We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Boa Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel is absolutely stunning. My mother and I stayed here for a weeks break. There's a couple of things you should be aware of though. Sandstorms are rare but are common(ish) between January and February. This means if your unlucky enough to be hit you could end up being delayed going back (like we were) or worse ending up somewhere else - like the people on the plane who were supposed to land on the island.

Is very wind down by the beach, so you need to tuck in your beach towel or take some clothes pegs as it'll keep them in place.

The pool area is lovely, and extremely clean. Annoyingly people do place beach towels out before 9 (which will be removed before 8 if unattended) so what ends up happening is people stay down until they've done the rounds. There are plenty of sun loungers though (although smokers think its acceptable to smoke right next to you by the pool!)

The swim up pool bar was a lovey treat with very quick service. As was the food both by the pool area (which then becomes a themed restaurant in the evening), the main dining hall and there's two other restaurants. The Chinese is by far the bet one - so make sure you get a reservation (before 9 at reception up to 3 days in advance). I didn't find food repetitive like I do in some all inclusive hotels but found it plentiful and very nice.

The one downside to the hotel is the evening entertainment is absolutely rubbish. Thankfully there was a karaoke bar downstairs which showed the British premier league on and there was lots of friendly people there so we made our own entertainment.

There isn't much to do activity wise, so if your looking for good excursions look elsewhere. Note that the thomson reps where awful - we booked to go on one of the excursions waited only for it to turn out to be a no show. One of the German Tui reps helped us in the end - disgraceful.

You can also walk to the town for souvenirs but whilst it was worthwhile both my mum and I found it rather intimidating.

Big shout out to the cleaners who did a fantastic job, and to the bar staff who were very quick and friendly. Wifi is blooming expensive thou - and you can't really use 3G so the wifi at 14 euros for 2 hours was cheaper!

Room Tip: Sea view on second floor is fab, there's no life so its a bit dauntingly avoid ground floor as t...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank likklegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,325)
There are newer reviews for Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,008 - 3,014 of 7,325 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Riu Karamboa is a resort that offers a first class service. The staff can't do enough for you, extremely polite & the entertainment team are simply the best! The beach is ace, the facilities, food, drink & hygiene is top notch. They have decent excursions & great Thomson reps including loads if fun for the kids. I recommend this culture of spain/portugese/brazil ambience to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Have just returned from Rui Karamboa stayed for two weeks and could not fault the service from the staff. All the staff work really hard are polite and we felt very welcome. porter service takes cases to your room ours took no more than twenty mins to arrive. Rooms are large with air con though you will not need it at night as temperature really drops. Room was cleaned daily and our sheets were changed every couple of days which is the best rate we have had anywhere. One small maintenance issue with our ceiling fan which was addressed within a couple of hours we also received a follow up call from reception to ensure we were happy with the repair.
Food is of a high standard and plenty of choice. Have read some neg reviews about repetitiveness but find that if you are going to load your plate with everything in the place in one sitting everyday then soon you will find it boring. eat like you do at home and you will not get bored.
Have read some reviews about drinks being watered down ignore them if the amount of people with hangovers are anything to go by drinks are full strength so pace yourself.
SUNBEDS you cannot leave towels or possessions on the sunbeds unattended before 9am if you do they will be removed to the towel hut by staff. It seems that no matter how many times this is pointed out some people still assume it does not include them. This makes it fair for everyone you have the same chance of a sunbed by the pool as everyone else.
Note about the pool there are missing tiles it is not a big problem and it is due for a refurb in the autumn. Pool side is slippery though from washed off suntan lotion so take care if path is wet.
Themed restaurant are all really good and the 8am booking time once again means everyone gets a fair chance to book.
If we have one negative it would be the very late start for the shows. The show it self does not start until at least 9,30 pm and there is nothing of substance to entertain anyone before the show starts. prepare to be bored senseless if you eat early and then wait for show to start.
Still I do really recommend the hotel to anyone just remember the resort it self is very quiet so do take a book.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

All in all a good holiday. We would return. Although big the layout works well. Rooms big enough with plenty of hanging space and hangers. The hotel provides a good system with the beach towels (which are of a very good size). They provide you with a card which you exchange for a towel. You get them from the pool area between 9am and 5pm. We found no problem in finding a bed either around the pool or on the beach. A lovely beach, most of our days were yellow/green flag days (no red), so everyone had a good time in the sea, kayaking, snorkelling, etc.

Superb animation team who work extremely hard throughout the day and night. Most of the evening shows are very good with just the odd poor one.

You obtain bottles of water from Reception. As regards sun lotion take double the amount you think you will need. It costs 28 euros in the hotel and there are no shops within walking distance. There is nowhere to go on an evening unless you take a taxi somewhere or go on an arranged trip, so be prepared to stay in the hotel and enjoy whatever you enjoy doing.

We booked our trips with Giggling Geckos (reserve before you go), they are
a small independent business run by an English couple. They are so nice and can accommodate all your needs. Check them out on the Internet. I would also recommend Scubacaribe (on the beach) for the quads or buggies. The evening entertainment programme works well and there is something for everyone. We went with our 19 and 17 year old and they had such a good time meeting a good mix of friends.

We were on the second floor (which I requested), but be aware there are a lot of steps. 36 in total for us (4 lots of 9). Don't worry about your suitcases as Reception deliver to your door. If you need a hand when departing just give them a ring to arrange collection.
A good holiday but not a 5 star.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
16  Thank TravellingTracey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Riu Karamboa with out two boys 13 and 8.The transfer time from the tiny airport is no more than 3 and a half minutes which was perfect .On arrival we were greeted by dancers and a very friendly staff who checked us in quickly and gave us 2 bottles of water .Our bags were taken to our rooms we had a ground floor rooms very clean lovely big bathroom and plenty of hot water .The rooms were cleaned and made up beautifully each day with fresh towels.Food is wonderful plenty of choice from pasta salads chips pizzaetc.If you go in August mealtimes are extremly busy but you soon get used to it .The beach is super we swam every day and had fun in the waves lovely blue clear water plenty of loungers on the beach and round the pool .TYes the pool does need a bit of attention but it wasnt dirty a few tiles missing here and there and the sunbeds were comfortable.There is also a snack bar by the pool serving hot and cold food from 10.30 in the morning until 5.30 in the afternoon buffet service handy if you fancy a cup of tea and a piece of cake.Entertainment was ok very busy a few good shows some a bit cheesy but overall a relaxing holiday the staff work very hard allday.Perfect if you just want to chill for 2 weeks which is what we did also take plenty of medicines as there not available in the shops and there are no chemists nearby.Dont be put off by negative reviews some people love to just moan .There are drinks machines situated around the hotel where you can help yourself to tea coffee coke etc great if you dont want to go to the bar each time.We had a ground floor room lovely and quiet and n oproblems with creepy crawlies only a few nips from mossies in the evenings.Have a good time and enjoy the rest thats what this hotel is all about and it really does look like a giant sandcastle which you can see from the airport as you arrive . .

Room Tip: we had a ground floor rooms 87 and 88 very quiet no problems wth noise
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Me my husband and our 12 year old stayed at the karemboa hotel and arrived back on 19th August after an idyllic 10 days of pure sun, cool breezes and great beaches.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, staff were friendly and helpful and the food was amazing!
I really had no complaints at all about my stay at this hotel as they catered for our every need and were very professional in doing so.
If you do decide to go to Cape Verde it's worth doing the beach walk into the town of sal rei, it's a few miles walk along the beach but the views are breath taking and there are bars along the way to stop at and get a cold drink.
The people on the island were very polite and welcoming and their moto no stress certainly showed.
A must do on your stay is a meal at Morebeza beach bar, they do the best lobster and steak ever! If you go book it from either the rep at hotel or the reception staff and every thursday they have a reggae band which made the evening even more enjoyable.
I would highly recommend the catamaran trips around the island and quad biking around the north and south sides of Boa Vista as the sights and scenes are magnificent and on the south side you stop at the most beautiful beach ever called Santa Monica beach. Quads riding over sand dunes is a fantastic experience.
Some tours are cheaper with the other reps at the hotel but they are all the same tour so shop around for much better prices.
My husband had booked to go deep sea fishing but this was canceled after the weather predicted very rough seas far out, I was happy they didn't just go ahead with the trip but instead considered safety first.
You will not find any people on the island begging for money despite being from a very poor country with no infrastructure. The people are very warm and have big hearts, they are happy to sell you beads and carved stone or wood crafts as this is their livelihood due to tourism.
Boa Vista is still unharmed by the slow but steady rise in tourists but I wonder if it will remain unspoilt in the next 10 years, I recommend going before it does get too commercial.
We took sterling which could be easily changed up into Euros or local currency Escudos at the hotel reception.
Top tips for those who burn easily and kids, use factor 50 as even when it looks overcast it's still hot and you will burn if not protected.
You don't need any jabs for this part of Africa.
Locals will try to speak most languages but mainly Portuguese.
The hotel has food and drink going all day and late into the night if you are up that long which I did one night.
My holiday was perfect and I would recommend the riu karemboa to all except young people who want a bit of nightlife as there is not much going on in that way to keep them amused, if you want a relaxing, stress free, safe place to get a tan then this is the place to stay. The sea is gorgeous and the sandy white beaches are delightful as are the sunsets and low cloud formations.
Nothing not to love about this place at all.
.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank natalie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Arrived back late last night from the above hotel. Cape Verde itself is a desert with wonderful beaches. Unspoilt and peaceful. The Hotel was a major let down. We were extremely disappointed with the hotel. We thought it would be a 5 star hotel offering 5 star service.
The hotel staff in general and the animation, sports staff are fantastic! Hands on and helpful.
We had two rooms next door to each other as we had two teenagers with us. Room location 2nd floor last block perfect. Room sizes good, however, no hot water for 2 days in either rooms! Each time we complained the reception sent someone who supposedly fixed the problem! The "No Stress" policy didn't work for me! I was fed up of freezing cold showers! After two days complaining to the Tui Reps and the hotel we finally had hot water!
The swimming pools are extremely dangerous and in need of repair. Both my teenagers and myself cut our feet on the bottom of the pool. Lots of mosaic tiles missing, not one or two! Tons of them in huge patches around the pool. The lie back pool areas of the pool also had tiles missing on them. Made a hole in my bikini! Was not impressed. When we complained we were told we could see the hotel doctor free of charge! The idea of booking an idyllic resort is to chill by the pool. It was extremely slippery and dangerous, lots of young children and adults cutting their feet open on the tiles. The swim up bar is fully of algae and dirty. Lots of black mould around the tiles in all 3 pool areas. I was so disappointed. The assistant manager said the pool was due for a refurb in the next few months! Also, he said that the Tui reps should have notified the guests about the pool so they were made aware of the pool before they arrived. We were only told that the pool is in disrepair once we attended the welcome meeting! If we had were advised before we left the UK we would have switched hotels. It was a major let down for us. The loungers were so uncomfy and you had to negotiate a way of laying on them to keep them flat if you moved they would spring back up again! A real pain.
As for the beach, we were lucky we got to swim in the sea every day, it was beautiful. What a lovely beach, the current was strong most days, but it didn't put us off.
As for the food, it was ok, not too much choice, enough. A real pain with the self service all the time, however, it was fine. Try and book the other restaurants, the Asian and the African made a very pleasant change. However, they are still self service buffet.
Would I go back to this hotel, probably not. I will be writing to Thompsons/TUI about the pool it really annoyed us to watch where we swam, in the pools for fear of cutting ourselves.
Do the turtle tour, it is brilliant it takes place late at night so if you have young kids not ideal. We enjoyed it. Also, do a tour of the Island, there is so much more to see beyond the Resort. If you get a chance, go visit the nursery in Sal Rei, lovely to meet the kids and see their smiley faces. Take stationery, pens and pencils for the kids.
Our reps were lovely, however, the couldn't change the pool situation and they finally sorted the hot water. If you go, please do not expect it to be 5 star.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor in a quiet area. Try and get a sea view if you can.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MRH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boa Vista hotels
3.5 mi away
Marine Club Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Hotel Estoril
Hotel Estoril
#5 of 5 in Sal Rei
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Ca'Nicola
Aparthotel Ca'Nicola
#2 of 5 in Sal Rei
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Touareg
Hotel Riu Touareg
#1 of 1 in Santa Monica
7,933 reviews
1.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
#1 of 11 in Boa Vista
1,966 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Horizons Boa Vista
Royal Horizons Boa Vista
#4 of 11 in Boa Vista
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clubhotel Riu Karamboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clubhotel Riu Karamboa

Address: Lote HO 1, Urb. Morrinho de Baguincho | Praia de Boca Salina, Boa Vista 4110, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Location: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Boa Vista
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Boa Vista
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range: $159 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clubhotel Riu Karamboa 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the island Boavista in the Cape Verde Islands. 2-Storey main building and 3-storey annexes. Situated on the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach. 7 Km to Sal Rei. 1,5 Km from the airport. Credit cards accepted: Visa, Mastercard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clubhotel Riu Karamboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa Hotel Boa Vista
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa Boa Vista
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa Cape Verde/Boa Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing