We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything looks good on the average except ....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   454 Main Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. It was a great value and the accommodations were very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful with recommendations. Very close to walk to everything which is nice since you have to pay to park in any of the other public lots ($5-$10). Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the backside so we didn't hear any traffic. Had a king size with whirlpool tub that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suseaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of our Howard Johnson Hotel in Niagara Falls, NY. We are glad your experience was a happy one. Our staff strives to provide our guests with the
best possible service in a friendly fashion. Our proximity to Niagara Falls and all the major attractions including The Seneca Niagara Casino make The Howard Johnson Hotel in Niagara Falls, NY an ideal choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Visited September 2011. Bedroom was okay, but the corridor had a weird smell. Everything looked old and dingy. There was only one elevator, so we had to wait every time to use it. Breakfast area is a very small room. It could not accommodate more than 3 to 4 families at once. The only plus is that it is close to the falls. Would not recommend to women traveling alone. Overall below expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Srbk2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had to go somewhere else in the middle of the night.
Our mattress was infested by bedbugs and literally they had eaten us alive!
I've got 15 bites all over my arms and behind my neck, my girlfriend on the shoulder!
Is it that enough?
Good luck!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank giovanni a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to post a review of The Howard Johnson Hotel on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry you had a negative experience and have taken the necessary steps to ensure future guests have a comfortable stay at our Hotel. Howard Johnson Hotel in Niagara Falls, NY takes this matter very seriously and has a professional company that responds quickly and efficiently. The company also inspects the Hotel on a regular basis. Thanks again for posting a reply

Sincerely,
Steve
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Niagara Falls hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This stay was for my daughter & husband and talking to her everything was fine..Loved the pool, nearnest of the falls, and the casino.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#3 of 53 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#6 of 53 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
#9 of 53 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
#4 of 53 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
4.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
#5 of 53 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Address: 454 Main Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Affordable comfort in the heart of Niagara Falls. Niagara's Howard Johnson - Closest to the Falls and Casino. We are just a short stroll to the Famous Falls, Maid of the Mist, and Cave of the Winds - all one & 1/2 blocks from the hotel! The Seneca Casino is just a three block walk80 spacious rooms, including luxurious jacuzzi rooms, all with free wireless internet access. Whether you crave adventure, sightseeing, gaming, romance, shopping, hiking, or fishing Howard Johnson Hotel can accommodate you. An Eco-friendly property. Hotel Highlights: Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all rooms and on site Packages available (click package tab above), King Jacuzzi rooms, Smoking rooms, Indoor heated pool/sauna, In-Room Safes, Free Parking, Helicopter Tours and Sightseeing Tours On-Site, Retro Game Room, Handicapped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Closest To The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing