We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not a 5-star resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Boa Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Sintra, Portugal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“not a 5-star resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

For a 5-star hotel there are things to be improved - my daughter's bed had torn sheets for 2 nights, bath towels had been torn, sewed up and torn again, beach towels weren't always available, if you want new shampoo bottles when the first one run off, you have to go get it youself, ...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank HelenaE_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    781
    198
    51
    26
See reviews for
553
904
54
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Well what can I say.we travelled here for our honeymoon on Friday the 13th of April for our honey moon...we absolutely loved it;)on arrival we were greeted by animation team with a cool drink and check in was quick..there was a lovely note congratulating us on our marriage and a bottle of champagne;)we hit the sunbeds straight away....
Food in the the main restaurant was excellent and varied which was good..the food in the bar/pool area was not as good as looked like some food had been left for a while...me and my husband very much enjoyed our cocktails....the pool was lovely if not a little cold lol....and the beach was beautiful....I would say plenty to do in the way of trips and the only slight criticism from my husband who used the gym alot said it was very basic for a 4/5 star hotel and defo needs improvement....
Can't fault customer service,nothing was too much effort and the animation team were brill and if you were not interested in joining in they left you alone....absolutely loved my stay here and hope to come back again for our 5year anniversary...thankyou iberostar;)xxxxx

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

stayed at the Iberostar boa vista in Cape Verde December 2011, we could only go for one week but what a week we had!! the weather was fantastic, although a little windy on the beach but the wind just added to the crashing waves of the sea. Didn't do anything other than eat, drink and sunbathe but that is exactly what we went for. The hotel food and service was brilliant, there wasn't anything we did not like, doesn't matter if you are a vegetarian or not there was plenty to choose from. Would recommend for a nice relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LSAManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

i just return fom Cabo Verde Boavista, and i´m glad to say that the hotel has became much better than my first time in 2010.
My revue at 2010 (not published) was:
"I have a mixed feeling with this review.
Everything went well, good weather, cleanliness, average food (fresh, plenty, well cooked ), a nice room with a lovely sea view, the hotel is beautiful ,nice people, spectacular beach and pool.......... but it seemed to me that were so much to do.... the potential wasn't reached. Do I have hi expectation? I don’t know, but it was what I felt.
The only NO in the hotel concept was their offer of food and drinks were centred in pool area (main buffet and pool bar/restaurant) obliges a pool chair (and there weren't many, or as many they need). The BEACH bar was very poor in services.(only drinks and some sandwiches (not refilled).
to happy final
The Star Friends do their best to animate everyone and The Paparazzi make us laugh EVERY DAY"

And NOW at 2012 I must say that was a major improvement at all services notedly at the Beach bar, where they promoted several beach parties (one at night(dance in the sand), and the rest during the day serving barbecues of pork and chicken, and cocktail at the sun set

The service is not yet a 5star, but the variety of food, ( seafood, fresh fish and meat) every day has became much better with a hi upgrade in fresh vegetables and fruit, their offer of imported and local wines was fine, the reception at dinner with welcome drink every night at buffet, are demonstrative of their efforts to upgrade to 5 star hotel , and i enjoyed .

The service PREMIUM, isn't a good option (we can get it all with less money, buying separatly, the services includes), and I must say that to their staff this service is unknown.

And the rest is still the same :)) beautiful gardens, great pool and exceptional beach
I must warn that the walk away to the beach shore and vice -versa is a tough one to do,..

Lastly, for the Star Friends a great hallo for their efforts and energy to animate all of us
I hope it helps :)

Room Tip: ROOMS AT CENTER COMERCIAL even whithout a sea vew are very well located,close enough everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lisbon_PortugalPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just arrived from Cape Verde , we had an amazing Honeymoon , we went with our 16 months baby boy , and all i can say, is that , we will for sure return ... Iberostar Club Boa Vista is a very nice resort , very clean , the food was good , and the entertainment was Amazing , very nice place to relax , drink , eat and have fun ... i think families with childrens will love this place , they have a Mini club .. my baby, love it !!!

Room Tip: Sea view !!! we had it , and love it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PortugalElsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Went to Cape Verde for my birthday the hotel is very clean the entertainment staff are very friendly. The food was very good -especially the fresh food which is cooked while you wait.
If you are a sun worshiper you will love this place an ideal place to relax but if you want to fill your time with excursions and sitting in the shade reading a book this isnt the place for you. In the shade it is cold but in the sun you burn very quickly because of the wind, and the evenings are really cold. Be advised to take more than a cardi..
The pathway to the beach is very steep so anybody with mobility problems will stuggle to get there and back. The wind is so strong on the beach you will be sand blasted unless you manage to get one of the beach huts (if you are up early enough)..
The quad bikes are great but be careful you will be on your own and the nearest hospital is miles away make sure you dont travel alone..There were 2 incidents when 2 people ended up in hospital but there wasnt a qualified Doctor to attend to them..Travel Insurance is a must...
Saying all that we still enjoyed our holiday-perhaps in 5 years time there will be more to do apart from drinking and eating.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear guest,

In first place, Thank you for choose Iberostar Club Boa Vista for so a important moment like holidays. We are delighted to hear that you felt welcome.

Thank very much for your positive comments regarding our cuisine and the amiability of our staff both elements are of prime importance to Iberostar. For us is very important that our guest feel welcome.

It will certainly help us to keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards. Your feedback motivates us to continue working with illusion and enthusiasm improving better services and facilities. We will continue working to improve your next experience with us.

Thank you for sharing your experiences. We are sure that future travelers will find your tips helpful

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Just arrived home from a great trip. spent a week at the iberostar in boa vista (13/04/112) and loved every second of it. The rooms and settings were great. The entertainment team were all really friendly and the food was of a decent standard. I eat fish every day and they also had a selection of seafood on offer. I think it may get a bit repetitive after 2 weeks but I've found that in any all inclusive destination I've been to, maybe that's just me.

The beach was gorgeous, you could actually use it as a set for planet of the apes or anything filmed on another planet, there are lots of dunes, and it just looks like you are in a desert and you are seeing a mirage of water. The sea was a bit rough and it was quite windy down on the beach so for sunbathing I would stick to the pool, but you definitely have to walk up the beach and explore the area.

The only downside to the whole trip were the security issues, me and my friend wanted to walk up to the town sal rai, we got up the beach, which is really quiet and desolate and there were 2 locals in the bushed hiding which looked a bit odd so we turned round. The next day 2 girls had been mugged and 2 people on 2 separate occasions were stabbed, walking up that way, so I still feel there are a few security issues that need to be addressed. We walked 1 and a half hours into the beach and we didn't see 1 police or steward. So if you do go to the town, I would go with an organised group and travel rep.

If you want a nice relaxing break though and something a bit different then I would definitely reccomend it, I cant fault the location, hotel, scenery, weather 1 bit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mcfcmikey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear guest,

It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole Iberostar area and we are glad to hear that we succeeded. We also would like to thank you for pointing out our staff. We are delighted to hear that you felt welcome.

Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest. We will certainly take into our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

We certainly will keep on working to maintain our high quality service and keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

We are grateful that you value us so highly. Thank you very much for your motivating comment.

Kindest regards,


Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boa Vista
5.1 mi away
Marine Club Beach Resort
4.0 mi away
Aparthotel Por do Sol
Aparthotel Por do Sol
#4 of 5 in Sal Rei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Estoril
Hotel Estoril
#5 of 5 in Sal Rei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Residencial Ponta do Sol
Residencial Ponta do Sol
#2 of 2 in Ribeira Grande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
#2 of 11 in Boa Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,740 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Touareg
Hotel Riu Touareg
#1 of 1 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista

Property: IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
Address: Playa Areja de Chaves, Boa Vista 4110, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Location: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Boa Vista
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boa Vista
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
#1 Spa Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista hotel is an All Inclusive 5-star resort in Cape Verde located along the beautiful beach of Chaves. Set against a backdrop of unparalleled beauty, this hotel for couples and families will surprise the guest with a range of leisure activities for all ages and gastronomy to please the most educated palates. Holidays in Cape Verde at the IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista hotel allow you to discover a place as exotic as it is surprising. Chaves beach, a unique enclave.The top IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista hotel is located right on the beautiful Chaves beach in a landscape of spectacular charm. It’s the perfect choice for visitors to enjoy a relaxing holiday in Cape Verde surrounded by spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. Wide range of all-inclusive gastronomy. Restaurants and bars in the IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista hotel will overwhelm the guest with a delicious range of local and international dishes and an extensive menu of drinks and delicious cocktails. The sounds of Cape Verde, live for you. Three evenings a week, the IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista puts on a unique live music show. Get seduced by the most genuine sounds of Cape Verde, right from the keyboard of our pianist, in our poolside bar. Family vacations in Cape Verde. The IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista hotel is a family resort whose range of entertainment and facilities are specially geared for children, with a children’s swimming pool, mini-disco, Mini-Club, etc. The hotel also has a kitesurfing school (charge applies). Fun at this 5-star Cape Verde hotel is always assured. Premium Wi-Fi. The hotel offers exclusive free premium Wi-Fi in all its facilities. A fine connection – 3.5Mb in up to six devices – to use during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Club Boa Vista Hotel Boa Vista
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista Cape Verde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing