We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“ok, but wouldn't stay if I didn't have a pet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    187
    234
    137
    126
See reviews for
390
229
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for 1 night when visiting the Falls. The location was great and we were able to walk across the Rainbow Bridge from here quite easily. We were only in our room to sleep and that was ok. My friends said their beds were too hard but I guess that is personal preference. I had the rollaway bed and unfortunately the mattress was too thin so could feel the inner springs digging into my back. To solve that I put the mattress on the floor and did away with the rollaway springs and that did the job. The hotel was clean enough, the staff were friendly and accommodating, and for the price it was more than adequate. I am fairly easily pleased though s if you are fussy it may not exactly work for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sovereign_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were close to shopping and the casino, staff was friendly and very helpful answering questions and giving us excellent directions to our destinations.
I would gladly stay again when back in Buffalo, or refer to others I know are going down to Buffalo

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Sherry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Needs upgrade, not worth the price...4 and 5 star hotels are down the street for only a little bit more...the beds are horrible, my back is killing me...it was clean but rooms seemed worn out. There was a fire alarm at 1am and it was complete chaos, nothing was done right, people got hurt and had interrupted sleep and front desk wouldn't call fire dept but couldn't explain why the alarm went off. So that scared the guests and us. Kinda a dramatic uncomfortable stay. But Clean and location is nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelsnob5812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Niagara Falls hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

hotel is not the closest to the falls, more like furthest from the falls its a old hotel that needs alot of updating , filthy i mean filthy carpet,my 2yr had no shoes on in room on carpet and her soles of her feet were black, bathroom was very clean but had alot of mold on tiles in shower ,one good thing was checked for bed bugs in my particular room .. thank god it was bed bug free..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#35 of 52 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 stars 1,842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#6 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
#17 of 52 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 669 reviews
4.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls
0.3 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Property: Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Address: 454 Main Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Affordable comfort in the heart of Niagara Falls. Niagara's Howard Johnson - Closest to the Falls and Casino. We are just a short stroll to the Famous Falls, Maid of the Mist, and Cave of the Winds - all one & 1/2 blocks from the hotel! The Seneca Casino is just a three block walk80 spacious rooms, including luxurious jacuzzi rooms, all with free wireless internet access. Whether you crave adventure, sightseeing, gaming, romance, shopping, hiking, or fishing Howard Johnson Hotel can accommodate you. An Eco-friendly property. Hotel Highlights: Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all rooms and on site Packages available (click package tab above), King Jacuzzi rooms, Smoking rooms, Indoor heated pool/sauna, In-Room Safes, Free Parking, Helicopter Tours and Sightseeing Tours On-Site, Retro Game Room, Handicapped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Closest To The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing