We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cough up the extra 50 bucks and stay elsewhere”
Review of Falls Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falls Motel
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Westbrook, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cough up the extra 50 bucks and stay elsewhere”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

While vacationing in Niagara Falls last August I had the misfortune of staying at the Falls Motel. Trying to think of myself as an ultra cool hipster, I decided to forgo the usual chain hotel and spend two nights here, help out a family owned busisness. Yes I read the reviews that said the decor was dated, but hey so's my grandmas house its still a comfortable home away from home. WRONG!! the mattress must have been a relic from the last time the hotel updated which I am guessing must have at least been 40 years ago. I have never in my whole life had such an uncomfortable sleep, it was hard as a rock and covered with plastic I don't even want to imagine what it looked like underneath it. The breakfast in the morning was bottled water, juice boxes, a banana, and some super sweet store bought muffins that my children loved, but they weren't exactly my cup of tea. Yes the two gentlemen that I meant that ran the place were very helpful and went out of there way to be accomadating, but nice only gets you so far. Bottom line: Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarahbee40971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    54
    21
    11
    3
See reviews for
47
50
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I booked a room here based on the reviews. We were traveling on a very tight budget, and the Falls Motel seemed to fit the bill. The pictures on Expedia, as well as the motel's website are helpful - since they show you what you can expect when you check in. Like the rest of Niagara Falls, this motel is lost in the '70's.
Sure enough, everyone was friendly and helpful, the breakfast basket was appreciated. However, what soured my experience was all the hair on the extra blankets in the closet. That was gross. We needed both extra blankets because the heat was set to 65, and the only way to change it was to call the office. There are also explicit threats on the mirror stating that if you use the washcloths to take off your makeup (and it leaves evidence) you will be charged for a washcloth.
Call me crazy, but I consider heat and washcloths part of doing business. The walls are also very thin.
I would not stay here with my family. I would only stay here again if my wallet forced me to.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ppin1pod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I chose this hotel because pf all the Trip Advisor reviews. This place was exactly what we needed. We were a group of 7 so we took three rooms. The rooms are small and cozy and clean. Nothing special but very homey and inviting. It is also in a great location, 10 min drive to the falls and 10 min the other direction to the outlets.

The owners were extremely hospitable. They greeted me by name upon arrival! Never experienced that before. They checked in on us a few times to ask us about our stay and stopped by to recommend the fireworks over the falls that were happening that night. You can tell they really enjoy entertaining people and want you to have a noce stay.

And lastly, its a tremendous value. We paid $250 for 2 nights in 3 rooms for 7 people in total. An excellent value.

I highly recommend the Falls Motel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oldirtybuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Visited the fall of 2010.A great place to stay. Our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The owners went out of their way to help us enjoy our stay. Even took us on our own guided tour of the falls and took our personal pictures. The hospitality is beyond reproach. We would certainly rent a car if we visit again as there is a lot of space around town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

we were 2 couples in a 2 double bed room- the room was really tiny and so is the bathroom.
it's 15 minutes drive by bus from the motel to the falls (only a couple of minutes by car)
boring but nice breakfast served the night before .
the crew was really great- helped us a lot with every little thing we needed- they really made everything look better.
the crew has a shuttle to the falls and also they gave us free tickets to the bus .
all in all- if you're going to the Niagara falls- you better find a hotel in the Canadian side- it's much more lively out there, but if you decide to stay on the NY side- this motels is a good choise

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikoned b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Smaller, older motel with only a few units.

Rooms are a little cramped but when we go to Buffalo, we are there to shop and don't spend much time in the room anyway so that wasn't a big deal.

Owners are SUPER friendly and helpful. Juice, bananas and muffins were a great continental breakfast!

I'll admit the rooms could use some updating but I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. It's close to all the shopping and it is a nice, clean, safe, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jezzysgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, IL
Level Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Yes, this hotel is old and the room and bathroom were small. However, everything was clean and comfortable, and the owners were incredibly nice. We had a room that was around the back, so we had our own little yard-like area, which was great for sitting outside watching the kids play while we relaxed after a day of site seeing. It seemed a bit expensive for the hotel, but I think all hotels around the falls are this time of year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clk215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,028 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,896 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Summit Inn
Best Western Summit Inn
#7 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Niagara Falls/Buffalo Area
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls
3.4 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#11 of 51 in Niagara Falls
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Motel

Property: Falls Motel
Address: 5820 Buffalo Ave., Niagara Falls, NY 14304
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Falls Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer quality accommodation with home style service our property belongs to yesteryear when the area was the destination for romantic getaways and family values. We aim to keep that tradition alive and want to ensure that you have a memorable stay when you come to the region. We are family owned and operated establishment living on the premises to ensure a peaceful environment for our guests. We have the modern conveniences like Cable TV Refrigerators and Coffee Tea making facilities in your room but we understand that you come here to see the sites not sit in a room. This enables us to give you a very competitive rate so you can spend your hard earned money on other things like eating out shopping or sight seeing. We do tend to fill up for the main tourist season as we are a small property of only fourteen rooms. This means there are no large crowds and we can offer that personal service you deserve. So we do suggest that you make your reservations as early as possible to avoid any disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Falls Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Falls Motel Niagara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing