We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$240
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$240
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/06/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity$240
CheapTickets$240
Destinia.com$268
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,331)
Filter reviews
1,331 results
Traveler rating
1,035
213
49
16
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,035
213
49
16
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up room krystal restaurant plunge pool piano bar amazing shower cape verde huge shower rain shower sal rei every other day no stress sea view stocked fridge plenty of sunbeds branded drinks evening entertainment fantastic hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,331 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2020

Lovely hotel staff very friendly and helpful food excellent. Only drawback there really is nothing to do outside the hotel. If all your looking for is a totally relaxing holiday this is the place for you.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
5  Thank PDMK2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Boavista, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you so much your great feedback on your stay with us at Hotel Riu Palace Boavista.

We appreciate your lovely praise of your whole experience, of enjoying our amenities and culinary delights – but moreover, we are so thankful for your kind words on our personal service.

We cannot wait to welcome you back!

All the best wishes from the entire team,

Hotel Riu Palace Boavista
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2020 via mobile

This is a late review of this hotel which me and my girlfriend stayed at in October for a week.

This hotel has one of the best reception entrances, we had a choice of welcome drink, fresh orange or prosecco, we took one of each I had orange and the girlfriend had prosecco.

Check in was rather fast and the receptionist was fantastic and his instructions were perfect for us to find our room we paid for the private pool room.

Our room was fantastic the mini bar was great, every couple of days the mini bar man comes round to fill them up we were In the room everytime he came round, he'd be so happy and would make sure he did his best that you got everything you asked for.

The maid were also fantastic they cleaned the room brilliantly every day I couldn't fault them one bit.

Entertainment was good we didnt really watch as we went in the sports bar and entertained our selves.

We also used the spa and got the cape verde massage, which I recomend you do so long as you can bare someone touching your feet (I cant but it was worth it).

On check out day you can have the bell boys pick your cases up from your room for you (you have to request this), we didnt do this as our room was only a short walk to reception and didnt see the point, plus all member of staff work fantastic and are really friendly.

Would definitely come again

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
7  Thank MattW428
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Boavista, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2020

Dear Matt,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and could take many nice impressions with you.

As we try to meet the individual wishes of our guests every day to offer them a wonderful holiday, we are of course delighted by your kind words.

Our enthusiastic team cannot wait to share another wonderful experience with you. Meanwhile we gladly announce that since the 25th of May our hotels Riu Plaza Berlin & Riu Plaza Guadalajara are ready to receive guests.

In the hope that we may welcome you soon again we remain with kind regards,

Stay safe!

Hotel Riu Palace Boavista
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2020

We hadn't stayed at a RUI hotel before but would definitely again. It was a relatively new hotel but the place was so clean and tidy and organised. The booking requirements for the restaurants was a little tricky as you could only book so many at once and they weren't open every night so when it came to a 7 day holiday you were limited. We did request a quiet room which we got put above the entertainment area??! But when we asked to move, we did, albeit got lost on our way as reception staffs directions were not the best!

We looked to upgrade to a swim up bungalow villa but these were very expensive. The room we had was lovely, clean, tidy and had alcohol in the room. The view was nice. The beach was lovely and although we didn't go in the sea, looked pretty. We opted to stay on the beach most of the holiday, it was windy at times but its CV! It was enjoyable and we would definitely go back.

The hotel was nicely laid out, lovely decor even to the bathrooms. The restaurants had more than enough food and I have never had donuts like that for breakfast - EVER! All the restaurants served fantastic meals, nuts with your evening drinks at the bar and the coffee shop was adorable.

Boavista airport was small and a strange airport, like in an outside hut! But seeing the goats wander by when waiting for the bus was sweet.

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank 72,332
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Boavista, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2020

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your recent visit.

It is fantastic to know that you had a great time with us and that you have enjoyed our friendly service and our rich gastronomy so much. We love to make our guests feel like at home!

Thank you again and we hope to see you in the near future when these difficult times are over.
The joy of traveling only takes a break.

Stay healthy until then!

With kind regards,

Hotel Riu Palace Boavista
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2020 via mobile

We stayed at Riu Palace in March, and booked a swim up room, only one downfall didn’t get much sun on our side of the block 46 room no 4604,the room was kept spotlessly clean and all staff are a credit to the hotel.The Africa buffet restaurant was brilliant, plenty to eat and plenty of choice for everyone.We also did the Japanese one which was lovely.No need to reserve any sun beds plenty on beach and around the pools, weather was good windy some days but we found that to be good.Evening entertainment was enjoyable they work really hard even though the songs are mimed, they always come round after the show and have a chat to you which was really nice.There are too many staff to name and thank that really made our holiday,all doing a great job.We did 3 excursions with TUI and found them to be quite expensive for what they was, went on the whale watching and the boat was absolutely crammed pack full of people, we was last to get on the catamaran and unless you get on first you can’t see much.We did book a taxi to and from airport which was brilliant only a short journey but you miss the queue.Thanks Riu Palace for a great and restful holiday, hope to be back next year.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
7  Thank biggriff03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Boavista, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2020

Dear biggriff03,

Thank you very much for giving us a full rating and for sharing this detailed and positive review after your recent stay at our hotel!

It is very delightful to read you enjoyed so many aspects of your holiday! Thank you for all your kind words in reference to our room facilities, our wide gastronomic offer and the excellent service of our helpful and attentive staff; our whole team will be so much happy when they know about your compliments!

We hope this lovely memory stays fresh with you until we see you again on our little piece of paradise once this difficult times are over; stay safe meanwhile!

With the best of our wishes,

Hotel Riu Palace Boavista
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2020 via mobile

We went to this hotel as a family of three, with our daughter being 2 years old. We are regular visitors to Cape Verde, but we normally go to the island of Sal and this was our first trip to the island of Boa Vista.

We fell in love with the place. It is out of this world amazing. The people are so friendly and couldn’t do enough for you. This includes every single staff member we came across from the bar staff, Reception staff, security, etc. They made such a fuss of our daughter every time they saw her. Waving, playing, asking for high fives. She had the best time. The entertainment team were also great (August in particular) and our little one was a regular at the kids mini disco and she still talks about her ‘dancing turtle’ Riu’s mascot) now. She wouldn’t leave the poor turtle alone and the staff would often carry her around with them and dance with her every night. (Huge thanks to the staff for this, it made her holiday and ours seeing her little face) They would even make special trips to her during the day, letting her play in the ‘crazy game’ (even though she was too young really) and other pool side activities. The staffs energy and dancing is infectious and thanks to every member of staff, we had an amazing time. Best holiday to date.

The rooms were spotless, everywhere in the hotel was spotless, the food was always to a high standard with a huge variety. The bars were great never had to queue and there were loads and loads of sun beds left whatever time you got to the pool/beach and you could choose between the sun and the shade. No need to get up early for a sunbed. A truly relaxing holiday. The beach and the view from the pool on to the beach is one of the most beautiful beaches and views I’ve ever seen.

We loved it so much we rebooked again for this summer. We love Cape Verde and find the people their to be so happy and friendly it really is a ‘no stress’ holiday and I couldn’t recommend this hotel enough, especially for young families. Thank you Cape Verde and Riu - you never disappoint.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
5  Thank Ljones11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Palace Boavista, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2020

Dear Ljones11,

We greatly appreciate your five-star review!

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the service provided by our friendly staff, the food selection and the entertainment programme.

We cannot wait to reopen our doors and make you feel at home once again!

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Palace Boavista
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews