We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Santa Fe
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days and loved the location because it is within walkunf distance to the falls, canada border, restaurants and shops (10 min walk maybe.) We didn't even have to use our car during those 2 days because everything was so close.

We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant. It is $11 for the buffet and kids eat free so that is a huge plus. They had a nice variety of food at the buffet like scrambled eggs, pancakes, waffles, fruit, etc... So i thought it was a good deal.

Anyway, everything else is pretty average, nothing special. The rooms are average size, but very clean and i had no problem with hearing the noise from my neighbor, i don't think the walls are that thin.

I would stay there again just because of the location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NayaSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    244
    215
    95
    77
See reviews for
351
209
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel was the residential part of a lifetime's ambition to see the Falls, so it is slightly disingenuous of me to overly criticise it...however...Apart from Ian on the front desk who was extremely helpful and courteous I can find little to compliment this Holiday Inn. It looks uncared for; the lobby is dull and shabby; the rooms are large, beds comfy; corridor on 2nd floor extremely noisy with guests passing; the restaurant looks tired. In fact that is what's wrong with the place: the Holiday Inn company needs to start again and invest in it. On my three day trip from New England it proved to be the most expensive and easily the least impressive hotel.

My advice to anyone looking to stay near the Falls is to find a decent hotel out of the area and commute.

Room Tip: Make sure that you at the front of the building because our first room faced a brick wall which made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VolvoC30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
I want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodations. I am happy to hear that Ian was helpful to you and that you enjoyed our guest rooms. I apologize that you experienced any inconvenience while you were at our property. We strive to provide the best accommodations possible for our guests.
We appreciate your feedback and taking the time to leave comments on our hotel. We review every guest comment and use the feedback to improve our hotel for future guests. Our guest’s comfort is our number one priority. We hope that you will come back to our hotel again so that we may show you how great our hotel really is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Niagara Falls hotels

Bowmanville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Rooms small and very plain Front desk friendly Room doors noisy like a jail cell House keeping started 0830 hrs with the radio in adjoining room cranked up Given no answer and a bad look when asked to turn down the volume On business government rate $77 but charged $144 for second night and only advised @ check out of the price change. $77 was too much for this place and the only thing going for it is the location Will give business to other hotels next time The Holiday Inn dropped the ball on this place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Comfort Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
I want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate honest feedback and you taking the time to leave comments on our hotel. I apologize that you experienced any inconvenience while you were at our property. Our guest’s comfort is our number one priority. Our government rates do fluctuate depending upon a weekday or weekend stay. I apologize that you were not informed of the rate changes. We review every guest comment and use the feedback to improve our hotel for future guests. We hope that you will come back to our hotel again so that we may show you how great our service really is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

On business, and thought to make it a combo getaway/business weekend.

Check in, was uneventful
Elevators, wow....2 of them, and they were slow...
Lobby smelled a bit musty, but not overbearing.

Room:
The recently laid hardwood floor of the laminate type, was curling at the edges..through out the suite
Looking up, there was a rather large "patch" of drywall where it looked like it had leaked which would have possibly flooded the room
Couldn't get another room, because of the 3rd party site we booked with.

Did I mention the elevators were slow?...

Fridge in room...didn't ever seem to work right.....looked out to parking lot.
fairly quiet given it was pretty much kitty corner to the slow elevators

Restaurant in hotel, fairly comfy, but dated...the portions were large, and rich
a bit pricey also, as for 2 of us with a beer each came to 48 dollars...
that price was for, Chicken Alfredo...oops sorry, Alfredo..I had to add the chicken at something like 4 bucks...
Partner had Chicken fingers with fries,
and 2 beer..(1 apiece)
48 bucks for that...

If it's busy in the lobby (and it usually is), you will wait forever to get to talk to a clerk

Internet is fast, and free, but requires a password that you need to get from the front desk, and that password changes daily..

There's other places to eat but for the most part given the locale (Niagara Falls) things will be pricey...(watch for my other Seneca Casino review)...

All in all, you could do worse I suppose, but could also do better...if you're fit enough, take the stairs, because as I've mentioned before, the elevators are slow.....as an example, I left our room clean shaven to go to lobby, by the time I got to the lobby I had a full Goatee happening...

shop around you'll be glad you did

Room Tip: Higher you go, the quieter it seems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbadianRum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us honest feedback on our hotel. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while staying at our hotel. We continually work on maintaining the building and guest rooms to provide comfortable accommodations for our guests. We hope that if you do come back to Niagara Falls, you will choose our hotel so that we may show how great of a property we really are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here with the family for 3 days. Location was great as it was within walking distance from the falls. Front desk was ok not rude as others have reviewed. The staff at the restaurant were very nice and friendly. Good meal options as well as they have a "kids eat free" promo. The rooms were nice and clean. I'd stay here again if we return to Niagara.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micol_mca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Location of the hotel is great. Walkable distance from Niagara Falls. Check in was fast. No hassles in finding car parking. Corridors need a new coat of paint. Room is of adequate size. Linen in ok condition. Towels need replacement. Shower curtain rod if flimsy and appeared as though it may snap and fall. Shower system is peculiar and did not function properly. Did not think the price charged is justified for this old hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sivaram1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I want to thank you for being a guest at our property and taking the time to leave honest feedback on our hotel. I’m glad to hear that our location met you traveling needs. I apologize that you experienced any inconvenience while you were here. We continually work to maintain the building. We are a very seasonal location; our busy season is from May to October. Our room rates are competitively priced for the area we are located and the season we are in. We hope that you will return once again to our hotel so that we may show you how great we truly are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with wife, son and his wife, for two days in May 2013. (20-23). Great location, just across the bridge going to goat island, where most of the best viewing of the falls is located on the American side is located. In fact it is walking distance. One draw back there is no view of the falls or river from the hotel rooms. A very good complimentary breakfast must be relished. The staff overall were very helpful except for the Guy at the travel desk who was selling a con job of a sight seeing package at 100 USD. This same sight seeing can be done with a Multi-ticket for just USD 33. Transport is not required as all these sightseeing locations are within 1-2 miles. We drove down so appreciated the free parking provided and available in plenty. Two days is enough to explore the American side and visit the SENECA CASINO too. I don't think I could have stayed an extra day, unless you plan to visit the Canadian side. The wifi also is free, but not very fast.

We had a false fire alarm during our stay, and had to evacuate at 7 in the morning to learn after 45 minutes that there was an electrical issue and that it would take over two hours to rectify, so no electricity and lift.

Overall the hotel is cosy, and good enough at the cost for a quite holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view towards the Seneca Casino, only seven floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEOAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#11 of 51 in Niagara Falls
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Niagara Falls New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,048 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
#5 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls

Property: The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Address: 114 Buffalo Ave, Niagara Falls, NY 14303-1211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Niagara Falls hotel offers the perfect location on the New York and Canada border Welcome to the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls hotel. Located at the Ontario, Canada and New York border, our hotel at Niagara Falls is close to not only the falls but many other area attractions as well. Leisure travelers can enjoy our location because of its close proximity to the Niagara Falls. Our hotel puts you right at one of the most beautiful wonders of the world. Other attractions within five miles of our property include downtown Niagara Falls, the Maid of the Mist Boat Tour, Goat Island, Cave of the Winds, the Niagara Scenic Trolley and the Aquarium of Niagara. In addition to its close proximity to area attractions, our hotel near Niagara Falls is also close to many corporations, including the New York Power Authority, Americom, Noco Energy and Olin. In addition, the Niagara Falls International Airport (NIA) and the Buffalo International Airport (BUF) are less than 15 miles from our hotel. If you're looking for a family hotel in Niagara Falls, you've come to the right place. Our accommodations have your comfort in mind with amenities that include a heated, indoor pool and a fitness center. Other amenities include an on-site restaurant, a 24-hour business center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. When looking for the best Niagara Falls hotel, end your search at the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Holiday Inn
Four Points Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing