We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    187
    234
    139
    131
See reviews for
397
229
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirksey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our room, although efficient, convenient, and clean, was/is in need of being updated. We stayed for two days/nights. We were perplexed as to why the room was not cleaned, coffee re-supplied, and why towels, soap and other bath items were not re-supplied. As far as the room itself, we have no major complaints.. ideal location to the falls, and other attractions made our stay at HoJo very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review of our hotel online. I am very happy you found the Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls, NY to have efficient, convenient and clean rooms. I am also glad you found our proximity to the falls and major attractions a bonus. Our housekeeping staff cleans and resupplies all rooms on a daily basis unless the guest requests no service. I am sorry your room was not resupplied with fresh towels and amenities. I spoke with the head housekeeper to ensure this does not happen in the future. I am glad you had a good stay with us and will direct your comments to ownership. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

After reading several reviews I had mixed feelings about staying here. We arrived early and were checked right in. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and decent though dated. We were pleased with the overall experience and would gladly stay there again. Staff was daily updating and cleaning. It is clear the staff cares about the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lia677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel online. I am very happy you found the Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls, NY to have clean, spacious rooms, a very friendly staff and be a good value. The staff at the Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls, NY does care and work hard every day to ensure all our guests leave happy. Thanks again for your comments. I will share them with the staff We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We just returned from staying at this hotel for a night. I'll start with the good. Room was spacious and clean. Had a refrig., microwave, coffee maker, all clean. Amenities were fine. Location was good. Our room was on the 4th floor, back of building with a view of the park. Much nicer than a view of the gas station across the road. Pool looked ok, but we didn't use it. There was a small game room. The young lady who checked us in was nice enough. Check in was quick.

Now the bad. Older, dated hotel. Back to the good, room was clean. At night there was music blasting out the building, maybe the game room or pool? i don't know but I wouldn't have wanted a room by the source. At the entrance way to the hotel were luggage carts, with disgusting looking carpet on them. I would not have wanted to use them. Now the worse, the breakfast included. Room was tiny. Very disappointing choices. Danish pastries, cereal, and a loaf of bread sitting there for toast that everyone had been putting their hands in. We passed on that. Also oranges and apples. Only juice was apple. Orange juice delivery man didn't show up they said. That's it. When we checked in there was a man sitting at a desk to sell tour packages, and the clerk said, "This is Joe. He's going to help you book your tour." I thought, "No he's not, we already bought the discovery package." We just walked on past him.

For one night it was fine. We were in the room very little time anyway. Good location, clean room, pathetic breakfast. That sums it up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel online. I am glad you found the Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls, NY to have spacious and clean rooms with nice amenities. I am also happy you took advantage of our location. The Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls proximity to the falls and all major attractions make us a great destination. We do offer additional seating in the lobby for our free continental breakfast. I have spoken to the maintenance engineer and owner regarding your concerns. They will be addressed. Thanks for your comments as they help us do a better job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at this Howard Johnson based on the reviews and proximaty to the falls. What a huge disappointment. As stated by another reviewer, the room and lobby are in desparate need of refurbishing. One of the chairs in the room has a horrible stain on it. The windows were filthy. The bathtub needed a good scrubing with a strong cleanser, and the waste water drain was yanked out. Towels were small and like sandpaper as was the bathroom paper. Do Not Use the lobby computer as the keyboard was encrusted with dirt and dust! The "continental breakfast room" is smaller that my guest room closet. Will not ever stay at another HoJo again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. I have spoken to housekeeping and maintenance regarding the condition of your room to ensure windows and tubs are cleaned on a regular basis. We just finished upgrading our lobby (9/25/13) with new furniture and a different color scheme for a warmer more inviting atmosphere. We do have additional seating in the lobby for our free continental breakfast and serve fresh coffee all day. Thanks again for your comments and we hope you consider giving us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Niagara Falls hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#35 of 52 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 stars 1,851 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#6 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 822 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
#17 of 52 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 669 reviews
4.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls
0.3 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Property: Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Address: 454 Main St, Niagara Falls, NY 14301-1526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Affordable comfort in the heart of Niagara Falls. Niagara's Howard Johnson - Closest to the Falls and Casino. We are just a short stroll to the Famous Falls, Maid of the Mist, and Cave of the Winds - all one & 1/2 blocks from the hotel! The Seneca Casino is just a three block walk80 spacious rooms, including luxurious jacuzzi rooms, all with free wireless internet access. Whether you crave adventure, sightseeing, gaming, romance, shopping, hiking, or fishing Howard Johnson Hotel can accommodate you. An Eco-friendly property. Hotel Highlights: Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all rooms and on site Packages available (click package tab above), King Jacuzzi rooms, Smoking rooms, Indoor heated pool/sauna, In-Room Safes, Free Parking, Helicopter Tours and Sightseeing Tours On-Site, Retro Game Room, Handicapped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Closest To The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing