We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean and nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our family really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were big and clean. The children enjoyed the pool. I would stay there again without a question.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, Owner at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our Howard Johnson Hotel in Niagara Falls, NY.
I am glad you found our rooms very big and clean. The indoor heated pool at the Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls, NY coupled with our proximity to the falls makes us an ideal family destination. We look forward to your next visit to the Niagara region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,089)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

828 - 834 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

The building is old and needed a renovation- That was the first thought that crossed my mind when my car stopped at the parking. Yes, it is old and the reception-cum-lobby area was a small one, just enough for 'one guest at a time' type of service. However, I was pleasantly surprised at the Check-in counter as they upgraded my room at no additional cost. The gentleman at the counter was friendly and warm.
The room was spacious and good. The bathroom was small but usable. Overall, got a good sleep after a long journey. The room isn't a fancy but good for the price.
The biggest advantage of the property is its location- just a block away from the Niagra Falls. Apart, neither there's much to expect, nor much to receive from this property. The breakfast is terrible !! And the check-out was the worst ever experience- we were late by 45 minutes and the lady at the reception behaved very rudely for this. I don't think any guest deserves this.
Am not sure if I would stay there again but if its a matter of few hours of sleep, this is worth the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANIRMITR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel in Niagara Falls. NY. I am glad you found our location and spacious rooms a bonus. I will certainly talk to the front desk regarding your check out experience. Thanks again for your comments a sthey help us do a better job serving our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed there for a day. The room was clean with good view. The location of the hotel is excellent, very close by to the falls. It actually saved lot of our time since we were on a very short trip. The hotel staff I found was a bit laid back. If you want to have breakfast on the house, you got to go there early or be satisfied with few muffins! We were lucky to get a parking. Actually one gets so amazed with experience of Niagara that this average hotel escapes any critical attention.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debanuj68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, Owner at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on trip advisor. I am happy you found your room at the Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls, NY clean and our location excellent. I'm glad you were able to walk to all the major attractions and took advantage of our free continental breakfast. Thanks again, we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojo00139, Owner at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Purchased prepaid from Internet, or we would have stayed someplace else. I'm not against old, some old places have 'class', but not this one, it's just old. Our non smoking room reeked of smoke. The beds were uncomfortable, room wasn't too clean. We all noticed there was a pink sliver of soap stuck on the floor near a wall in the bathroom when we got there, The soap bars they give you are white... Who knows how long that's been there, or how long it will stay there! Gross! As our son was in the hall talking on his phone he said he witnessed what looked to be a drug deal take place. Just a couple doors down and across the hall. Didn't dare say anything for fear of retaliation. Didn't use the pool, it was closed whenever we were there. Not much variety for breakfast, but it would have been nice to have what was offered replenished. Most everything was gone and we just grabbed a snack then ate an early lunch. All in all we wouldn't stay here again or recommend it to others. There seemed to quite a few right close that looked much better.

Room Tip: Look into rooms at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, Owner at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hote on tripadvisorl. I am sorry you had a negative experience. I have spoken to housekeeping and maintenance supervisors regarding your concerns. Our pool is open from 4pm - 10pm Sunday -Friday from Labor Day- June 21(10AM-10PM Saturday and Sunday). The pool is open from 10 AM- 10PM June 22- Labor Day, seven days/ week. Thanks for your comments as they help us do a better job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I travel a bit, for both business and pleasure, but this meets the worst hotel stay award by a mile! Very small parking lot so get there early to get a spot. The doors into the hotel are not automated so it is difficult to even get into the lobby area, and no one helps you attempt to navigate the two doors to get inside. Then there is an old (small) elevator to serve five floors of rooms, so you spend your life waiting unless you can do the stairs. The carpets are old and dirty, and the hotel looks like it hasn't had an update since the 70's or 80's. Same in the room. Couldn't close the drapes all the way and our room was facing the main drag so it is not easy to sleep. Two of the pillow cases on the bed were soiled so I removed them. The next day the maid took the dirty pillowcases, but didn't put new ones on the bare pillows. Even though we stayed two nights we only got soap, shampoo and lotion the first night, and not even conditioner. The TV kept going to static every 30 seconds so you couldn't watch it. The woman on the desk tried to fix it but couldn't so she said it would have to wait until the next day when there would be a maintenance man on duty. (And the next day when we came back from the Falls he had obviously been there because we only had a few channels on the tv. He had evidently reset the remote for only strong channels and I think I had ABC, TNT and some sports channels so I could not even watch network tv unless it was ABC!) I asked for another room and was told only smoking rooms were available, which I couldn't take because of my asthma. And really? I didn't know any hotels still had smoking rooms anywhere other than Vegas!

The pool didn't open until 4PM, and was only open a few hours. There is a guard on duty but he has headphones on while he listens to music and is busy looking at his phone or his book so you do need to do your own guarding. You can't swim laps because there is a rope going across the width of the pool, and it is only about a foot from the end of the stairs and it is 4ft deep there so why bother! One plus is the water was warm but that is the only plus.

Breakfast was laughable. Orange juice, apple juice, milk in a pitcher so no idea if whole skim or 2%, tea bags, coffee that's not marked regular or decaf, bread (no bagels or English muffins), instant oatmeal, three or four kinds of cold cereal, and some mini Danish and muffins. That is it! Maybe they should just call it a snack until you go somewhere for breakfast?

Overall, a pretty darn horrible hotel in major need of updating and upgrades. Was very sorry I had purchased it prepaid on the Internet because I could have at least gone elsewhere the second night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23wearytraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor regarding your stay at our hotel.
I am sorry your stay was less than satisfying. I have spoken to the housekeeping and maintenance supervisors regarding your comments. In addition the breakfast attendant was reminded to replenish the continental breakfast as needed. Next time book directly with the hotel to ensure you get the room you desire. Thank you for your comments as they help us serve our guests better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojo00139, Owner at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#10 of 52 in Niagara Falls
770 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 52 in Niagara Falls
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge at the Falls North
Econo Lodge at the Falls North
#22 of 52 in Niagara Falls
309 reviews
4.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls
0.3 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#6 of 52 in Niagara Falls
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Address: 454 Main St, Niagara Falls, NY 14301-1526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $49 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Affordable comfort in the heart of Niagara Falls. Niagara's Howard Johnson - Closest to the Falls and Casino. We are just a short stroll to the Famous Falls, Maid of the Mist, and Cave of the Winds - all one & 1/2 blocks from the hotel! The Seneca Casino is just a three block walk80 spacious rooms, including luxurious jacuzzi rooms, all with free wireless internet access. Whether you crave adventure, sightseeing, gaming, romance, shopping, hiking, or fishing Howard Johnson Hotel can accommodate you. An Eco-friendly property. Hotel Highlights: Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all rooms and on site Packages available (click package tab above), King Jacuzzi rooms, Smoking rooms, Indoor heated pool/sauna, In-Room Safes, Free Parking, Helicopter Tours and Sightseeing Tours On-Site, Retro Game Room, Handicapped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Closest To The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing