We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than home cooking”

Black Mountain Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 18 Restaurants in North Creek
Restaurant details
Niskayuna, NY
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Better than home cooking”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We've been here at least 20 times and have never walked away unsatisfied. They have a lovely salad special every night, tonight was grilled shrimp, artichoke, roasted red peppers and feta over very fresh greens with a nice vinaigrette. J had pork chops - they have a lot of comfort food with great mashed potatoes.
Service was slow but they were shorthanded tonight in the kitchen. The staff was apologetic, no problem, as long as it is acknowledged. The adirondack decor is a bit over the top but I'm sure some people enjoy it. The only real complaint I have is they could go a bit better on the white wine selection, the pinot grigio is not very good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PatraMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Black Mountain Rest.”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We had one dinner here in April and we were very please with the food and evening. Good wine selection and a great menu with daily specials. This restaurant is hightly recommended by the locals.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful Food! Where the Locals Go.....”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

North Creek's Black Mountain Restaurant is simply just off the beaten path and well-worth your find! Take a turn off Route 28 onto Route 8 South -- meander down this road to find a most charming and most friendly local restaurant. Open year-round, Marion, Kip and staff open at 4PM for dinner (Bar opens at 3PM.) (Note: hours of operation change for a very brief period in early spring between snow season and white water (Sun-Tues) - if in town on those days during this period check in advance.) Hands-on particular attention given to their food, Black Mountain offers a full, diverse regular menu which is always combined with daily specials and offerings ---- any selection absolutely the best! Full bar too! Whatever you choose food is always wonderfully prepared and fresh! Consistent great food is what brings us back time-and-time again! Cannot say enough about how warm and friendly this place is --- come through the door and you are welcomed, made comfortable and feel right at home -- we have never had a bad meal here .... check it out and enjoy what the locals truly rave about!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Come early and you'll have a fantastic meal!”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We arrived at about 4:30 PM, just as the kitchen was opening, so we had our choice of tables. This definitely seemed like a local favorite, and the bartender and wait staff greeted everyone who came in (many by name). The place filled up during the time we were there, and we began to agree with the reviewers below who talked about how loud it was. By 5:30 we had to yell to be heard across the table. However, the food and service were OUTSTANDING! We started with the daily soup special: Tomato, bacon and portobello, which was fabulous. Then we enjoyed the tomato, fresh mozzarella and pesto on toasted ciabatta along with the chili-rubbed wild salmon. Both were delicious. The only drawbacks to this restaurant were the noise level (not a problem until about 5:30) and the fact that we were charged for each soda refill (at $2.50 each-ouch!). Since it is mostly about the food for us, we will be back. We'll just be here early.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aeroblazergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnsburg, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best French Onion Soup, EVER!”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We go here all the time because the food is so good and the prices are so reasonable.The French onion soup is out of this world! It has lots of nice, bubbly cheese! They have everything from sandwiches and burgers to dinners. The Reuben was so big I had to bring half of it home! Portions are large. They have a full bar, although it's very small, tucked into a corner, but we have our drinks at the table with our meal.
I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank themare5716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Mountain Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Black Mountain Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing