We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Front Desk Woman = Horrible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Summit Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Summit Inn
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Front Desk Woman = Horrible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was our third time staying with this hotel, always had a good experience until yesterday.
Upon arrival and checking in at the front desk we approached a very miserable woman, when asked a simple question about credit cards and booking proceeded to argue. Had an awful attitude toward my mother. Did not make us feel good about staying there, she definitely needs a reality check because we will probably not be returning to this establishment. Should probably work on her hospitality skills or lack there of. Also we miss the Sauna.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachaelrandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSummitInnMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Summit Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. Could you please contact me at bwsummitinn2003@yahoo.com so that I can address the issues you have brought to my attention? I would like to have your reservation information so that I can see who checked you in.

Sincerely,

Mike Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    376
    130
    38
    30
See reviews for
431
290
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Best Western Summit Inn never fails to meet expectations. My husband and I have stayed at this hotel numerous times in the past few years and it just keeps getting better.
This was our second weekend get away already this year and both stays were wonderful. Location is fantastic, a few minutes from the outlet mall and various other shopping venues. The bowling alley next door is great with its moonlight bowling.
The breakfast buffet is always fresh and well supplied.
I love this hotel, the staff, the facilities and location and will probably be returning within the next couple of months for yet another mini vacation.
I do wish that there was an adult time at the pool area. Although pool is open until 10pm, there were always young children splashing, screaming and jumping right until the closing time. Would be nice if they had an over 16 rule after 9pm for us adults that are staying without kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kacey62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSummitInnMgr, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Summit Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Kristina Baird
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I was more than pleasantly surprised at how nice and convenient this facility was to the American Falls and the casino. Yes, it's just over 6 miles away but I paid far less than staying near the falls and my choice of restaurants nearby was very good, the hotel staff was very pleasant, and the free "continental" breakfast was much better than I expected and had a few hot items such as sausage and eggs to boot. My room was exceptionally clean so overall this Best Western was very good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 334JimW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSummitInnMgr, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Summit Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay!

Sincerely,

Kristina Baird
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Normally when we do our semi-annual shopping trip to Niagara Falls, we stay at the Days Inn - it's a little out of the way but it was clean and cheap. For some reason, during the off-season (February) their price was unusually high, so we looked on the Internet for alternatives.

We had a good experience with the Best Western Plus last June in Orillia Ontario, so we checked out what they had in the Niagara Falls New York area. We found the Summit Inn and it looked great, it was close to the Fashion Outlet Mall and the price was among the lowest in the area. Seeing as how Niagara Falls has a reputation for old, cheap, seedy motels, the low price made us a little wary, but based on our last Best Western experience, we thought we'd give it a try.

Well... we were not disappointed. This was a very nice facility and a great bargain.
The room was big and clean. Lots of cable channels on the TV. A nice fridge, good wireless Internet, hair dryer, iron and Ironing board and coffee maker. And, also, plenty of electrical outlets! (If you have cell phones, laptops and pads, you have to recharge them all the time.) Most of the lamps in the room had electrical plugs in their base - what a great idea!

In the centre of a complex was a family pool (small, depths from 3ft to 4ft 11in) with decked areas with patio furniture for the parents to watch out for their kids. Just beside the pool area was the ice machine, 2 drink vending machines, 1 snack machine and 4 video games --- a nice mini-recreation area. There was also an exercise room near the front desk, we didn't check that out.

There was also a large breakfast area near the front office. I think breakfast was from 7 to 9:30. There was fresh fruit, bread and english muffins for toast, yogurt, scrambled eggs and sausage, oatmeal and 3 types of breakfast cereal, various juices. tea and coffee and my favorite... make your own waffles. While you ate, there were a couple of large screen TVs to keep you entertained/informed.

I really recommend this place if you're in NF, NY to shop at the Fashion Outlet Mall.

Now, for the negatives.... (minor issues really)
1. There aren't a lot of exits and entrances to facility, so if you don't want to leave purchases in your car over-night, you may have to schlep your stuff up and down long halls (and possibly up stairs).
2. As someone else mentioned in a review - the heating / air condition unit is fairly noisy. You get used to it, but it seems loud at first. (We didn't lose any sleep over it)
3. The bathroom floor was ceramic and cold.

Overall we loved the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy_in_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSummitInnMgr, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Summit Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed review! We really appreciate you taking the time to tell us what you liked and did not like about our property. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Kristina Baird
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed for two nights while on a shopping trip, clean rooms, little small, but clean, bed wasnt too comfortable, but after shopping all day i could've cared less, close to malls, lots of places to eat, Nothing too special about this property, but it served it's purpose

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginosuave33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSummitInnMgr, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Summit Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A nice, clean hotel a few minutes away from the Niagara Fashion Outlet Mall and about 30 minutes away from Walden Galleria. Lots of places to eat around the area.

The room was very clean, standard size, but everything well spaced out. The bed was super comfy (a bit high) if you like firm mattresses. Some renovated hotels still have that pervasive smokey scent in the air, but I'm happy to say there was no evidence of that here. WiFi was fast and easy to login. Noise from outside the room was average. Conversations in the hallway could clearly be heard and we could also hear the steps from the floor above us. Fortunately, all the noise occurred in the morning when we were waking up.

The breakfast area was a surprise. It's a large, bright dining area, with lots of tables, separate from the lobby. Possibly the largest I've seen amongst comparable hotels. So no worries, of standing while eating or dining in the same area as the reception desk. The food was your standard offerings of cereals, breads, fruit, eggs, sausages and beverages. Some places still just offer coffee and sweet buns so this was pretty good and filled us up before a day of shopping.

Check in and check out were a breeze, and the staff were efficient.

With a CAA discount, we were able to reserve a king-bed room for a night for $60 (tax incl) using the Best Western main site. Sure you could go cheaper with one of the little non-franchise strip motels that dot the area, but we wanted some comfort and the reviews on Tripadvisor seemed to reassure us of that. We'd definitely stay here again if the price is right.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms face away from the busy Niagara Falls Blvd. If you're sensitive to noise, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TreeNSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSummitInnMgr, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Summit Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay so much! Thank you for providing such useful tips for our future guests too! We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Kristina Baird
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#6 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 1,337 reviews
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Niagara Falls/Buffalo
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
#3 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Niagara Falls/Buffalo Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Summit Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Summit Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Summit Inn
Address: 9500 Niagara Falls Boulevard, Niagara Falls, NY 14304-4909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Niagara Falls
#4 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
#5 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Summit Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern - Heart of shopping district; US Route 62; 5 mi to Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western + Iniative, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Summit Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Summit Hotel Niagara Falls
Best Western Niagara Falls
Best Western Summit Inn Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing