We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed October 23, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,080)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

I had gone online to look for a hotel for the three-day weekend. HO-JO came up.
The fact that you are five minutes from the boarder was a great help.
We enjoyed the pool, clean, neat, etc.
We enjoyed the breakfast. Food was fine,space for seating limited.
The room was adequite, yet a bit out dated.
We had a great adjoining room ( 2 beds in each room). This was helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review of our hotel online. I am very happy you found the Howard Johnson at 454 Main Street Niagara Falls, NY to have a great location, clean, neat pool, adequate rooms and a fine breakfast. We do offer additional seating in the lobby for our free continental breakfast. Located just minutes from the falls and all major attractions make the Howard Johnson and ideal destination. Thanks for your comments. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The only redeeming thing about this hotel was the location next to the State Park. The place is sadly in need of much repair. The stairwell smelled like an old age home. The pool was small and way too crowded when we were there. The breakfast was really bad, and the breakfast room was hot, small and crowded. Worst of all, the man at the tourist desk was not interested in helping us with directions on what to see once we told him we did not want to buy a tour. He was really quite curt, unfriendly and totally unhelpful. We mentioned this to him before leaving. We would never come back here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel online. I am sorry you had a negative experience while staying with us. We do have additional seating in the lobby for our free continental breakfast. The tour attendant mentioned does not work for our company. We have notified the owner of the tour company about his demeanor. The staff at Howard Johnson is always eager to help our guests get the most out of their stay by providing information about the falls and surrounding area. It is our goal to ensure all guests are happy. Your concerns were discussed with housekeeping, maintenance and ownership. Thanks again for your comments as they help us do a better job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Dawne J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

It is not like the Marriott, but it is in a good location and the price is right, we stayed for one night and found everything satisfactory. It is easy to find the shopping areas from there and it is almost next to the casino

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacmanhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for writing a review online regarding your stay at our property in Niagara Falls. I am very happy you found everything satisfactory at the Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls, NY. I am also glad you took advantage of our location. The Howard Johnson at 454 Main St. in Niagara Falls, NY is located within walking distance to the falls and all major attractions, including the Casino. Thanks again for your comments as they help us do a better job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I read many reviews before booking my stay that this hotel. I was aware that this location was a bit outdated and in need of some TLC. I choose it anyway because it would be close to the Falls and points of interest and the price was very low compared to other places in the area. I didn't intend to stay in the room for too long, only to sleep, shower etc. The staff was pleasant and informative. The breakfast area was very small and crowded at times. They had simple offerings such as cereal, pastries, toast, juice and coffee. It was just enough to get us going. They had plenty of FREE parking. The room itself was okay. The bed was very uncomfortable. We had difficulty moving in the mornings, which is not usually the case. The refrigerator was frozen solid and not operating properly. We attempted to put the heater on but the burning smell was so overwhelming and disgusting in the first few seconds that we immediately turned it off. Overall I rated the hotel as poor although it did have some points that may have been average in quality. I did get what I paid for. Free parking, a good location, friendly staff and old or outdated bedding and appliances. All in all I enjoyed my visit to Niagara Falls in lieu of a couple of rough nights sleep and the uncomfortable aroma in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel online. I am glad you found the staff friendly and the location good at the Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls, NY. I'm also happy you enjoyed our free parking. The maintenance department has been made aware of your concerns and they will be addressed. Thanks for your comments as they help us improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Clinton N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#10 of 52 in Niagara Falls
743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 52 in Niagara Falls
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge at the Falls North
Econo Lodge at the Falls North
#22 of 52 in Niagara Falls
308 reviews
4.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
#7 of 52 in Niagara Falls
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Address: 454 Main St, Niagara Falls, NY 14301-1526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $55 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Affordable comfort in the heart of Niagara Falls. Niagara's Howard Johnson - Closest to the Falls and Casino. We are just a short stroll to the Famous Falls, Maid of the Mist, and Cave of the Winds - all one & 1/2 blocks from the hotel! The Seneca Casino is just a three block walk80 spacious rooms, including luxurious jacuzzi rooms, all with free wireless internet access. Whether you crave adventure, sightseeing, gaming, romance, shopping, hiking, or fishing Howard Johnson Hotel can accommodate you. An Eco-friendly property. Hotel Highlights: Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all rooms and on site Packages available (click package tab above), King Jacuzzi rooms, Smoking rooms, Indoor heated pool/sauna, In-Room Safes, Free Parking, Helicopter Tours and Sightseeing Tours On-Site, Retro Game Room, Handicapped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Closest To The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing