us know you were satisfied with yours.

Last but not least, although we lament reading that you “have come home a bit heavier” we are very glad to hear your full satisfaction with the quality and variety of our buffets thoroughly prepared by our talented Chefs, the gastronomy being such an important aspect for IBEROSTAR, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on this aspect of your stay.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting Cape Verde; we remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations and encourage you to contact our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR holiday within a wide range of beautiful destinations worldwide.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed for 7 days with husband and 16 months daughter.
Food in restaurant ok, but hard to find something for vegetarian.
Also cats walking around, birds and flys flaying around.
Food in the bar very poor and drinks too. Around all drink machines awful smell.
Nothing to do for 7 days. Also Internet only in reception it will cost u €25 - you will get 24 hours in total this time you can spit up.
Not accepting American Express cards so we had big problem with holiday payment.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blizgutis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Club Boa Vista, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Although we deeply lament reading that your stay at our IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista hotel did not live up to your expectations, we are grateful for the time you took out of your day to share a review on your stay among us.

We were surprised to read that you found a shortage of vegetarian options at our buffet restaurant as we always ensure a wide variety of vegetables both cooked and raw as well as a selection of salads and cheeses, nevertheless we will pass on your comment to our Head Chef for information; on the other hand we thank you for pointing out the quality of the dishes on offer.

Moreover, we checked our drink machines which are thoroughly cleaned on a daily basis and we didn’t receive any complaint regarding bad smell, we encourage you for future occasions to point out any imperfection for us to eventually intervene immediately.

The presence of stray cats and birds is unfortunately unavoidable in Cape Verde, although we would like to take the opportunity to point out that we regularly take stray cats to a proper recovery center for them to be taken care of and a member of our maintenance staff checks once a week the presence of new birds’ nests on the roof of our restaurant where they usually settle.

At IBEROSTAR we believe that nice leisure activities and entertaining evening shows are part of the real holiday feeling this is why our animation team strives to offer a wide range of activities for our guests to join in, this is why we lament that you found a lack of activities throughout our hotel.

Last but not least, we encourage you for future occasions to check with the hotel that you are going to visit the credit cards accepted for the holiday payment.

Hopefully we can fulfill your expectations in the near future, and remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations. It is our goal to make our guests enjoy of a splendid holiday, therefore we are always willing to guide you in our call center or through our webpage to make sure that you book an IBEROSTAR hotel that can make all your wishes come true.

Sincere Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The island of Boa Vista is desert like and the town of Sal Rei is pretty much dead. The hotel is not 5 * [maybe by Cap Verde standards] but nevertheless generally is not bad. Rooms are set in village like surroundings and ours [1502] was located with seaview and a small garden overlooking the amazing beach and dunes. The beach was too windy to stay on so we retreated to the pool area and the serried ranks of sun loungers and lobster coloured bodies. Pool bar was adequate as was the 24hr lobby bar. The Belverdere [canteen?] was actually surprisingly good with a wide choice of food ranging from salads, fruit, desserts, ice cream, various hot food and grills. Coffee and wine were not great but drinkable.
Take plenty of reading with you as there are not too many English books available and there is really not much to do around the hotel. There is poolside kids entertainment, theatre, gym, and a few shops which sell suncreams, shampoos, various sweets/ etc and of course the necessary touristy stuff. 1 week here was enough without going out on 4x4 activities etc but if you've got walking or back problems this may not be the ideal location.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pentti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Club Boa Vista, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the time and effort you spent to share your feedback on your recent holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Boa Vista hotel because this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of IBEROSTAR.


We also would like to thank you for your praising comments on our buffets because at IBEROSTAR we know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience, this is why our professional Chefs strive on a daily basis to prepare a wide variety of typical local dishes as well as the best international delights in order to please all palates, it is very enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Moreover, we believe that nice leisure activities and entertaining evening shows are part of the real holiday feeling this is why our animation team strives to offer a wide range of activities for our guests to join in, we lament reading that apparently the offer didn’t suit your needs and wishes and we commit to revise our program.


Thank you once more for your visit and the courtesy of your time; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and remain at your entire disposal through our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR destination within more than 100 hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Hotel more like 3*; very very windy at this time of the year so rubbish strewn about & not collected; cigarette butts all over; pools too cold to enter without wet suits (!); SOME lazy bar attendants (lobby not pool); 'gourmet restaurant' only serves TWO choices of menu 3 nights a week & were not accommodating for non-fish guest (me); shower mat not replaced twice in room; electricity loss in room 4 or 5 times when using my own hairdryer; NOT as pretty as photos make out! Disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite dark but don't know if 'Sea View' is worth it as most look out over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Club Boa Vista, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Helen,

Although we sincerely regret reading that your stay at our IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista hotel was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we would like to thank you for sharing your observations with us because this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of IBEROSTAR.

As you well say in this period of the year the weather is quite windy however our housekeeping staff undertakes a thorough cleaning of the beach on a daily basis, ashtrays are provided to guests so as to avoid cigarette butts left in the sand and bins are located in different areas of the beach fronting the hotel.

All our rooms are provided with hair dryers, after receiving your complaint about the electricity loss, one of our technician came to check what caused the black outs and explained that your hair dryer was unfortunately not working properly causing electricity loss in your room; our installations operate normally.

It is true that our gourmet restaurant offers a choice of two menus, one fish based and the other meat based so as to please all tastes, however we would like to point out that our buffet restaurant offers a wide array of both local and international delights thoroughly prepared by our expert team of Chefs in order to please all palates and cater for all diet requirements.


Hopefully we can fulfill your expectations in the near future, and remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations. It is our goal to make our guests enjoy of a splendid holiday, therefore we are always willing to guide you in our call center or through our webpage to make sure that you book an IBEROSTAR hotel that can make all your wishes come true.


Once again, thank you for your visit and the courtesy of your time; we look forward to another opportunity to offer you a very enjoyable holiday experience with IBEROSTAR if you gave us that chance.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Bear with me. This will be ongoing. Currently on hol here and have already encountered seval probs. To be fair, girlfriend with whom I'm travelling and who has a separate room, has no such difficulties. I have made five separate trips to Reception: four concurrent visits to complain about the mini-bar (not cold) and the shower (not hot). After three visits by a 'technician' the refrigerator was replaced: it took a further visit (different 'technician') to sort out the shower. So that's already three days with cold water where it shouldn't be and heat where it shouldn't be. Today my room wasn't cleaned. Called to speak to the Manager but was asked to go to Reception: visit no. 5. When there, said no need now to clean the room but, on return, there was the chambermaid. Does anyone here actually listen? Am anticipating no more problems but it would be really nice if, if someone from Iberostar is reading this (room 1809) they might take it into their heads to do a little damage limitation. I really don't usually make a fuss (English!) but this is the outside of enough. On the plus side: all the bar/social/waiting/restaurant staff are very, very smiley and happy. Given what has already transpired, I vey much doubt anyone from Iberostar will be in touch: they already have my money. I know this sounds v sour but I think anyone of you coming here should know that this is NOT a western idea of a five-star hotel. Hope I won't have to write more bad reviews.

Room Tip: If I could, I would.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Club Boa Vista, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Karen,

First and foremost please receive our sincerest apologies for the less than perfect experience at our IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista hotel; we are grateful for the time you spent to share your feedback on your ongoing stay at our hotel and please be assured that we took onboard your comments in order to improve our services.

We sincerely regret reading that you found imperfections in your room and thank you for contacting our reception to point out your dissatisfaction for us to be able to intervene immediately thanks to our maintenance team onsite.

Moreover, our housekeeping department undertakes the cleaning of the rooms on a daily basis until 16.00, this is why your room was not cleaned yet when you reported to reception and by the time you asked the room not to be made, our maid was already cleaning your room, this is why we had not time to inform her; on the other hand we would like to point out that after your complaint the schedule has been changed so that your room is made between 10.00 and 12.00 and since then our management met you to discuss the issues you have raised to find an appropriate solution.

On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out that your girlfriend's accommodation was spotless and in perfect conditions, denoting that this was a highly exceptional situation.

Furthermore, we thank you for pointing out the great attitude of our staff and their genuine kindness and helpfulness.

Once more, thank you for the courtesy of your time; feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know which particular departments still need improving to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our future guests. We will certainly take your comments into our consideration and are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boa Vista hotels
5.1 mi away
Marine Club Beach Resort
4.2 mi away
Hotel Estoril
Hotel Estoril
#5 of 5 in Sal Rei
93 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
#2 of 11 in Boa Vista
7,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Horizon Boa Vista
Royal Horizon Boa Vista
#4 of 11 in Boa Vista
1,963 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Touareg
Hotel Riu Touareg
#1 of 1 in Santa Monica
8,291 reviews
4.2 mi away
Residencial A Paz B&B
Residencial A Paz B&B
#7 of 14 in Boa Vista
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Club Boa Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Club Boa Vista

Address: | Playa Areja de Chaves, Boa Vista 4110, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boa Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Boa Vista
#1 Spa Hotel in Boa Vista
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range: $180 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Club Boa Vista 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista hotel combines all of the exoticism of Cape Verde and Africa with the services of a 5-star resort. Located on the seafront in Chaves, this is a hotel designed for couples and families with children. From the rooms and suites at the Club Boa Vista hotel you will enjoy a truly magical setting with the scent of the Atlantic Ocean. This hotel offers a wide range of facilities and services that will add lots of fun to your stay. These include free Wi-Fi, a children's pool, a marvellous beach with sun loungers, SPA Sensations, all inclusive, Miniclub (ages 4 to 7), Maxiclub (ages 8 to 12), two outdoor saltwater pools, covered pool, Jacuzzi, fitness room, Convention Centre, fitness centre, water sports, two restaurants and no less than six bars, including a nightclub. If you want to experience the exoticism of Cape Verde, the Club Boa Vista hotel is the place to do it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Club Boa Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Club Boa Vista Hotel Boa Vista
Iberostar Club Boa Vista Cape Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing