We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
67
47
16
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
47
16
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat roomthe main streetkey codewithin walking distanceonsite managersmall townrustic feellake george areaadirondack decorgrocery store across the streetking sizethe hotel is cleanfire pitcontinental breakfasttwo nightswine bareach morning
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 140 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Alpine Lodge was a sweet relaxing place - very clean, lovely rustic looking furniture, cozy room. Leo the manager was always available and helpful with great suggestions on how and where to relax in the local lakes and great food. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prontoeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed here as part of a weekend trip on the Saratoga and North Creek Railway. We got there at night, and it was a bit odd trying to figure out how to use the code for the room. (This confusion and lack of information may have been the fault of the travel agent who put the package together, not the hotel.) We thought we were supposed to use it to get into the common room, not directly into our individual rooms. Once we figured it out, everything was fine.
I like that they have so many room configurations, which is great for families. Beds were comfy, bathroom was large, with a good mirror. The bed frames are heavy log furniture, and the mattress is quite high, which could be difficult for someone with mobility issues, but it wasn't a problem for us. Our room had a little balcony off the back.
Although there was nobody around when we arrived, the next day we met the women who clean the rooms. They were very nice to talk to and we heard tales of how deep the snow gets there in the winter! Our return train was leaving after checkout, so we used the housephone to call the manager, who kindly arranged a late checkout, since our room wasn't booked for the next night.
If you stay here, be sure to go to the nearby restaurant, I think it's called Marsha's. Fabulous blueberry pancakes, light and fluffy with real blueberries.
The town is nice for strolling around. Cute shops, and if you walk a bit farther, nice views of the Hudson River.

Room Tip: Go to their website and look at the room configurations to see what's best for you. We had a queen and double room, but they also offer other configurations, like one king or a sofa-bed and double combination.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy49NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We spent New Year's weekend at the Alpine Lodge with friends and had a great time -- what a find! Our room number and key code to access the door were sent to us via email prior to our arrival; therefore, there was no need to check in (while there isn't an official "front desk," it actually saved time). The on-site manager, Casey, was just a phone call away, if needed. We stayed in a standard king room which was absolutely immaculate and extremely cozy. Our friends stayed in a handicap standard king (with extra room in the bathroom) and luxury king (which was nice given the extra space, gas fireplace and Jacuzzi tub). Casey kindly showed us the Eagles Nest suite which is absolutely beautiful with two bedrooms, gourmet kitchen/bar, fireplace, desk and pull out couch. Since it only has one bathroom (the two sinks and separate toilet closet are a plus), it would be difficult for two couples to share (at least for us), but it would be a great space for a family.

The lodge is located directly on Main Street -- in between Marsha's (hearty breakfast -- great cure for a new year's hangover!) and Cafe Sarah (great coffee drinks, breakfast burrito and many delectable treats!). For dinner, we went to Bar Vino two nights in a row (phenomenal tapas wine bar with 100 wines and 30 beers -- see my other review); Lorenzo's (rack of lamb was good -- didn't care for duck as it was fattier than usual and the sauce was bland). Trappers Tavern is located in the same inn next to Lorenzo's -- really nice bar with great staff. There is also a Grand Union right down the street.

The Gore Mountain shuttle picked us up in the Alpine Lodge parking lot, so it couldn't be any more convenient. While the trials were limited due to lack of snow, we will definitely be back. Thanks, Casey, for your great disposition (and thanks, Sharon, for renovating this place). :-)

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank GoldynAngyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

After the 5 hour drive from New York, I want to park the car and relax. Within walking distance of The Alpine Lodge are several restaurants, taverns, shops, and services. We rafted with North Creek Rafting Company which is a two minute walk away, enjoyed a gourmet meal at barVino which is two doors down, and had breakfast at Cafe Sarah right next door. Besides the convenient central location, the rooms were spotless, spacious, and tastefully decorated. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We would highly recommend the “ The Alpine Lodge” in the quaint town of North Creek, New York. The room was beautifully decorated in Adirondack style, spotless and quiet. The staff was accommodating and friendly. The check in and check out was simple, The Alpine Lodge had sent a door code via email and we didn’t need a key. Our room had a Jacuzzi tub, fireplace and king size bed.. The location was great, we were in walking distance to several restaurants and a grocery store. We have been visiting the Adirondacks for over 35 years and this was our best accommodations to date!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChallengerRt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews