We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to sleep, overpriced in the summer”
Review of Swiss Cottage Inns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swiss Cottage Inns
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good place to sleep, overpriced in the summer”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is a nice place to stay for a couple of nights. A typical american motel, like you see in movies. Clean room, free parking, small pool (opens only after 12pm). The price was a little high for one night only in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livius44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    72
    44
    23
    23
See reviews for
50
69
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ct
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Here's the real deal...I picked this hotel because our family is on a strict budget and we wanted to have enough cash left over to do activities. The hotel is not perfect. The beds were clean, no bed bugs like I previously read. Interestingly, we noticed the mattresses were marked "June, July, August" so maybe there had been a problem and the mattresses inspected and okay during that time period( ??) The other flaws...tiny holes in the sheets, like cigarette burns. A couple of cobwebs, one in bathroom between sink and window towards the floor and another in back of the front door with a small spider in it. The shower didn't completely go on, part of the water kept coming out of the tub fawcet, but enough pressure to shower. The electric outlet is up high in the bathroom next to the light, not very convenient. I guess my biggest complaint was that our AC didn't work properly so our room was too warm. Still, you get what you pay for and the kids enjoyed their pool and activities were close by. I probably would try a different hotel next time though because the AC is important to me.

Room Tip: Verify that AC works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy415poet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The room was clean with no unpleasant lingering smells. The walls are thin, you can hear your neighbours and, if you get a unit close to the street, the traffic on the Boulevard. The free Wi-Fi offered was spotty and kept dropping us, but we did manage to connect later in the evening. For the price, it was an acceptable stay. The fashion outlets were a short drive away.

The bathroom was tiny and the chair provided at the little desk was wobbly. There was a microwave and a little fridge in the unit, very handy.

Room Tip: Consider asking for a room at the back of the property, farther from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were very satisfied with the sevices provided. The room was neat and clean and housekeeping was done everyday to our satisfaction. the motel is just 4.5 miles from the falls and has a free shuttle service to and from falls. We had booked for two nights but stayed 3 nights because our stay was very enjoyable.

The motel is owned and operated by Eva and Mario the husband wife team. They are very nice persons and very helpful.

I would recommend this motel to everybody.

Room Tip: Double rooms have two queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PradeepSharad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

For the $45 rate, I totally thought this motel would be a less than satisfactory place to stay. However I was shocked at the helpfulness and courteous disposition of the clerk. We were minutes away from Niagara Falls (via free shuttle service) and the clerk gave us useful information for attractions and restaurants. We asked for a room with microwave and fridge and the clerk happily agreed to our request. Rooms are very small but would definitely recommend this place and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wordscannotdescribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was our first trip to Niagara Falls and we were informed that this motel was clean and reasonable. We woke up the next morning with ants in the room. My grandson had bites on his face. My daughter and grandsons refused to sleep in the beds and slept on top of the comforters. We decided not to use the shower due to the ants and the appearance of the shower stall. I informed the front desk at check out and was thanked for informing them of the problem. The motel is in a good location not far from Niagara Falls and other commodities. Future visits to this area will include more research on the motels/hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Niagara Falls hotels

Cambridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Travel many times to the area for over the border shopping. Came accross this place that was offering a good rate for a nights stay on the internet.We had never stayed here before and didnt know what to expect. Arrived late and had a friendly check in. The room was small but all you need to be comfortable. It was clean and everything looked in good condition. .Was worried as we had booked a Queen size bed which we dont usually sleep in. However we had a great nights sleep.This small motel offered the most friendly service I have had. Sometimes we think big is better...but try this place. The owners opened up there pool so we could have a swim before we left as we had arrived too late to use it the night upon checkin. We will be going back in a few weeks and staying here once again. I like the fact that you park your car right in front of your door. While sitting outside in the evening I met a nice american couple and enjoyed a good conversation. The atmosphere around the motel was positive by the other guests and we also met people from Indiana who enjoyed their stay as well. So thanks to a great couple of owners, a friendly smile and a good price for our stay we will be going back to this motel from now on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kyra05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
1.4 mi away
Motel 6 Niagara Falls
Motel 6 Niagara Falls
#28 of 51 in Niagara Falls
149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Niagara Falls/Buffalo Area
4.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Niagara Falls/Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#33 of 51 in Niagara Falls
356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Niagara Falls
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#20 of 51 in Niagara Falls
49 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shiva's Travelers Lodge
Shiva's Travelers Lodge
#32 of 51 in Niagara Falls
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Cottage Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Cottage Inns

Property: Swiss Cottage Inns
Address: 6831 Niagara Falls Blvd, Niagara Falls, NY 14304-2235
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Swiss Cottage Inns 1.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located 12 minutes' drive from Niagara Falls, the casino and a large shopping mall, the motel presents itself as the ideal base to explore the sights of the area. The motel offers free passes for a shuttle service to and from both Niagara Falls and the casino (during the summer season). The motel also offers a large outdoor pool and Wi-Fi internet connection so that guests can keep in contact with family, friends and colleagues during their stay. Guests will find numerous restaurants nearby to satisfy every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Swiss Cottage Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Cottage Inns Hotel Niagara Falls
Swiss Cottage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing