We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite steak hoagy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of David's Hoagy & Sub - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
David's Hoagy & Sub
Price range: $7 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: David's Home of the Steak Hoagy offers a full line of great food for all occasions. Great pizza, large wings and fingers, sandwiches, salads and of course our famous steak hoagy are all on the menu. We offer pick-up or delivery and are also ready to cater your next event. To see more, check out our website on line. This Niagara Falls Sub Shop and Pizzeria offers Niagara Falls Catering. If you are within the Niagara Falls area and are looking for Niagara Falls Pizza Delivery, David's Steak Hoagy is the place to go. Dine-in or Take-out. Delivery is a $2.50 additional fee and has a $8.00 minimum food order. Subs - hoagies - sandwiches - fish fry - chicken wings / fingers - soups - pizza. Ask about our new catering & boxed lunch service!
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorite steak hoagy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I love the steak hoagy, with mushroom and glazed onions. Very consistent each and every time. Friendly staff and others in the family love the royal with sausage and capacolla-you can't go wrong here, we love it

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Change of Location changed everything!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Used to be a cozy little place with steak hoagies stuffed full of steak, onions, cheese and hot pepper. Now that they have moved they've skimped on the steak, only a few chopped onions and hot peppers soaking wet and cheap on the cheese! Nevermind the woman behind the cash taking your order and your cash, can't crack a smile...felt like I was inconveniencing her by ordering, stone face. Their new digs must be costing them, as it shows in their service and more importantly their food! Next they'll feel it with their lack of customers!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CruiseWhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Wow is what comes to mind...that's not in a good way either. This place came highly recommended from friends of ours that have been going here for many years now. They kept raving about the Hoagy and the Wings so that's what I had ordered. I ordered the honey garlic wings for the kids and they all complained that it tasted funny. All 5 kids did not end up eating them so instead they ended up digging into my plain wings that wasn't any better. The wings were overly fried and dry, the honey garlic tasted like they forgot to add the Garlic. There was so much sauce on it when we received the plate it looked like a plate of Honey garlic chicken wing soup...nasty !! Also One of the wings still had feathers stuck on it..growse !!

Now on to the Steak Hoagy, it was ok...there wasn't much steak on there, lots of mayo and onions. I have had way better hoagies at other places that don't even specialize in hoagies.

The dining area was run down, the washrooms were dirty. Overall a disappointing experience, and it wasn't just the adults even the kids did not enjoy the food. Normally anything fried the kids would love but not this time. Actually the one thing that was enjoyable was the slice of pizza that my son had to start, I had a bite of that and it was actually pretty good. Maybe we should have just stuck with that. I definitely won't be coming back...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vawavawav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good subs and pizza. Moved to new location by supermarket liquors.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

I love their subs and the bbq chicken fingers are very good. It's family run. We are always treated very good when we eat here. They are great at catering too. Obviously the workers are tired close to closing because they work very hard.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaime1485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I walked out before I even ate”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

I'm not going to comment on the food because before I even got to eat I left the restaurant.
My husband and I walked into the restaurant (which was empty) and as soon as we walked in we could hear the employees moaning and groaning and saying "oh my god" in the back of the kitchen because they would have customers to serve when they were obviously not in the mood to do any work.
Even with that "welcome" we just shrugged it off and continued walking to the front counter to place our order and said Hi to the guy at the front cash who didn't say anything and turned his back on us and walked away. At that point we look at each other and walked out, I am not going to spend money at an establishment that treats potential customers this way.
We then went to Buzzy's across the street and had the best hoagies we have ever eaten.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasia_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David's Hoagy & Sub also viewed

 
Niagara Falls, NY
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing