We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”
Review of The Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alpine Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in North Creek
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The only "complaint" I have is that they use a code to enter your room instead of a key-card and when we arrived for our anniversary weekend, we found anther couple in our room who had noticed on their bill the reservation said it was for two nights and they only reserved 1 so they had known something was off. However the staff immediately came and sorted it all out within 5 minutes and were very kind. The other couple was very nice as well and they were talking to us about the area and things to do. Other than that it was a beautiful facility and the staff was very helpful and kind. Highly recommend this place and I would definitely come back! It sits in a small town with a few shops and a handful of places to eat. We loved every bit of our weekend and were sad to come home!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SierraDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    44
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
57
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was in the area visiting numerous summer camps on business and found that it was quite 'hit and miss' when selecting independent hotels / motels... I'm so glad I came across the Alpine Lodge (which I found on Trip Advisor)! My room was decorated with a wooden, rustic feel and was very cosy. The bed was HUGE! Free wi-fi was a bonus and I felt safe as a female solo traveller with the number-combination system on the door instead of a key. Had a great breakfast at a cafe down the road and stocked up on supplies for my trip from the supermarket across the road. A recommended gem...

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank HollieVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Do NOT stay at this place. If you do, you’ll be paying way too much and receive very little. It is nothing but a motor lodge with alpine decorations.
$224.37 for one night will buy you this:
• A puddle right in front of your door.
• One bath towel
• No shampoo
• One bar of soap
• Seemingly nonresponsive heat control
• One 12 in sink
• Hardest pillows I’ve ever seen in my life
• Alarm clock beep at five in the morning coming from the presumably unoccupied room next door that you can’t do anything about because there are no phones in the room or a reception area with someone on duty where you can call.
• Two breakfast vouchers for a restaurant next door that in reality charges half what you paid for the vouchers you bought on line from the motel.

It is unfortunate. Reasonably priced and managed this place could be an asset. Instead it is a onetime trap.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ali k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Alpine Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I don't know how to respond to this..... such a venomous review and you never even contacted us. All our rooms have telephones in them and the live-in Manager is on-premise 24/7 and would be happy to correct any problem any time. All rooms have shampoo, conditioner, lotion, make up remover, lip gloss and 2 bars of soap. Yes, we are a motel with a Adirondack furniture and decor- we don't try to be anything but. The rooms do range from $139 - $239 depending on the type of room you choose. There is 7% sales tax and 4% county bed tax in addition. As a courtesy to our guests we do offer gift certificates for breakfast to either Cafe Sarah next door or Marsha's Family Restaurant- for $12 you get a credit of $12 off your bill. An alarm clock in an adjoining (unoccupied?) room going off is an unacceptable happening- but there is certainly a telephone to call the manager who would have turned it off immediately, and certainly made amends had you contacted him. We are very very sorry you did not enjoy yourselves and would have loved an opportunity to correct any issues that you had - but your review is filled with false information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our family has a relaxing stay at the lodge, the whole atmosphere was like staying at a well kept rugged cottage.
The service was good and we were upgraded to a bigger at no additional cost , it was considerate as we did not even ask for it. But seeing that we were 3 they suggest a bigger room.Waiting for my next holiday there.
The hotel beside BaRVINO IS WORTH A MEAL

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManjushaNaidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Alpine Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Glad you enjoyed it! barVino is a favorite of ours as well! We are lucky that there are many great restaurants close by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chittenango
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

As I drove by this place looking for it my daughter said "I wish we were staying there." Then when I found it she said this is where I wanted to stay.
The room was perfectly decorated in the adirondack theme. The "lodge had a fire going, and a suggestion book for restaurants. We chose "the place "restaurant which was also good.
The only problem we had was the parking , but I called the manager(there is like a little phone booth to call if you need something) He said we could park across the street.
You get a pass code for the room before you arrive so you never check in w/ anyone. I thought this strange but cool. Wish I had that job.
I was making sandwiches for skiing the next day and forgot the bread. There was a restaurant almost connected and they gave me bread FOR FREE!!! for my lunch( Thank You).
The only suggestion I have is this. It would be nice if there was a shelf in the bathroom for the clean towels to be folded on. When they are hanging on hooks it makes me wonder if the cleaning people forgot them. All in all wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ajknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Alpine Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I chose the rustic twig hooks to fit with the Adirondack theme, but I never considered that guests might prefer to have their clean towels folded on a shelf. Thats a good idea- we could use some more shelf space anyway! I'll put it on the "to do" list!!! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The owner/manager may not claim its fancy, but this has one of the nicest hotel rooms I've been in. Nice sized room with Adirondack styling, big comfortable bed, nice alarm clock, free wifi (though a bit slow - can't get everything), free long distance, gas stove (some rooms), coffee maker, flat panel TV... nice common room... probably missing a few things in there :)

Hard to believe its "just" a motel. Only knock on it is that the bathroom is... just a generic bathroom... all that effort on the room. Its functional, but nothing special (though maybe the units with the whirlpool tubs have nicer ones, dunno).

Great location in town - right next to Cafe Sara and Marsha's, and just a few door downs from the BarVino.

Room Tip: Get the King with the stove - great on a cold night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Alpine Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Glad you enjoyed it! Yes, our bathrooms are fairly small- we were restricted in the size due to the renovation of this building. We needed to stick with the original footprint. We are proud of the Great Room that is nice additional space for our Guests in addition to their rooms and we recently finished a new gazebo in the backyard.... Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at the Lodge last week and had a very good time. The place was clean and the staff was great. The Number key system was a bit weird for a old lady like me but was ok. The Gas wood stove set a very comfortable tone for my whole stay. The manager Leo knew where to send me for some great food. If you have the chance stay there you will feel right at home.

Room Tip: The rooms with gas wood stove are soo nice and toasty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonTaylor, Owner at The Alpine Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
The keycodes are unusual but we think they have worked out great! There are really excellent options for restaurants in our little town- glad you found that out! The gas woodstoves are in the "cozy kings" and in our "luxury kings" but there is a large gas fireplace for all of our guests enjoyment in the Great Room....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Creek
1.0 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
4.9 mi away
Black Mountain Lodge
Black Mountain Lodge
#4 of 4 in North Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
6.1 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.2 mi away
The Copperfield Inn Resort
The Copperfield Inn Resort
#3 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alpine Lodge

Property: The Alpine Lodge
Address: 264 Main St, North Creek, NY 12853-2309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > North Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in North Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alpine Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpine Lodge is the newest and one of the most unique lodging facilities in the beautiful Gore Mountain region in Northern New York State. A wonderful example of the Adirondack Great Camp style, The Alpine Lodge is located in the charming small town of North Creek in the midst of the beautiful and scenic Adirondack Mountains. Convenient down-town location; walk to restaurants, grocery, and shopping- perfect for après-ski! Just a 5 minute drive to Gore Mountain. The Alpine Lodge is located within a short drive of numerous year-round activities. Each guest room in the Lodge is small and cozy, and features a television with dvd player, CD player, WiFi, specially designed furnishings, and private bathroom with stall shower. Some rooms boast a gas woodstove and/or Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alpine Hotel North Creek
Alpine Hotel North Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing