We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8,605)
Filter reviews
8,605 results
Traveler rating
4,125
3,020
1,037
263
160
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,125
3,020
1,037
263
160
Show reviews that mention
All reviews riu karamboa cape verde sal rei main restaurant plenty of sunbeds pool bar self service relaxing holiday asian restaurant plenty of choice minutes from the airport be careful evening entertainment sand dunes two weeks thomson reps entertainment team
Filter
Updating list...
3,555 - 3,560 of 8,605 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Lovely Hotel.rooms are comfortable but some are quite a way from the dining areas and pools etc. no tea/coffee making facilities in rooms and can be cold by the time you carry a cuppa to your room. Pools are lovely and hotel is on seafront. Very relaxing,nothing to do except relax! Not a place for anyone looking for nightlife! Sea is quite rough,big waves not safe for children. Adults have to follow the flag code.food was good and plenty of choices.majority of staff were extremely helpful,happy and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne5_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This hotel realy is as beautiful as it looks in the pics!!!
It was my 1st time in a Riu hotel and it certainly lived up to my high expectations.
The rooms are nothing special but every thing else was better than any where i have stayed.
Spotlessly clean public area's..ie huge pool area..reception..dining room..beech..all the toilets..amazing as it is a big place to keep clean.
Tha staff are lovely..friendly banter and never had to wait to be served..lots of them and they are all obviously well trained and appeared to enjoy there work which was great to see.
Food was fantastic..there was some thing for every one..well cooked and served with a smile which makes all the difference.
There is very little to do out side the hotel but if you want to be busy there is some thing going on all the time..an extensive activity programme which is free to join in for A/I.
Be careful in the sea..its not for kids or poor swimmers but if you get a yellow or rare green flag day then get in and have fun..its amazing!
The sun is HOT..doesnt feel it with the constant breeze on the beech but don't be fooled..you will burn if using too low SPF..i used SPF 20 the whole week and still was abit sore one day.
Overall a fantastic holiday and i can't wait to go back..:o)
Oh n the transfer is an amazing 4 minutes...but you don't actualy hear the planes!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank snugz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This on a tiny island 400 miles west of Senegal in the Atlantic Ocean.The hotel is almost walking distance from the the very small airport, and glimmers white like a palace in the middle of a desert
.Our room was not far from the main hotel but we were never bothered by any noise.Except for people returning late and not respecting those who had already retired for the night.Why can't other hotel guests remove their noisey shoes and not shout so loud.However,the hotel is very clean and the gardens are lovely to walk through on the way to the pool and the beach.It was also great to see they stuck to No Towels On Beds Before 9.00am unless you were actually sitting on them.The pool attendants actually went round and removed towels and bags from beds that were being saved before 9.00am.The beach is really wide and long and you can walk into the main town Rabil if you want to in one direction and almost forever the other way.Plenty of beds at the pool and the beach.Food was varied and plentiful on help yourself basis.Eggs and pancakes cooked fresh in front of you at the servery of a morning.Real cool air conditioned restaurant with waiter service for tea and coffee in the morning and drinks of an evening.Steaks and omelettes and pasta cooked to order.Plenty of sea food every night which was great for me.
There is not much to do on the island other than quad bikes and beach buggies in organised groups.We went on Jeep tours as there are no proper roads-only cobble like roads or dirt tracks.There is one tarmac road for about 9 miles that starts about 5 miles from the airport heading towards south of the island. We wanted to visit the turtle hatchery which is done of a night time-don't pick a full moon like we unfortunately did because the turtles won't come out of the sea. It is a long ride to the other side of the island by jeep and there are lots of mozzies so beware. It is a protected area where they breed so you cannot use anti mozzie sprays there.
There was plenty of daytime activities,exercises in the beach and aqua exercise every morning.There were tennis courts,volley ball and stepercise and shooting. along with wind surfing,canoes and scuba diving. Plenty for those who didnt want to lay around all day.
The evening entertainment was varied by the animation team who seemed to be on the go from crack of dawn until past midnight. There was also early evening entertainment for the children.
We were very pleased with our holiday and would return there but want to go to one of the other islands in the group where the turtles aren't so far away.

Room Tip: There aren't any lifts, so if you are disabled or have difficulties with stairs you must request a room on the ground floor.There are ramps into the main part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Naqqarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Just got back from Cape Verde for the second time tried the sister hotel this year and took the in laws with us wether was fab as usual loved the beach got bowled over with the waves again but gat a swim this time when we arrived we had to have the smell of the drains as we sat having a drink on the terse while waiting for our room need to move the drains from out side the front terrace.
Plenty of sun beds to Chose from the in laws loved the wether but wish we had gone to the touareg this was brilliant last year but you need to go to them both to make your mind up your self will go again yes there is always some thing you can find to complain about but just enjoy your rest that s what we went for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The hotel was beautiful. Very clean and tidy. The food was tedious by the end of the holiday because it did seem to be the same thing most nights if you didn't book into the themed restaurants. There was a good choice of drinks but the menu didn't give a lot of examples. The customer service of the whole hotel staff were excellent, there we no ignorance and everyone was very approachable and lovely, always an hello. The only thing I would say that would need to be improved is the tea facilities in the rooms as there was nothing apart from your bottles of water in the fridge which you could only have a tea or coffee if you were eating or at the bar. Also there wasn't enough toilet facilities around the resort. There were only two you could use apart from your room. If you were to be in the karaoke bar you would have to walk through the main stage area and up stairs just to get the toilet, which was tedious. Overall the hotel was extremely beautiful and always nice views.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a view and it was in the middle of the pool and main eating area.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dannielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews