We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but Underimpresssed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Clean, but Underimpresssed”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stay at the Holiday Inn chain quite a bit and have always been satisfied. The initial impression - front desk staff were nice, but the person trying to sell tours was aggressive and irritating. I was a bit offended by his tactics with a father/daughter to buy tour tickets from him. After we checked in he quickly came to us and gave us a brochure so we were aware of the tours from his company. I ignored and kept moving. No need to buy tickets at hotels...plenty of options closer to the falls...but that is personal preference (we don't like tours/tour packages). The room was clean...first time in one with the laminate wood floors. Didn't give a comforting feel - but did upgrade the older hotel. Pool area clean and busy. Very short walk to the Niagara Falls, restaurants and essentially was a quiet area where it was located. Everyone said to stay on the Canada side, but in the end we were pleased with this hotel location as the volume of people was less and it was much more relaxing to walk around the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigger49_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Tigger49_13,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    239
    209
    95
    77
See reviews for
341
207
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great hotel, staff was friendly and helpful. They sell tours in the front lobby which was nice. We got picked up directly at the hotel for our tour with grayline tour company. Pool was nice but no hot tub. Room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Great time overall. Price was average for the area.

Room Tip: Grayline tours was nice but it's much cheaper to do everything on your own. Also cheaper to call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WvTravelerBeckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver, ma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Starting with the good, Customer service from the front desk and the Peppermill Resturant. THe food was okay to good. Buffet breakfast was good and fresh went twice and the dinner was good would just go for the food. The Bad everything was bad about the room and the hotel itself. Room smelled bad, floor was peeling, sheet had stains had to call twice before the came to changed. Threaten to leave or demanded my money back. instead the gave me 2 free breakfast for my family and 1 free dinner for my family. Will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not request a parking lot view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Ray B, thank you for your honest feedback and for taking the time to post your comments on our hotel. It is great to know you appreciated our customer service and restaurant. We are truly sorry you found our hotel and the cleanliness of the room you received less than satisfactory. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with exceptional service. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Gayle Nowak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Niagara Falls hotels

Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you want to be close to the falls, I suppose the WHOPPING HUGE rate is worth it. Breakfast is also very expensive and included a long wait to be seated. The shower in our bathroom was horrible. No carpet in the room made it feel more like a hospital than a hotel. I understand their reasoning for the hardwood, but it was just odd.

The good: hotel was quiet and beds were comfortable. Paid parking was especially nice, since all lots in this city fill quickly.

You're paying for the location, and that is all. As long as you know that going into the deal, then you shouldn't be too upset. But don't expect anything better than normal. Heck, don't expect normal -- most Holiday Inns are better than this one, even the Express ones.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Away-in-Eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Away In Erie, thank you for your considerate review. We are delighted to know you liked our location and found the free parking to be accommodating for your travels. I apologize for any inconvenience you experience while you were at our hotel. We rely on you our guests to let us know how we are doing and how to better meet your needs. Please be assured that all comments are acted upon and are used to improve the products and service we provide to our guests. Thank you again for your feedback, Sincerely, Gayle Nowak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I am very critical of customer service, but i will give credit were it is due. They treat you very well. Customer service was phenomenal, Location was great for walking anywhere. Would definitely stay again on our next stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treemoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper Pike, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed over at this hotel on a Friday night. Party of 4 adults and 2 kids. The hotel staff was smart enough to give us two adjoining rooms w/o we requesting it. The hotel has ample parking and nice lobby. We had few welcome gifts waiting for us due to Priority status, we also got extended check out till 2 pm.

The Good: Clean rooms, trendy decor, excellent buffet breakfast(addl charge), short walk to all attractions. Kids had activities in the evening.

Not so good: Grump elevator, had to visit front desk thrice to get key card reset.

This hotel has a premium price which is worth if you value comfort over budget.

Room Tip: Ask for even numbered rooms that face the falls. The goat island is just a short walk away, it has b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SundRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
533 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed at the Niagara Falls Holiday Inn for 1 night last week with my wife. Have stayed at this Holiday Inn multiple times before and have always been pleased with the hotel. On this trip like the others, the room was clean and spacious, though the bathroom was a little bit small I must admit. The bed was also very comfortable and we slept well. The front desk and tourist desk service was friendly and efficient, and we had no issues during our stay. Parking is free and there are alot of spaces right outside the hotel, which isn't the case in all the hotels in Niagara on the US side. The location of the hotel is also excellent, as it is about a 5 minute walk to the falls one way and a 5 minute walk to the Seneca Niagara Casino the other way. My wife and I also went to the Niagara Falls Aquarium, which we drove to but would be about a 15 minute walk. My only complaint about this hotel is I feel for the price, free breakfast should be included. This is especially due to the fact that there are not many breakfast places around the hotel, if any. Other than that, my wife and I had a pleasant stay and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjmoney44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Niagara Falls New York
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#9 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
#6 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
#10 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls

Property: The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Address: 114 Buffalo Ave, Niagara Falls, NY 14303-1211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Niagara Falls hotel offers the perfect location on the New York and Canada border Welcome to the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls hotel. Located at the Ontario, Canada and New York border, our hotel at Niagara Falls is close to not only the falls but many other area attractions as well. Leisure travelers can enjoy our location because of its close proximity to the Niagara Falls. Our hotel puts you right at one of the most beautiful wonders of the world. Other attractions within five miles of our property include downtown Niagara Falls, the Maid of the Mist Boat Tour, Goat Island, Cave of the Winds, the Niagara Scenic Trolley and the Aquarium of Niagara. In addition to its close proximity to area attractions, our hotel near Niagara Falls is also close to many corporations, including the New York Power Authority, Americom, Noco Energy and Olin. In addition, the Niagara Falls International Airport (NIA) and the Buffalo International Airport (BUF) are less than 15 miles from our hotel. If you're looking for a family hotel in Niagara Falls, you've come to the right place. Our accommodations have your comfort in mind with amenities that include a heated, indoor pool and a fitness center. Other amenities include an on-site restaurant, a 24-hour business center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. When looking for the best Niagara Falls hotel, end your search at the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Holiday Inn
Four Points Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing