We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Dated but Clean”
Reviewed January 1, 2007

We stayed here for two nights with no problems. I will admit that the hotel is very dated and in major need of an upgrade. However, if you need a cheap and clean place to stay that is ultra close to the falls, this is it.

You are so close to the falls and attractions that it's practically ridiculous. Everything is within walking distance. Also, the hotel is a few blocks from the Rainbow Bridge, which brings you into Canada (you can walk or drive over it).

The front desk was very helpful and accommodating. We had no problems in this area at all.

I travelled only with adults, but the hotel appeared to be very family friendly and pets are welcome, at an additional fee.

Free continental breakfast is served in the breakfast room. There was a choice of cold cereal, toast, pastries and beverages. It's all prepare your own, but there is plenty to offer.

Ask for a room at the back of the hotel. You will have a nice view of the Canadian side.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Needs updating
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room in the back for a nice view of the Canadian side
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gramercy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    222
    307
    196
    180
See reviews for
521
305
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oswego,Ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2006

It was very enjoyable to stay at the Howard Johnson in downstown Niagara Falls, NY. My husband and I and our 3 children enjoyed every minute of our stay. The continental breakfast was very lovely and accomidating in the morning. The indoor pool was also a treat. The hotel was clean and the beds were confortable. The rates were reasonable too. The front desk were also very nice and friendly. I would def recomment this hotel, especially if your a family with a budget.

  • Liked — the cleanliness of the facility
  • Disliked — needs a little updating
  • Tips/Secrets — def stay here
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sbell77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2006

I booked my room on Oct 11, 2006 for a jacuzzi suite. When I got to the hotel we were early so we could'nt check in, we walked to the Falls and when we came back to the hotel we went to our room we did not have our jacuzzi suite and they told me that i only booked a king size bed and there where no changes in my room. I stated that I booked the room and the quote the rep gave me they argue up and down with me. The manager Jay called the rep in reservation they were rude and did not want to solve the promblem. So they told me to call Monday and it took a week for them to resolve the promblem and they could not help me because they had me for a king size bed. The hotel was dirty, the heat didn't work for an hour I called the front desk for a blanket (nevered recieved it). The hotel did not look nothin like the pictures, the bed had blood stains on it. I would not recommend a dog to stay there.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything dirty hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — do not stay at the howard johnson
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank powerrangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Niagara Falls hotels

Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2006

The rooms were dirty,the bedding shabby and the carpets very worn. Needs major remodeling before recommending this to anyone.

  • Disliked — It was super shabby
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank servantgirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2006

Just Terrible this place smells bad. The rooms are very dust and really old. I paid 100 bucks, this hotel did not expect return customers.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — do not stay here
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank ptdealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2006

Stayed at the Howard Johnson's for an overnight to show foreign guests Niagara Falls. The location is the best part, very convenient to the falls.
Check-in was quick. Elevator was very small. Rooms were fairly large and clean, but the beds were only adequate. Indoor pool was very nice with a good deep end, very unusual for a hotel pool. There was a decent continental breakfast served, but the breakfast room was overcrowded.
Dining prices in the area were shockingly high. The Denny's at the Days Inn across the street was about 60% higher than most other Denny's.

  • Liked — The location close to the falls
  • Disliked — Dining in the area was limited and expensive
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat before you get there and after you leave
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tlwcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2006

We stayed there for two nights, even decided to pay much more for the jacuzzi room. Whoever was using jacuzzi or shower next door made our stay a nightmare. Bed uncomfortable, TERRIBLE noise when people take showers or using the steam at 3 am or 7 am. Towels in the bathroom forgotten on the hook from previous guest were still there when we left. Nightmare. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KitKat789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJ139, owner at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review, March 12, 2008
Thank you for letting us know where we can improve. Our staff and property will respond and make your stay right but we have to be notified during your stay.

If we are in the wrong we will adjust your rate.

Satisfaction is our goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#11 of 51 in Niagara Falls
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
5.5 mi away
Best Western Summit Inn
Best Western Summit Inn
#7 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
#30 of 51 in Niagara Falls
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Property: Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Address: 454 Main St, Niagara Falls, NY 14301-1526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Affordable comfort in the heart of Niagara Falls. Niagara's Howard Johnson - Closest to the Falls and Casino. We are just a short stroll to the Famous Falls, Maid of the Mist, and Cave of the Winds - all one & 1/2 blocks from the hotel! The Seneca Casino is just a three block walk80 spacious rooms, including luxurious jacuzzi rooms, all with free wireless internet access. Whether you crave adventure, sightseeing, gaming, romance, shopping, hiking, or fishing Howard Johnson Hotel can accommodate you. An Eco-friendly property. Hotel Highlights: Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all rooms and on site Packages available (click package tab above), King Jacuzzi rooms, Smoking rooms, Indoor heated pool/sauna, In-Room Safes, Free Parking, Helicopter Tours and Sightseeing Tours On-Site, Retro Game Room, Handicapped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Closest To The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing