We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of The Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alpine Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in North Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed here as part of a weekend trip on the Saratoga and North Creek Railway. We got there at night, and it was a bit odd trying to figure out how to use the code for the room. (This confusion and lack of information may have been the fault of the travel agent who put the package together, not the hotel.) We thought we were supposed to use it to get into the common room, not directly into our individual rooms. Once we figured it out, everything was fine.
I like that they have so many room configurations, which is great for families. Beds were comfy, bathroom was large, with a good mirror. The bed frames are heavy log furniture, and the mattress is quite high, which could be difficult for someone with mobility issues, but it wasn't a problem for us. Our room had a little balcony off the back.
Although there was nobody around when we arrived, the next day we met the women who clean the rooms. They were very nice to talk to and we heard tales of how deep the snow gets there in the winter! Our return train was leaving after checkout, so we used the housephone to call the manager, who kindly arranged a late checkout, since our room wasn't booked for the next night.
If you stay here, be sure to go to the nearby restaurant, I think it's called Marsha's. Fabulous blueberry pancakes, light and fluffy with real blueberries.
The town is nice for strolling around. Cute shops, and if you walk a bit farther, nice views of the Hudson River.

Room Tip: Go to their website and look at the room configurations to see what's best for you. We had a que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy49NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 135 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

We spent New Year's weekend at the Alpine Lodge with friends and had a great time -- what a find! Our room number and key code to access the door were sent to us via email prior to our arrival; therefore, there was no need to check in (while there isn't an official "front desk," it actually saved time). The on-site manager, Casey, was just a phone call away, if needed. We stayed in a standard king room which was absolutely immaculate and extremely cozy. Our friends stayed in a handicap standard king (with extra room in the bathroom) and luxury king (which was nice given the extra space, gas fireplace and Jacuzzi tub). Casey kindly showed us the Eagles Nest suite which is absolutely beautiful with two bedrooms, gourmet kitchen/bar, fireplace, desk and pull out couch. Since it only has one bathroom (the two sinks and separate toilet closet are a plus), it would be difficult for two couples to share (at least for us), but it would be a great space for a family.

The lodge is located directly on Main Street -- in between Marsha's (hearty breakfast -- great cure for a new year's hangover!) and Cafe Sarah (great coffee drinks, breakfast burrito and many delectable treats!). For dinner, we went to Bar Vino two nights in a row (phenomenal tapas wine bar with 100 wines and 30 beers -- see my other review); Lorenzo's (rack of lamb was good -- didn't care for duck as it was fattier than usual and the sauce was bland). Trappers Tavern is located in the same inn next to Lorenzo's -- really nice bar with great staff. There is also a Grand Union right down the street.

The Gore Mountain shuttle picked us up in the Alpine Lodge parking lot, so it couldn't be any more convenient. While the trials were limited due to lack of snow, we will definitely be back. Thanks, Casey, for your great disposition (and thanks, Sharon, for renovating this place). :-)

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank GoldynAngyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

After the 5 hour drive from New York, I want to park the car and relax. Within walking distance of The Alpine Lodge are several restaurants, taverns, shops, and services. We rafted with North Creek Rafting Company which is a two minute walk away, enjoyed a gourmet meal at barVino which is two doors down, and had breakfast at Cafe Sarah right next door. Besides the convenient central location, the rooms were spotless, spacious, and tastefully decorated. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We would highly recommend the “ The Alpine Lodge” in the quaint town of North Creek, New York. The room was beautifully decorated in Adirondack style, spotless and quiet. The staff was accommodating and friendly. The check in and check out was simple, The Alpine Lodge had sent a door code via email and we didn’t need a key. Our room had a Jacuzzi tub, fireplace and king size bed.. The location was great, we were in walking distance to several restaurants and a grocery store. We have been visiting the Adirondacks for over 35 years and this was our best accommodations to date!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChallengerRt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We loved this place! The bed was so comfortable and the pot belly fireplace was fabulous. The bathroom was standard standup shower and the sink was not in the bathroom but in the room. But we didn't mind it at all. I loved it there, and there is a fabulous bakery in walking distance. A great place to stay in the Adirondack Mountains!

Room Tip: Room #4 was a standard king! Great room, just don't turn on the ceiling fan if you are stilling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRA222NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel is conviently located on the main street of this charming Adirondack village, with easy access to several outdoor activities year-round.

The rooms are spacious and clean and the beds are very comfortable. On-site parking right in the heart of the village is also a plus.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewJerseyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Some reviews complain about the use of a code number to gain entry to your room - we found it easy; much easier than having to wait in a queue at a reception desk.
The room was great - 2 comfortable, rustic beds and a spacious bathroom. We also had a balcony with 2 chairs.
Both room and bathroom were very clean and looked like they had been recently decorated.
The village itself is very small and quiet, but there are coffee shops and a supermarket, so breakfast was easily sorted, and there are a few restaurants nearby too.
All in all, a very clean and comfortable room.
We look forward to another visit soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 190727Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Creek
1 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
131 reviews
6.1 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
75 reviews
24 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Copperfield Inn Resort
The Copperfield Inn Resort
#3 of 4 in North Creek
84 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
1,673 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#13 of 89 in Lake George
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alpine Lodge

Address: 264 Main St, North Creek, NY 12853-2309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > North Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in North Creek
Price Range: $169 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alpine Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpine Lodge is the newest and one of the most unique lodging facilities in the beautiful Gore Mountain region in Northern New York State. A wonderful example of the Adirondack Great Camp style, The Alpine Lodge is located in the charming small town of North Creek in the midst of the beautiful and scenic Adirondack Mountains. Convenient down-town location; walk to restaurants, grocery, and shopping- perfect for après-ski! Just a 5 minute drive to Gore Mountain. The Alpine Lodge is located within a short drive of numerous year-round activities. Each guest room in the Lodge is small and cozy, and features a television with dvd player, CD player, WiFi, specially designed furnishings, and private bathroom with stall shower. Some rooms boast a gas woodstove and/or Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alpine Hotel North Creek
Alpine Hotel North Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing