We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel on a very basic Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Boa Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Just got back from Cape Verde, and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. For the price we payed for an all inclusive weeks holiday 6 hours flight from the UK it was just the break we needed. Great hotel, staff all friendly ( a couple of female bar staff at the pool bar needed to be a little happier) you can't have everything! pool & beach great, gym & spa pretty good as we went in every day unless you want to end up looking like some of the guests:) considering the hotel is catering for so many guests and importing all their food via ship!!! they did a fantastic job with the variety and quality.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,998 - 3,004 of 7,795 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

Lovely Hotel.rooms are comfortable but some are quite a way from the dining areas and pools etc. no tea/coffee making facilities in rooms and can be cold by the time you carry a cuppa to your room. Pools are lovely and hotel is on seafront. Very relaxing,nothing to do except relax! Not a place for anyone looking for nightlife! Sea is quite rough,big waves not safe for children. Adults have to follow the flag code.food was good and plenty of choices.majority of staff were extremely helpful,happy and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne5_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This hotel realy is as beautiful as it looks in the pics!!!
It was my 1st time in a Riu hotel and it certainly lived up to my high expectations.
The rooms are nothing special but every thing else was better than any where i have stayed.
Spotlessly clean public area's..ie huge pool area..reception..dining room..beech..all the toilets..amazing as it is a big place to keep clean.
Tha staff are lovely..friendly banter and never had to wait to be served..lots of them and they are all obviously well trained and appeared to enjoy there work which was great to see.
Food was fantastic..there was some thing for every one..well cooked and served with a smile which makes all the difference.
There is very little to do out side the hotel but if you want to be busy there is some thing going on all the time..an extensive activity programme which is free to join in for A/I.
Be careful in the sea..its not for kids or poor swimmers but if you get a yellow or rare green flag day then get in and have fun..its amazing!
The sun is HOT..doesnt feel it with the constant breeze on the beech but don't be fooled..you will burn if using too low SPF..i used SPF 20 the whole week and still was abit sore one day.
Overall a fantastic holiday and i can't wait to go back..:o)
Oh n the transfer is an amazing 4 minutes...but you don't actualy hear the planes!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank snugz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This on a tiny island 400 miles west of Senegal in the Atlantic Ocean.The hotel is almost walking distance from the the very small airport, and glimmers white like a palace in the middle of a desert
.Our room was not far from the main hotel but we were never bothered by any noise.Except for people returning late and not respecting those who had already retired for the night.Why can't other hotel guests remove their noisey shoes and not shout so loud.However,the hotel is very clean and the gardens are lovely to walk through on the way to the pool and the beach.It was also great to see they stuck to No Towels On Beds Before 9.00am unless you were actually sitting on them.The pool attendants actually went round and removed towels and bags from beds that were being saved before 9.00am.The beach is really wide and long and you can walk into the main town Rabil if you want to in one direction and almost forever the other way.Plenty of beds at the pool and the beach.Food was varied and plentiful on help yourself basis.Eggs and pancakes cooked fresh in front of you at the servery of a morning.Real cool air conditioned restaurant with waiter service for tea and coffee in the morning and drinks of an evening.Steaks and omelettes and pasta cooked to order.Plenty of sea food every night which was great for me.
There is not much to do on the island other than quad bikes and beach buggies in organised groups.We went on Jeep tours as there are no proper roads-only cobble like roads or dirt tracks.There is one tarmac road for about 9 miles that starts about 5 miles from the airport heading towards south of the island. We wanted to visit the turtle hatchery which is done of a night time-don't pick a full moon like we unfortunately did because the turtles won't come out of the sea. It is a long ride to the other side of the island by jeep and there are lots of mozzies so beware. It is a protected area where they breed so you cannot use anti mozzie sprays there.
There was plenty of daytime activities,exercises in the beach and aqua exercise every morning.There were tennis courts,volley ball and stepercise and shooting. along with wind surfing,canoes and scuba diving. Plenty for those who didnt want to lay around all day.
The evening entertainment was varied by the animation team who seemed to be on the go from crack of dawn until past midnight. There was also early evening entertainment for the children.
We were very pleased with our holiday and would return there but want to go to one of the other islands in the group where the turtles aren't so far away.

Room Tip: There aren't any lifts, so if you are disabled or have difficulties with stairs you must request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Naqqarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Just got back from Cape Verde for the second time tried the sister hotel this year and took the in laws with us wether was fab as usual loved the beach got bowled over with the waves again but gat a swim this time when we arrived we had to have the smell of the drains as we sat having a drink on the terse while waiting for our room need to move the drains from out side the front terrace.
Plenty of sun beds to Chose from the in laws loved the wether but wish we had gone to the touareg this was brilliant last year but you need to go to them both to make your mind up your self will go again yes there is always some thing you can find to complain about but just enjoy your rest that s what we went for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The hotel was beautiful. Very clean and tidy. The food was tedious by the end of the holiday because it did seem to be the same thing most nights if you didn't book into the themed restaurants. There was a good choice of drinks but the menu didn't give a lot of examples. The customer service of the whole hotel staff were excellent, there we no ignorance and everyone was very approachable and lovely, always an hello. The only thing I would say that would need to be improved is the tea facilities in the rooms as there was nothing apart from your bottles of water in the fridge which you could only have a tea or coffee if you were eating or at the bar. Also there wasn't enough toilet facilities around the resort. There were only two you could use apart from your room. If you were to be in the karaoke bar you would have to walk through the main stage area and up stairs just to get the toilet, which was tedious. Overall the hotel was extremely beautiful and always nice views.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a view and it was in the middle of the pool and main eating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dannielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I stayed here September 12th for 1week !! Thank god I only booked a week !
First of all the flight was awful , no inflight entertainment and we were packed in like sardines !
We arrived at our hotel and it had been raining the previous day, the check in was very slow and everyone seemed confused to what they were doing ! we ended up transporting our own cases to our room as we got fed up with waiting, when we got to our room it smelt damp and musty. The wardrobe space is ridiculous it just has a beaded curtain for the door and your clothes start to smell musty like the room, our shower was also rusty. Every night we had a power cut for at least 30 minutes , when I ran the tap after the power cut we would always get black water ! Yes ! black water coming out of the taps! I did complain to the rep but he didn't seem bothered. It was a very dirty place with dead bugs in corridor's, insects and flies all over the food it was disgusting!!!!! The swimming pool had missing tiles everywhere and people kept cutting their feet on the sharp stuff left behind. I WOULD NEVER EVER GO BACK EVEN IF SOMEONE PAID FOR ME!!!!! IT IS ONLY A 3 STAR HOTEL, I WAS TOLD BY THOMPSON THAT THE FIVE STAR IS THE HOTELS OWN RATING OF ITS SELF! I CANNOT STRESS ENOUGH HOW BAD THIS PLACE IS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scattienix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boa Vista
3.5 mi away
Marine Club Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Hotel Estoril
Hotel Estoril
#5 of 5 in Sal Rei
93 reviews
162.4 mi away
Residencial Ponta do Sol
Residencial Ponta do Sol
#1 of 2 in Ribeira Grande
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Pousada da Luz
Pousada da Luz
#18 of 20 in Santa Maria
52 reviews
1.8 mi away
Iberostar Club Boa Vista
Iberostar Club Boa Vista
#1 of 11 in Boa Vista
2,096 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Touareg
Hotel Riu Touareg
#1 of 1 in Santa Monica
8,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clubhotel Riu Karamboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clubhotel Riu Karamboa

Address: Lote HO 1, Urb. Morrinho de Baguincho | Praia de Boca Salina, Boa Vista 4110, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Location: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boa Vista
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boa Vista
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range: $168 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clubhotel Riu Karamboa 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The All Inclusive ClubHotel Riu Karamboa, is situated on the Boa Vista Island in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean, with direct access to the marvellous Praia das Dunas beach of fine sand which extends for kms. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Sal Rei (8km) and Aristides Pereira International Airport (BVC) is approx. 1.5 km away. The hotel has 750 comfortably furnished rooms and offers many amenities. Relax with a massage at the Renova Spa or get in shape at our gym. 1 outdoor pools, 1 children’s and baby pool. For the youngest guests, there is the RiuLand Kids Club (for children from 4 to 7 years & 8 to 12 years old), RiuArt atelier and for adults, day and evening entertainment, discotheque. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main buffet as well as Cape Verdean, Asian, African cuisine, 5 bars situated in various areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clubhotel Riu Karamboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa Hotel Boa Vista
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa Boa Vista
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa Cape Verde/Boa Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing