We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive motel in the center of town...but with some issues.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Alpine Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in North Creek
Nyack, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Attractive motel in the center of town...but with some issues.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This place, which appears to have been recently re-modeled and freshened up, is in a great location in the center of North Creek. There are good places to eat just steps away. It has the attractive 'Adirondack' motif with lots of wood and everything seemingly made from trees and branches...as you can see in the photos. It is very clean-looking. The exception was the stained carpeting near the entrance of the room, but I guess that is the price you pay with an outdoor entrance motor-motel type of layout. They have a keyless entry system with a code, which is convenient. The shower worked well, and the bed was comfortable, despite the generic motel-type sheets and blankets.

The major issues with this place, and for me they are significant, were the 'too noisy to use' air conditioning unit and the terrible cable TV service. With the latter, which the manager claimed to be a system-wide problem, there was so much static and wavy lines rolling through the screen that it almost became unwatchable. As far as the malfunctioning AC, the vibrations and associated noise were terrible. I left two notes on the desk in their usually empty office about it. Finally, on our last night, the manager called to say a technician had come to address it. Well, maybe he did, but the problem continued for the duration of our stay.

There were other minor housekeeping issues...sheets that didn't seems to want to stay on the bed and stained towels. There was also a dirty sock in the corner of the room that was leftover from a previous guest.

Bottom line for me....I wouldn't stay here again. It is expensive for what is essentially a freshened up motel with few services. Now, I did get a weekday 'buy two nights/get one free' special. Otherwise, I'd be feeling even worse about my stay at this place. More importantly, when I'm a lodging guest, no matter what kind of place I'm in, I need to know that some of the essentials, i.e. AC and TV service, are going to be there and working well. Based on my experience, I have little confidence in that being the case with the Alpine Lodge. I don't want to deal with problems on my vacation. I think they should get the essentials working reliably before worrying about outfitting every room with toilet-paper holders made out of tree branches.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NyackSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    44
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
56
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very nice family room, plenty of room for the five of us. Our room had a kitchen too, with great outdoor eating area. Room very clean, and the only staff member that we came across was extremely friendly and helpful. The location is ideal for exploring the area, and ideally situated within North Creek.

Room Tip: Our family room was on the ground floor, and ideally situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pete t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Overall it is nice. Love the double sinks in bathroom. Manager was very welcoming and helpful. The common area had great info on the area and full size refrigerator for our use. The barVino restaurant/bar next door, AWESOME. GREAT sandwich shop a few steps away too. Here is what needs to improve....clean or replace the moldy shower liner. It was BAD, very bad. Second, put a screen on the patio door for a cross breeze. Room is stuffy so we were forced to run AC when really not necessary. Get better pillows, way too hard. In spite of these short comings, I recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 21654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

What can I say, I got charged for two nights but did not stay there. The manager assured us that we'd get a full refund within 3-7 business days but that never happened. After a few ignored phone calls, the owner called to inform me that she would NOT be refunding the money regardless of what the manager said.

It's very sad. Because it says something about the integrity of the workers there. And expect to wait a while if you need assistance if you need it. There was no one in the lobby, just a cell number to call.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Alpine Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Yes, you reserved 2 nights over the busy Memorial Day Holiday weekend and we did indeed charge you for the stay we confirmed. We held the room for you as we promised. In your "review" you neglected to indicate what you mean by "misrepresentation" . You arrived in North Creek at our motel, and were surprised you were not with your friends in Lake George. You stated that we say we are 15 minutes north of Lake George on our website. This is far from the truth! We do not say that anywhere! We are located about 40 minutes north of Lake George in the midst of the beautiful Adirondacks- far enough from the hustle and bustle of the Lake George's miniature golf courses, Water Slide World, t-shirt shops and such. The beauty of our area is that we are far enough to be away, but close enough to take advantage of all those attractions if you so desire. You stated that you wished to drink with your friends in Lake George and we were too far to drive home after a night in the bars. We are! But that is not our fault....you should have seen our address, looked at our map and directions before asking us to make a reservation for you.

We are sorry that you did not realize that we are in the small mountain town of North Creek. Since we are off the beaten track we do have a deposit policy. Hopefully, the guests reading this will realize we are close to Gore Mountain in the heart of the Adirondacks. You should stay with us if you like to hike, bike, ski, fish and whitewater raft. You should stay with us if you like quiet, walks to nice restaurants and wine bars and quality shops. We are couple and family oriented.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The only "complaint" I have is that they use a code to enter your room instead of a key-card and when we arrived for our anniversary weekend, we found anther couple in our room who had noticed on their bill the reservation said it was for two nights and they only reserved 1 so they had known something was off. However the staff immediately came and sorted it all out within 5 minutes and were very kind. The other couple was very nice as well and they were talking to us about the area and things to do. Other than that it was a beautiful facility and the staff was very helpful and kind. Highly recommend this place and I would definitely come back! It sits in a small town with a few shops and a handful of places to eat. We loved every bit of our weekend and were sad to come home!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SierraDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was in the area visiting numerous summer camps on business and found that it was quite 'hit and miss' when selecting independent hotels / motels... I'm so glad I came across the Alpine Lodge (which I found on Trip Advisor)! My room was decorated with a wooden, rustic feel and was very cosy. The bed was HUGE! Free wi-fi was a bonus and I felt safe as a female solo traveller with the number-combination system on the door instead of a key. Had a great breakfast at a cafe down the road and stocked up on supplies for my trip from the supermarket across the road. A recommended gem...

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank HollieVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Do NOT stay at this place. If you do, you’ll be paying way too much and receive very little. It is nothing but a motor lodge with alpine decorations.
$224.37 for one night will buy you this:
• A puddle right in front of your door.
• One bath towel
• No shampoo
• One bar of soap
• Seemingly nonresponsive heat control
• One 12 in sink
• Hardest pillows I’ve ever seen in my life
• Alarm clock beep at five in the morning coming from the presumably unoccupied room next door that you can’t do anything about because there are no phones in the room or a reception area with someone on duty where you can call.
• Two breakfast vouchers for a restaurant next door that in reality charges half what you paid for the vouchers you bought on line from the motel.

It is unfortunate. Reasonably priced and managed this place could be an asset. Instead it is a onetime trap.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ali k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Alpine Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I don't know how to respond to this..... such a venomous review and you never even contacted us. All our rooms have telephones in them and the live-in Manager is on-premise 24/7 and would be happy to correct any problem any time. All rooms have shampoo, conditioner, lotion, make up remover, lip gloss and 2 bars of soap. Yes, we are a motel with a Adirondack furniture and decor- we don't try to be anything but. The rooms do range from $139 - $239 depending on the type of room you choose. There is 7% sales tax and 4% county bed tax in addition. As a courtesy to our guests we do offer gift certificates for breakfast to either Cafe Sarah next door or Marsha's Family Restaurant- for $12 you get a credit of $12 off your bill. An alarm clock in an adjoining (unoccupied?) room going off is an unacceptable happening- but there is certainly a telephone to call the manager who would have turned it off immediately, and certainly made amends had you contacted him. We are very very sorry you did not enjoy yourselves and would have loved an opportunity to correct any issues that you had - but your review is filled with false information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Creek
1.0 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
4.7 mi away
Black Mountain Lodge
Black Mountain Lodge
#4 of 4 in North Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
6.1 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
19.8 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#2 of 8 in Bolton Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Fern Lodge
The Fern Lodge
#1 of 8 in Chestertown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alpine Lodge

Property: The Alpine Lodge
Address: 264 Main St, North Creek, NY 12853-2309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > North Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in North Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alpine Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpine Lodge is the newest and one of the most unique lodging facilities in the beautiful Gore Mountain region in Northern New York State. A wonderful example of the Adirondack Great Camp style, The Alpine Lodge is located in the charming small town of North Creek in the midst of the beautiful and scenic Adirondack Mountains. Convenient down-town location; walk to restaurants, grocery, and shopping- perfect for après-ski! Just a 5 minute drive to Gore Mountain. The Alpine Lodge is located within a short drive of numerous year-round activities. Each guest room in the Lodge is small and cozy, and features a television with dvd player, CD player, WiFi, specially designed furnishings, and private bathroom with stall shower. Some rooms boast a gas woodstove and/or Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alpine Hotel North Creek
Alpine Hotel North Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing