We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has been a favorite of ours”

Red Coach Inn - Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Coach Inn - Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 299 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The chefs at the Red Coach Inn in Niagara Falls create a new feature menu for lunch and dinner each day. The popular AAA Three Diamond restaurant was rated "Four Stars-Excellent" by the Niagara Gazette, and it was the winner of the Western New York Chef Challenge and the Taste of Buffalo "People's Choice," "New York" and "Best Seafood" awards.A roaring wood fire in the natural stone fireplace warms the Grill Room in winter. In summer the patio, surrounded by a beautiful garden and koi pond is a favorite dining spot. The Rapids Room, an enclosed porch with leaded-glass windows, offers a panoramic view of the majestic Niagara Rapids. The Cruvinet wine bar has rich mahogany paneling with granite and brass accents. It features an array of vintage wines by the glass, flavored coffees, cappuccino, and beers from around the world. The cozy Fireside Room has an extensive library. It is the perfect gathering place for cocktails, an after-dinner drink, or for simply relaxing with a book by the fire. Banquet rooms with picture windows offering spectacular views of the Rapids can comfortably accommodate parties up to 50. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are served seven days a week.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is (was?) our favorite restaurant in Niagara Falls, have never had a bad meal until this one in November. I am hoping it was just an off night, we were really disappointed with the food. The ambiance and the service were great, no complaints there. We were seated in the side room which overlooks the Niagara River rapids, very pretty. Our coconut shrimp appetizer was delicious and is an award winner for the Red Coach (Buffalo People's Choice Award). After that, our food went downhill fast. I agree with the previous review, we felt we were very rushed with our food. We shared the clams casino which were very fishy tasting and the crabcakes, which were mushy and mealy. Then our steaks were a disappointment, the ribeye was swimming in grease, the filet has an overpowering balsamic reduction covering it and the accompanying vegetables and potatoes were bland. The scallop pasta was very rich and just OK. We left thinking that we could have cooked a better meal at home. I e-mailed the restaurant a few days later with no response back. Management, please review what is going on in your kitchen! We want the Red Coach to be our favorite again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank delred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann H, General Manager at Red Coach Inn - Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing your honest opinion. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We will use your comments as we work to improve our guests' experiences.I have spoken with the Chef and the Food and Beverage manager to improve the unappetizing appetizers. Thank you again for feedback and hope you give us another chance to prove we are still your favorite restaurant. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 806 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

Been in the city 30+ years and ive never been to the red coach inn. The first time coming here and I recieved the best service and care from Victoria at the front desk to the breakfast waiter Stephen who was so kind and catered to my every need. But the food prepared by Nate was absolutely delicious, Chef Mark did an excellent job showing his staff how to please their guests!!!!! A++++ on my satisfaction! Thank you Red Coach Inn!!!!

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank manvschef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann H, General Manager at Red Coach Inn - Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Wow Thank you so much for such remarkable compliments. I will pass along to the staff the very kind words. It is so nice to know when we have satisfied another guest. Please come often as we change the features daily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

It was certainly a cut above and an excellent location, right across the road from the American Falls. Thought at first the prices might be a bit more than we wanted to pay, but we had held the line during the entire trip from Indianapolis to Boston and back to here, so we decided if it was a bit much that would be alright. We were surprised. The prices were very moderately priced. The food was great, and the surroundings were great as well. We would highly recommend you stop here when you visit the Falls. It is well worth it. You may also want to check out the hotel rates, as it is attached to the restaurant, or the other way around! The hotel prices are a bit higher, but the convenience of being right beside the falls has to be worth something.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DSStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann H, General Manager at Red Coach Inn - Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit at The Red Coach. We strive to ensure that our guest walk away as satisfied as you did. Thank you again for taking time to stop and Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Being a quasi-local I never thought to stop into the Red Coach Inn because of it's proximity to the Falls, I thought it would be a tourist-trap. Not so! 6 of us recently gathered for a birthday party and received wonderful food and service. Needless to say, I was pleasantly surprised.

Dinner entrees on the menu are reasonably priced--ranging from about $14 for simple pasta upwards to $40 for steak and seafood. Our party ordered from all over the menu and we were all satisfied with our meals. Nothing mind-blowing, but very good, standard fare that would appeal to a variety of palates. Two of our diners were vegetarian and the menu easily accommodated. Everything is a la carte, so our salads were separate but well worth it. Fresh baked bread appeared before dinner service with a delicious homemade strawberry whipped butter. Very nice, elegant touch.

Drinks were also extremely reasonable. $5 for a glass of house merlot is pretty much unheard of anywhere, and it was a generous pour.

The staff graciously prepped our guest's birthday cake with candles and even sang to him, and plated up a slice for each guest.

In terms of the decor...it is definitely rustic. Dark, lots of carpeting, big chairs and booths. It fits the menu and we found it very comfortable.

Again, I should mention that the service was exceptional. Sometimes on an off or slow night, the service or the food suffers. The Red Coach in really impressed us, especially for a family event like ours.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank misscrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann H, General Manager at Red Coach Inn - Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for such nice remarks. The staff and I are very proud of the Red Coach and love to know when our guest have a great experience. We enjoy building memories with our guest and it seems we have done that with you. We look forward to your next visit. I will pass along your feedback as it encourages the staff to know they can make a difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

One of our party walks with a cane but otherwise is mobile. This restaurant which also has a hotel attached did not have a restroom on the first floor nor an elevator to the second floor where the restroom was located. The stairway is curved, long, poorly lighted, and has old carpeting on it. I accompanied our family member up and down the stairs, but unfortunately she lost her footing on the last several steps and took a tumble. Luckily she did not seriously hurt herself.

I was extremely upset with the lack of interest, compassion, or care given to us by the manager. He was more defensive and arrogant, and never offered help or questioned the need of medical assistance till I raised the issue. He was more concerned with explaining that the building was exempt from ADA requirements based on the historic status of the building. Would it be asking too much that a mention of this be posted on the restaurants website or mention given at the time the reservation was made?

After a rather heated conversation the manager did apologize and discounted the check. The servers were extremely helpful and understanding and quite upset by the whole thing. My guess is this was not the first time issues of no rest room on the first floor have come up.

We were asked to fill out an incident report and told that the general manager would contact us. He never did.

Concerning the food, its OK, but nothing special. The room has a lot of character but it could benefit from some restoration.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann H, General Manager at Red Coach Inn - Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for sharing this honest feedback on your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and I have shared your comments with our team so we can work to correct the issues for future guests. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience, and your comments will help us better serve our guests moving forward. Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Coach Inn - Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Coach Inn - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing