We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't stay.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here on the way to Bar Harbor, Maine. We thought we'd catch the Falls at night and that was great but they really shouldn't charge an arm and a leg because of their proximity to the Falls. The room was old fashioned, the door didn't shut firmly and it had an overall appearance of tacky and run down.
Most Hotels do a rehab from time to time but this place adds to the retro experience that the Falls are and not in a good way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback. Over the past few years, our hotel has been renovated a few times. Our remodeling began when we first became a Holiday Inn in 2008. In the winter of 2010, we replaced all of the furniture and soft goods in the rooms. Then in 2011, we replaced the wallpaper and refinished all of the ceilings in the rooms. We also removed and replaced all of the carpeting in the hotel common areas. Our staff reports any defects in the hotel directly to our general manger. She responds by fixing the problem or replacing what is needed immediately.
Our hotel is located directly across from the Niagara Falls State Park; this is why hotels in our immediate area charge a premium rate for their hotel rooms. We are a seasonal destination, so during the nice weather we have very high demand. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your opinion of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    237
    207
    95
    77
See reviews for
338
207
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Room was clean, bed was soft. The tv was nice and big and had a good selection of channels. We stayed on the 4th floor all the way at the end of the hallway. Unfortunately we were right across from the maid closet, and all night you could hear them opening and closing the door. A few times around 11:30pm-1:00am you could hear them in the hallway with a very loud annoying walkie talkie. Around 8am they were shouting to each other down the hallway... other than those pesky nuisances, the front desk staff was attentive and helpful and the location was perfect. Easy walk to the falls or the down town area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelawareKittenFiasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterset, Iowa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I think this hotel deserved a 1 star rating at best It had extremely stained carpet and walls throughout--tile was broken several places--hairs in the shower and sink both (i'm bald) and staff was next to nonexistant. I wouldn't consider staying there at half price

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank x000n46n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Our Holiday Inn location is a AAA 3 Diamond rated property. Our entire staff is dedicated to making our guests feel comfortable and making their stay memorable. We appreciate your feedback on our hotel; thankfully this type of experience is not common at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Niagara Falls hotels

Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

As other reviewers have said, this is not the fanciest hotel in Niagara. For the price, quality and location, this hotel can't be beat. This is the second year I've come to Niagara, and the second time I've stayed here. The rooms are simple and clean, exactly what I was looking for - I spend most of my time outside, enjoying the beauty this area has to offer.

I got to the hotel fairly early in the morning, before my room was ready, but I was able to check my luggage into their storage. Tina, the front desk clerk, was nice enough to give me a business card, so I could call back and check if my room was ready, while I spent the day exploring the falls area.

The location is fabulous - a few minutes' walk and you are in the NF State Park, but not so close that you get the traffic of park visitors. The hotel restaurant doesn't have a large menu, but the dishes I had were all very tasty and not too pricey. Also, there are several restaurants within walking distance. If you do have a vehicle, they have free parking, which is not available at all of the hotels (even those in the same price range as this).

While it is true that the floors in the rooms aren't the greatest, everything in the rooms was spotless - cleaner than some other higher-end hotels I've stayed at. The elevators can get cramped when a lot of people are there, but short of doing a major rebuild, I don't see how those could be changed.

I didn't try the pool, but the spa was all right. Not very big and the water wasn't too hot (toasty, but not hot), but it did the trick for sore feet after a long day of walking around the park. There's a nice lobby area near the pool - perfect for sitting and chatting.

They have free wifi at the hotel and the signal strength was great - they have a transmitter for each floor, I believe, but they all use the same code, so it was no trouble when I went downstairs to the restaurant - I still had coverage there.

All in all, I had a great experience - the staff are nice, the rooms are clean, the location is very convenient and the price was right. I'm sure I'll be back for more visits!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have a better view. Eastern exposure rooms (city view) can be a little o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slick1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here for a night, on our way from Thousand Islands to Niagara Falls in late July 2012.

Room was comfortable and nice. They had a free tea/coffee machine - which was refreshing given our long travel.

Walls in hallways looked a bit old.

Staff at hotel was not very responsive. It took us quite some time to draw their attention that we were around and respond to the same.
I had left my cellphone somewhere in hotel (in my room, i guess). I tried reaching them, over phone, a number of times to find whether they had found anything. It was an unpleasant experience - everytime i was told that they would check up and call me back - but i never got a callback.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSourav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We appreciate your direct and honest feedback. At our hotel, it is our top priority to recover personal items when they are left behind by our guests. Once we are alerted of an issue, we immediately inform our employees and guest agents of proper procedures when handling lost items. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

excellent location, walking distance to the falls, would recommend it to people who want to be close to everything. The staff was very friendly. Hope to go there again in the future. We could walk to shopping and the bus stop for a trip to Canada.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

From the outside and lobby this seems like a nice hotel. Once you enter the elevator, the halls and your room it becomes apparent that this is an old hotel that has been cosmetically refreshed and that is looking worn, too. Instead of carper they have laminate wood floors and they are peeling up and dirty.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARAH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gayle N, Front Office Manager at The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Our hotel was fully remodeled in 2008 when we first became a Holiday Inn. In the winter of 2010, we replaced all of the furniture and soft goods in the rooms. Then in 2011, we replaced the wallpaper and refinished all of the ceilings in the rooms. We also removed and replaced all of the carpeting in the hotel common areas. Our staff reports any defects in the hotel directly to our general manger. She responds by fixing the problem or replacing what is needed immediately.
The laminate wood flooring in our guest rooms offer a hypo-allergenic atmosphere. The flooring eliminates odors and they are easier to maintain and clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#5 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Niagara Falls New York
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Niaga...
#13 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#9 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls
#6 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
#10 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls

Property: The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Address: 114 Buffalo Avenue, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Niagara Falls hotel offers the perfect location on the New York and Canada border Welcome to the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls hotel. Located at the Ontario, Canada and New York border, our hotel at Niagara Falls is close to not only the falls but many other area attractions as well. Leisure travelers can enjoy our location because of its close proximity to the Niagara Falls. Our hotel puts you right at one of the most beautiful wonders of the world. Other attractions within five miles of our property include downtown Niagara Falls, the Maid of the Mist Boat Tour, Goat Island, Cave of the Winds, the Niagara Scenic Trolley and the Aquarium of Niagara. In addition to its close proximity to area attractions, our hotel near Niagara Falls is also close to many corporations, including the New York Power Authority, Americom, Noco Energy and Olin. In addition, the Niagara Falls International Airport (NIA) and the Buffalo International Airport (BUF) are less than 15 miles from our hotel. If you're looking for a family hotel in Niagara Falls, you've come to the right place. Our accommodations have your comfort in mind with amenities that include a heated, indoor pool and a fitness center. Other amenities include an on-site restaurant, a 24-hour business center and complimentary high-speed Internet access. When looking for the best Niagara Falls hotel, end your search at the Holiday Inn Niagara Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Holiday Inn
Four Points Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing