We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A 5 star $40 motel room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Cottage Inns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swiss Cottage Inns
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Niagara Falls
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A 5 star $40 motel room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

The lady at the desk was nice and helpful. The room was clean. The room came with free wifi, a microwave, and a mini fridge. I thought the free wifi was nice because at most large and expensive hotels you have to pay extra for it. Motel was perfect for a quick one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    60
    37
    23
    22
See reviews for
40
64
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This motel was probably about 3 miles form Niagara Falls so you do need a car for your sight seeing. However, the motel itself was clean and tidy and has a small pool. There are a few eating places nearby, (fast food), and a very friendly local bar on the next block.

The lady on reception was very nice and helpful when we asked for directions back to the "falls" - (our room wasn't ready as it was before 11am when we arrived)

It was, as most motels are, cheap and cheerful and for a 1 night stay we could have no complaints at all - it was a value for money budget motel and if motels are your thing then dont' look past this place..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We went to Swiss Cottage Inn from Sept. 10-12. Weather was really hot for this time of year.
The pool was still open, which was great as temp was 30 degrees plus the humidex. Room was reasonably priced, clean, no bugs. Shopping, eating, all within walking distance. There was a
free shuttle to the casino which runs every hour. Overall, we had an awesome time and will return to this motel next time we take a trip to the falls.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SungoddessOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had the room with three doubles
Beds were comfy, was hot and the air conditioner had trouble keeping up at times
Bathroom was tiny but new and very clean
Room had dated furniture but extremely clean rooms
We didn't get a chance to use the pool because it rained every evening we were there but nice appearance
Would definitely stay again

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Makdeemak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Among the many other motels on the boulevard, I would surely recommend this place! We visit the falls every year and have stayed at other motels (only because Swiss Cottage was fully booked) and still prefer it over the others. The rooms are impeccably clean, we had one with two double beds that was just renovated. The furniture is new, the mattress was comfortable and the carpet is fresh. The owners who run the place are a friendly older couple who really go out of their way to make sure that our stay is always pleasant. We always go in the summer and take our kids, they love the swimming pool! It is not a 5 star hotel, is a small family-run business. So if you are looking for an affordable friendly place to stay, in a great location, I recommend Swiss Cottage Inns.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

clean and simple. Everyone was nice and helpfull . Good budget hotel.Had a swim in pool which was nice as most hotels along that stretch don't have pools.
We were there for outlet malls that were a short distance away.Had wings not to far away that were great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank passinthrough1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Good budget hotel with a easy bus ride ti the falls. Hotel owner was pleasant and helpful, let us leave our bags before check in and after check out. Fron the reviews we weren't expecting much but for under $50 a night we were happy. However for another night (friday) they were asking $100+ each would have been another story.
The bus into the falls was easy and cheap, $2 a ride or $10 for a day pass if I remember correctly.
On the downside the wifi was very poor and we were relying in it quite a lot to plan our travels.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steph998_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.4 mi away
Motel 6 Niagara Falls
Motel 6 Niagara Falls
#27 of 53 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
4.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Niagara Falls/Buffalo
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Niagara Falls/Buffalo Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#34 of 53 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caravan Motel
Caravan Motel
#32 of 53 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moonlite Motel
Moonlite Motel
#14 of 53 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Cottage Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Cottage Inns

Property: Swiss Cottage Inns
Address: 6831 Niagara Falls Blvd, Niagara Falls, NY 14304-2235
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 53 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Swiss Cottage Inns 1.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 12 minutes' drive from Niagara Falls, the casino and a large shopping mall, the motel presents itself as the ideal base to explore the sights of the area. The motel offers free passes for a shuttle service to and from both Niagara Falls and the casino (during the summer season). The motel also offers a large outdoor pool and Wi-Fi internet connection so that guests can keep in contact with family, friends and colleagues during their stay. Guests will find numerous restaurants nearby to satisfy every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Swiss Cottage Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Cottage Inns Hotel Niagara Falls
Swiss Cottage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing