We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Accommodations in the American Falls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife, new born son and I recently traveled to Niagara Falls to introduce my parents to there grandchild. We were pleasantly surprised by both the accommodations and the cuisine. The Red Coach Inn is a historic inn set withing walking distance to the American and Horseshoe Falls and the walking paths on Goat Island. The Bristol Suite more than suited our needs and provided a relaxing and private atmosphere for travels with a young nursing child. The inclusive breakfast could not have been better. We especially enjoyed the delicious breakfast sandwich. It was served on, what appeared to be two nice pieces of french toast, and contained ham, cheese, tomato and was served with roasted potatoes. The oatmeal brulee was also amazing. Although the dining room and lounge are very appealing, we choose to sit outside with the view of the river and the sound of the falls in the background. We will definitely stay there again when we next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

794 - 800 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had researched locations on the US side of the Falls and decided the Red Coach Inn seemed above the other facilities. Even our AAA guide had this property as a featured property.

The suite we chose was the Canterbury Sweet, We had to enter and exit our room via a door in the outside restaurant, literally carrying luggage past diners. There was noone available to help with bags at checkout. Several times we asked the front desk clerk questions, they did not know the answer.

The stated policy is to charge the guest's credit card for the first night as a deposit. Our credit card was charged for the full amount of the stay; there was even an overcharge that resulted in a credit balance owed to us, which was credited at checkout. The front desk person had no idea how to handle the credit, a manager had to be called.

The view of the river was sparse at best, avaialble through trees for a few hundred feet at best. No view of the falls themselves.

The room was adequate. Decorated in old style from 1940s or earlier, very musty smell. Bathroom was updated and jacuzzi tub was a plus. Kitchen seemed fine, but we had no need to cook meals ourselves.

Dining was very disappointing. Outside dining was affected by multiple types of bugs and insects, including a bee's nest in one of the flowering window boxes. Ants, flies, mosquitos and bees abounded. We saw one table relocated because of the insects and considered making the same request.

Food appeared to focus on quantity over quality. Sandwiches for lunch were large, but meat was nothing better than store bought deli counter offerings. The staff was multinational and many were new. Did not understand food choices or menu offerings (by the numbers?). We asked for scrambled eggs and received sunny side up. We asked for fresh fruit and were told the kitchen had none. We asked for a side of oatmeal and received the full menu offering (three times the size of a side?). Wait staff was apologetic and offered to make substitutions where possible (the eggs) but we declined. Also noted that many side items common to American restaurants were not available (1% or 2% milk, sugar free maple syrup, fresh fruit for breakfast). We decided to pass on dinners at the restaurant.

Our advice, cross over to Canada and pick a brand name hotel (Marriott, Hilton, Embassy Suites) all within view of the Falls, with full views possible.

Room Tip: Try to avoid suites requiring entry through dining areas. Hard to carry luggage past diners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank george p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Red Coach Inn from July 19th thru the 23rd and had a wonderful time. We stayed in the Adeline suite, - it had a beautiful living room with a gas fireplace and a huge flat screen tv on the wall above the mantel. We were on the second floor and the large windows looked right over the water. We kept the windows open all night so we could hear the Falls! The kitchen had stainless steel appliances and a great table if you want to eat in. We were surprised to see a cheese and fruit tray and a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we got to our room. The large bedroom had 2 queen size beds that were so comfortable! The bathroom was updated and had the biggest spa jucuzzi tub I've ever seen! We ate breakfast on the restaurant's outdoor patio every morning - it was included with the price of the room. My husband had steak and eggs every morning! We had dinner in the dining room one evening and the only problem was the huge portions! We couldn't finish it all so we took doggy bags up to our kitchen for later. Gary the Manager was wonderful. He deserves a huge raise! He actually helped my husband carry our luggage from the parking lot to our room. There isn't an elevator but the steps aren't too bad. It seemed like most of the staff were students from other countries ie. Bosnia, Russia, etc. so it was fun hearing about their homes and listening to their beautiful accents! The Inn is centrally located and we walked to Goat Island, the Maid of the Mist, etc. But the trolly stops right infront of the hotel and it will take you where ever you need to go. You can also walk to the Casino if you don't feel like driving. The brige over to Canada is right there also. The only complaint we had was that there isn't adequate parking behind the Inn at night. We were lucky enough to always get a spot, but I don't know what would happen if the Inn was fully booked?? Gary said they're working on a solution. We are planning on going back in October and staying in the Adeline suite again. My husband and I hightly recommend the Red Coach Inn!

Room Tip: The Adeline - looks right over the water and you can hear the Falls from the living room if you open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Based upon reviews I was reluctant to stay; however, I can say that we had a wonderful visit. The room was decorated nice and was very clean! Breakfast was nice- eating outside allowed us to look over the Niagara River. Great location- free parking. Would definitely recommend and will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Location is excellent, restaurant is exceptional, Staff is great, breakfast included. No need to drive around. Within 500 feet of the falls. Very classic. about 20 miles from BUF airport. Take a rental car from BUF and drive down to Red Coach Inn. You will not need to drive again. All places at Niagara are within walking distance

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, location is superb. Never need a car there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bhanushaligautam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We had a wonderful time in the Red Coach Inn. The London room was elegant and cozy. The location was more than convenient and staff were friendly. Breakfast was diverse though guests had to order from the menu rather than open buffet as it should be, consuming a lot of time to prepare for each guest a different order. Not having a safe in the room nor in the hotel itself made us carry our passports everywhere with us including the falls wet-trip!. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are OK since you will be spending all your day at the falls !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abusaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Sadly, our dining experience left a lot to be desired. First, they had no bread for table, second, they brought out our entree before our appetizer and when they brought out the entree after we finished the appetizer the salmon we had was very dry and had no flavor and made us think they just put our entree under a lamp.

The one saving grace was the waiter took the entree off our tab and was very apologetic.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#6 of 52 in Niagara Falls
2,260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 52 in Niagara Falls
1,119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
#9 of 52 in Niagara Falls
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Niagara Falls New York
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#10 of 52 in Niagara Falls
724 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
#4 of 52 in Niagara Falls
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel

Address: 2 Buffalo Ave, Niagara Falls, NY 14303-1133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range: $110 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by the Schoellkopf family to resemble the Bell Inn in Finedon, England, and named after the red carriage that brought General Marquis de Lafayette to Niagara Falls, the Red Coach Inn has been welcoming guests to Niagara Falls since 1923. Overlooking the spectacular Upper Rapids just 500 yards from the American Falls, the inn is Niagara’s most distinctive historic structure, with its English Tudor exterior and warm English country ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Coach Inn Historic Hotel Niagara Falls
The Red Coach Inn Historic b&b Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing