We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Reviewed October 22, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed for 2 days with my mom and 3 kids (ages 3,4,5). The hotel was in a good location, clean, had a nice pool, and was a good value. And Thelma who ran the morning breakfast was WONDERFUL. HOWEVER the 2nd day we were there when we arrived back at the hotel a manager asked if I rented room 501, and I said no I rented room 503. He then questioned me a SECOND time if we had 2 rooms rented out, 501 and 502, and I told him again I was in room 503 and had only 1 room. He then proceeded to tell me their had been a complaint that that children in rooms 501 and 502 were knocking on walls and laughing. So just because I walked in with 3 small children you assume it was us? We did not arrive until 8pm Fri night, swam until 10, had pizza, and my kids fell asleep. Sat we left the hotel and were gone all day until 8 at night. I explained all of this to him, even though I had already told him that was'nt our rooms. He was very short with me and said "just letting you know" Like I'm the only one with kids in the hotel! The hotel walls are paper thin. We could hear shower doors shutting from the room beside us, and the hotel allows dogs, and there were dogs barking all night, both nights. So I do not know why we were targeted. I travel with the kids all the time, stayed at a Hyatt Regency for 12 DAYS in Disney in April, and have never had an issue with my kids, or been treated so rudely. Do not advertise yourself as a family hotel if you do not want kids there, would never ever return to this hotel, or any Hojo for that matter, sticking to Hyatts!

Room Tip: Not family friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank You for taking the time to post a review about our Howard Johnson Hotel in Niagara Falls, NY. Thelma is a great asset to our company; displaying kindness and truely trying to make each guest feel welcome and happy. She has been with us for over 45 years. We are a family friendly hotel and I am very sorry we made you feel different. The front desk manager on duty did not handled the situation well. Any noise complaint should be verified before assuming what room the noise comes from. The front desk should then call the room and request they respect our other guests and quiet down. I am sorry the front desk manager made you feel uncomfortable. I will speak with them and remind them we are a family friendly hotel and each guest should be treated with kindness. We should never assume a guest is
creating a disturbance without verification. Thank You for your comments as they help us serve you better. It is my sincere hope you will give us another chance in the future. I can be reached at 1-800-282-5261 and will personally handle your request. Howard Johnson has a rich history of being known as a family friendly destination home away from home. We will do our best to continue the tradition. Thank You
Steve /GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank terri83
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank MANNIX P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We read reviews before we stayed here and there were alot of negative things. The hotel was great. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean (dated but clean), the breakfast room was small but you always have the option of taking it back to your room. Decent pool. For the price we paid it was well worth the value. We def were not expecting a 5star hotel for this price. Would def return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#10 of 52 in Niagara Falls
724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 52 in Niagara Falls
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge at the Falls North
Econo Lodge at the Falls North
#22 of 52 in Niagara Falls
307 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Summit Inn
Best Western Summit Inn
#8 of 52 in Niagara Falls
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Address: 454 Main St, Niagara Falls, NY 14301-1526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $58 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Affordable comfort in the heart of Niagara Falls. Niagara's Howard Johnson - Closest to the Falls and Casino. We are just a short stroll to the Famous Falls, Maid of the Mist, and Cave of the Winds - all one & 1/2 blocks from the hotel! The Seneca Casino is just a three block walk80 spacious rooms, including luxurious jacuzzi rooms, all with free wireless internet access. Whether you crave adventure, sightseeing, gaming, romance, shopping, hiking, or fishing Howard Johnson Hotel can accommodate you. An Eco-friendly property. Hotel Highlights: Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all rooms and on site Packages available (click package tab above), King Jacuzzi rooms, Smoking rooms, Indoor heated pool/sauna, In-Room Safes, Free Parking, Helicopter Tours and Sightseeing Tours On-Site, Retro Game Room, Handicapped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Closest To The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing