We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Ranked #39 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed August 23, 2013

You would think by the name that this is right by the falls. Well it is not. Not too bad of a walk, probably about a mile. The place is really old and has not been updated much. One of the oldest hotels I have ever stayed at. The breakfast was pretty bad. Cereal that was stale, milk, juice, weak coffee and an assortment of muffin/pastries. I guess the price was reasonable and we loved Niagara.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marybinstlouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thanks for taking the time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel on tripadvisor.
I am sorry you had a negative experience while staying with us. I have spoken with the general manager regarding your concerns. Our free continental breakfast items are restocked on a daily basis to ensure freshness. Thanks again for your comments. They help us do a better job serving our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Shamsh.mr K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojo00139, Owner at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojo00139, Owner at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Although this hotel is dated the size of the rooms and pool make up for it. The rooms were clean and large. The pool was in a huge room and well taken care of. We were close to the attractions. We parked our car and didn't get back in till we left. Walking was a great way to see everything. If I get a chance I would return thank you to the wonderful staff

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, Owner at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review of our hotel. i am thrilled you found the Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls, NY to have spacious , clean rooms with comfortable beds. I’m glad you enjoyed the large pool area at the Howard Johnson and found it well maintained. Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to your nest visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rae W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is a bit tired and in need of updating, our bathroom had seen better days as the shower didnt work properly but was usable and the carpet near the aircon unit was soaking wet which meant there was a funny smell in the room. The tv kept losing its signal. However the staff we spoke to when we checked out were keen to know if we had any problems and seemed concerned that we hadn't said anything sooner. The breakfast was adequate and our room was comfy and clean. It is literally five minutes walk to the US falls and you can be walking over the bridge to Canada within 5 minutes too. We used it as a base only and even though we only stayed one night we were able to leave our car there for the second day too. Ideal if you only want somewhere to rest your head after a busy day sightseeing.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel in Niagara Falls, NY. I am happy you found the Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls to have a friendly, helpful staff and our location to the falls and all major attractions a bonus. Thanks again for your comments. Your concerns will be addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#10 of 52 in Niagara Falls
800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#4 of 52 in Niagara Falls
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge at the Falls North
Econo Lodge at the Falls North
#23 of 52 in Niagara Falls
309 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Summit Inn
Best Western Summit Inn
#8 of 52 in Niagara Falls
1,167 reviews
4.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Address: 454 Main St, Niagara Falls, NY 14301-1526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $55 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Affordable comfort in the heart of Niagara Falls. Niagara's Howard Johnson - Closest to the Falls and Casino. We are just a short stroll to the Famous Falls, Maid of the Mist, and Cave of the Winds - all one & 1/2 blocks from the hotel! The Seneca Casino is just a three block walk80 spacious rooms, including luxurious jacuzzi rooms, all with free wireless internet access. Whether you crave adventure, sightseeing, gaming, romance, shopping, hiking, or fishing Howard Johnson Hotel can accommodate you. An Eco-friendly property. Hotel Highlights: Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all rooms and on site Packages available (click package tab above), King Jacuzzi rooms, Smoking rooms, Indoor heated pool/sauna, In-Room Safes, Free Parking, Helicopter Tours and Sightseeing Tours On-Site, Retro Game Room, Handicapped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Closest To The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing