We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For The Price Good Place to Stay For A Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
A TripAdvisor Member
Rotterdam, New York
21
Reviewed January 17, 2006

This Hotel is alittle dated, BUT, it was clean, the staff friendly and it is within walking distance to almost everthing on U.S. side which saved us time and money looking for a place to park the car. The room rates were very family friendly and the continental breakfast was very, very adequate for children and adults alike.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2005

I recently spent some time in Niagara on business and chose this hotel because I've had good luck with Ho-Jo's in the past.

I wasn't on vacation so I didn't go for a higher end hotel. The price was ok but the hotel should renovate soon. My room was mostly clean and the hotel wasn't in the nicest area.

A little bit of TLC would help this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nathrbrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mogadore, Ohio
13
Reviewed October 7, 2005

My expectations were not high -- I only wanted a clean room close to the falls. I did not expect a 5 star hotel. I also did not expect a pool of dried urine behind the toilet lid. I about lost my lunch. There was also hair all over the bathroom floor and gobs of dust coming out of the hair dryer. The best thing I can say is the hotel staff was pleasant and the location was great. I was disappointed with the U.S. side - it was very rundown. My advice is to stay on the Canadian side. It was much cleaner and well maintained.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2005

This hotel is older, but was clean and the room spacious. It was what I expected for the price. We paid a total of $125 + tax for 2 nights (Thursday and Friday). The location was very convenient. We walked everywhere. I know there are nicer places in the area, but the price was a lot more. For a place to sleep you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlmellencamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2005

In no way shape or form were we expecting a luxurious hotel experience by staying at the HoJo's, but it definitely shows it's age and is very dirty. It was a cheap hotel, I'll give it that much, but spend a few extra dollars and stay somewhere else....like Canada!
Besides the hotel, the area sucked. It was a dirty run down town with no place to get any decent food.
If I had to pick anything good about it - it was close to the falls and the people were generally friendly. That's it.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank lolabrigida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pittsburgh
12
Reviewed July 16, 2005

I don't understand where all these good reviews come from.... The good thing about the place is that it was 2 blocks from the falls and the casino, also the staff was very nice and welcoming.... But just about every hotel up there is close also...The only reason why we choose this hotel was because they accepted pets and we took our dog.....
Other than that there was hair on the bathroom floor (not just 1), dead bugs on the window, it needs a makeover----period!!!! Stains all over the floor and not to mention I don't think the air conditioning worked over 85 degrees.... We were very uncomfortable sleeping at night..... Looking back I wish we would have stayed on the canadian side (much more to do)..... Just spend the extra money to stay at a nicer place....

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2005

The hotel is nice and clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. My husband and I took the Bedore Tours, which is located at this hotel. I had booked the tour beforehand online and saved some money. The tour was fun, interesting, and well worth the money (Thanks, Brady!). By booking my stay online ahead of time, I locked into a great rate. Everything you need is close by. My husband and I really enjoyed our vacation at Niagara Falls. For a nice, economical place to saty, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Venuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#10 of 51 in Niagara Falls
682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
#11 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#5 of 51 in Niagara Falls
2,189 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Summit Inn
Best Western Summit Inn
#8 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Address: 454 Main St, Niagara Falls, NY 14301-1526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $64 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Affordable comfort in the heart of Niagara Falls. Niagara's Howard Johnson - Closest to the Falls and Casino. We are just a short stroll to the Famous Falls, Maid of the Mist, and Cave of the Winds - all one & 1/2 blocks from the hotel! The Seneca Casino is just a three block walk80 spacious rooms, including luxurious jacuzzi rooms, all with free wireless internet access. Whether you crave adventure, sightseeing, gaming, romance, shopping, hiking, or fishing Howard Johnson Hotel can accommodate you. An Eco-friendly property. Hotel Highlights: Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all rooms and on site Packages available (click package tab above), King Jacuzzi rooms, Smoking rooms, Indoor heated pool/sauna, In-Room Safes, Free Parking, Helicopter Tours and Sightseeing Tours On-Site, Retro Game Room, Handicapped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Closest To The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing