We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Plattsburgh, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing City”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Leaving after a week vaca in what would be considered one of our national treasures. Not what I expected from a hotel in such a tourist area and close to the falls. No reflection on the staff or hotel: The local people are rude, unfriendly, ungrateful and downright scary at times - all this in Niagara Falls! We cannot believe our eyes with the garbage, bums, drunks in carts in the down town area!!! I would expect the unsafe condtions in NYC but here??? Sad to say we are very disappointed that the caretakers of this city have no pride in themselves or our national treasure - shame on them! TRIP ADVISORY: Passport and own transportation is a must for this city. Public transportation maintains the city standards - poor. Everyone seems to push you over to Canada - even the locals!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Naomi J, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to our city and hotel. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while at our property. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Thank you again for your comments. Sincerely, Gayle Nowak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    245
    216
    95
    79
See reviews for
354
210
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Old, outdated, needs to be renovated.
Stayed one night, but should have kept going to the Canadian side.
Room was clean and comfortable but the rest of the hotel was old and in need of repair.
Carpets were dirty and fringed in many places. Elevators were dirty and need to be cleaned.
We didnt eat in the restaurant but walked through it. Looks like it haven't been renovated since it was built.
Front desk was the high-light of the hotel. Fast and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Martin M, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am happy to hear that the service you received from our front desk staff was one of the highlights of your stay. I apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort you experienced while staying at our property. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure other guests do not have the same experience. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. Sincerely, Gayle Nowak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Niagara Falls hotels

Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife & I stayed 3 nights to enjoy the Niagara Falls. The hotel is very near the Falls and you can reach in 10 minutes of walking. Originally we wanted to stay 5 nights but after we checked in and saw our room and the cleanliness of the facility we decided to check out earlier. Our room was in the ground floor and it was so noisy and not comfortable at all. The room was next to the pool and to teach it we had to walk thru the restaurant. The staff are not so well trained, most are summer trainees and didn't handle our requests well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear FH, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is great to know you appreciated our convenient location. We are truly sorry you found our hotel staff and the cleanliness of the room you received less than satisfactory. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to have you at our hotel and provide you with exceptional service. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Gayle Nowak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I always stay at Holiday Inn's and this was a large disappointment. I travelled with a group and the rate quoted was different for each of us. I had to twice sit down with the General Manager to get the rate that was quoted to me initally as our group rate, and then had to have my credit card credited again cause they charged me the wrong amount and a different amount for the two different nights I stayed. Upon check-in the key system was apparently damaged and no keys could be distributed. Everytime you wanted to go to your room you had to be escorted by personnel who would use a pass key. The room's wireless connections did not work at all. On my 2nd night there, I received a call that my room had to be changed from a double to single; and after I packed my stuff, the new room was also a double; so I did not have to move after all...I would never stay at this hotel again. Stay on the Canada Side!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerriH1641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear TerriH1641, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on our hotel. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience you experienced that would cause your stay to be unsatisfactory at our hotel. We take guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to pamper you and provide you with excellent service. Thank you again for your review. Sincerely, Gayle Nowak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

let me start with saying this holiday inn is a let down on the holiday inn standards i hv seen in hongkong, india, paris & switzerland - far below them.
i booked for the location & it was pat on the mark. Excellent location for a walk around the niagara park anytime of the day or night as we did. you get to the cave of the winds & the maid of the mist in an easy 10-15 minute walk. We found lots of indian food dhabaas & outlets nearby- so i did not regret my decision to to not take the hotel breakfast option. it has an indoor pool & lots of activities fr the family which are good.
the room was vinyl floor - not even a carpet -- as is a standard in good rooms. it was cold & rainy outside. the wifi did not work & the outsourced servicing of the wifi was useless. i wonder why a hotel guest should need to talk to somebody other than the hotel operations for any problem -- guess the hotel just wants to advertise its problems.
the front desk was extremely helpful all the time -- but how much can a person do after there is a problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave us your comments and honest feedback on our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that our front desk staff was helpful to you and that our location met your touring needs. I apologize for any discomfort you experienced while staying at our property. Our vinyl wood flooring offers a hypo allergenic atmosphere for our guests. The flooring also provides a cleaner alternative to carpets.
We provide 24-hour wireless internet access assistance to all of our guests who need help getting online. Because there is an array of issues that can cause technical difficulties, we have an information technology manager who is able to handle all issues that may arise while trying to get online.
We hope that you will return to our property in the future so that we may show you how great our hotel really is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is the worst Holiday Inn property I have ever stayed at. Check in and out was good. Room was clean, Bathroom was tiny, Decor was terrible and the reception staff were not dressed how I would expect for a Holiday Inn property.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRF1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I would like to thank you for reviewing our hotel and giving us your honest feedback. I am pleased to hear that you had an efficient check in and check out process. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while staying at our property. We take all guest comments very seriously and we use the input to improve our guest’s experience. We hope that if you ever return, you will choose our hotel for your accommodation needs so that we may show how wonderful our hotel really is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days and loved the location because it is within walkunf distance to the falls, canada border, restaurants and shops (10 min walk maybe.) We didn't even have to use our car during those 2 days because everything was so close.

We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant. It is $11 for the buffet and kids eat free so that is a huge plus. They had a nice variety of food at the buffet like scrambled eggs, pancakes, waffles, fruit, etc... So i thought it was a good deal.

Anyway, everything else is pretty average, nothing special. The rooms are average size, but very clean and i had no problem with hearing the noise from my neighbor, i don't think the walls are that thin.

I would stay there again just because of the location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NayaSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Niagara Falls New York
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#12 of 51 in Niagara Falls
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
#10 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,064 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
#6 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls

Property: The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Address: 114 Buffalo Ave, Niagara Falls, NY 14303-1211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Niagara Falls hotel offers the perfect location on the New York and Canada border Welcome to the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls hotel. Located at the Ontario, Canada and New York border, our hotel at Niagara Falls is close to not only the falls but many other area attractions as well. Leisure travelers can enjoy our location because of its close proximity to the Niagara Falls. Our hotel puts you right at one of the most beautiful wonders of the world. Other attractions within five miles of our property include downtown Niagara Falls, the Maid of the Mist Boat Tour, Goat Island, Cave of the Winds, the Niagara Scenic Trolley and the Aquarium of Niagara. In addition to its close proximity to area attractions, our hotel near Niagara Falls is also close to many corporations, including the New York Power Authority, Americom, Noco Energy and Olin. In addition, the Niagara Falls International Airport (NIA) and the Buffalo International Airport (BUF) are less than 15 miles from our hotel. If you're looking for a family hotel in Niagara Falls, you've come to the right place. Our accommodations have your comfort in mind with amenities that include a heated, indoor pool and a fitness center. Other amenities include an on-site restaurant, a 24-hour business center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. When looking for the best Niagara Falls hotel, end your search at the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Holiday Inn
Four Points Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing