We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Pizza and Italian Food with Great Service”

Six50 Black Oven Cooking
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Chili
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Six50 offers upscale-casual dining with Italian-American fare. Established in 2012, Six50 was started with the intention of bringing genuinely good food and a unique experience to Rochester diners. Offering a scratch kitchen, sourcing the majority of goods from local vendors and local farms. Six50 uses wood-fired ovens to prepare the majority of the offerings, which provides a very rich flavor. The wood fire not only provides a delicious product, but it is a renewable resource, which reduces the consumption of fossil fuels.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Pizza and Italian Food with Great Service”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited this local restaurant on a rainy fall night. It was quite crowded and we had to wait about half an hour for a table. There was no available place to sit while waiting so the wait felt longer than it actually was. Reservations are taken only for groups larger than six. My friend and I each ordered a Caesar salad, a glass of wine and shared a specialty pizza. The waiter who served us was friendly and helpful and our food arrived quite quickly. Salad was crunchy and flavorful, pizza better than the usual local pizzaria but not quite as crisp as true brick oven pizza. The restaurant was cozy but had quite a high noise level. There also was very little lighting in front of the building and my friend tripped and fell on the way to the car. All in all, however, the food was good and we certainly will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AntiqueTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    30
    10
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We ordered 2 pizzas and they were both excelent and the service was great we had are food with in 30 min. The outdoor seating is nice too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AidanH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
177 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Love this place...get a website!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went for girls' night out and tried six50. I'd driven by lots of times and wanted to give it a try. The food was excellent. The service was not fantastic but it was doable and overcome by the great food. The Wedge salad was outstanding and it was huge! Great flavor in the pizza and pasta dishes. Wanted to go back with my husband on Labor Day but assumed they were closed when I kept calling and didn't get an answer. Little hints to owner: update the voicemail for closings and get a website.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sonseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Resturant!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I visited Six 50 for our anniversary. We needed to find some good food close to home and we found Six 50. Even for those who do not live around Chili, it is worth the trip. Great food for reasonable prices. Creative menu. Great service. We sat outside on patio. Nice atmosphere. Glad we visited Six 50 and will be returning soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tabmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Why don't they get it???”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Interior is beautiful, food is delicious and the restaurant is much needed on the west side, but the service is the worst I've experienced, slow slow slow

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knowledge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six50 Black Oven Cooking also viewed

Chili, Finger Lakes
Spencerport, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Six50 Black Oven Cooking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing