We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not going again”
Review of Tioga Downs

Tioga Downs
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Nichols
Attraction details
pv
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not going again”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have been here many many times over the years until now. I just found out why we never win anything anymore. Don't quote me. This is what I heard from a persons spouse who works there. This person said this was on the TV news a few weeks ago.This person said the owner of Tioga downs would rather pay a fine of $800,000.00 a year to the gambling commission rather than have the machines pay out the percentage of what they should be paying. When they first opened it was fun and you would win a little something here and there. Not now. Machines are very tight. We will be taking our money to Finger Lakes casino,Turning Stone casino or Salamanca casino. They pay out much better. They are farther away so we won't be going as much but will be taking more money to gamble longer since it will be less frequent. It will be worth the trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank jackpot2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    39
    26
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sayre, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nothing much”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This as a small hole in the wall racino The slots are tight as the get with few larger payouts.
Racing offers small purse races with low end horses that brake a lot you try to bet on which horse won't brake. The players club is pathic you need to average 10k in play per month for
comp invitations to events (owner must feel he runs the Borgata) and most comps go to employees family and friend that are given out. At coasters sports bar the waitress spend more time chatting at the bar together than waiting customers.
Hopefully the state of ny won't waste a southern tier casino license on this place, They should keep it as a racino

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockwood, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“fun nights”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

in the miiddle of tiny Tioga county ny there is a small casino! computer tables and slots..well laid out very clean and smoke free is always a plus, we have learned by next year it will be a full casino with tables..the buffet is just great and if you go early bird it is inexpensive..on weekends they have a great spread. i have only been to two shows ther both were well done. a nice surprise in the middle of nowhere!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst place ever.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This place is absolutely miserable. They were rude and condescending. The food was not even close to edible. Avoid at all costs. The people are borderline creepy and it reminded me of chuckie cheese in a horror movie. This place is a SCAM.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Alyssam92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatontown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Small(900 slot machines) but enjoyable”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The buffet is good and at a fair price It is sort of in the middle of nowhere and provided entertainment in an area without a great choice of places to go. You only have to be 16 to gamble in this casino. Most slots are penny slots.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichSing091947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tioga Downs also viewed

 

Been to Tioga Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing