We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very lovely restaurant.”

Red Coach Inn - Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Coach Inn - Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 290 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The chefs at the Red Coach Inn in Niagara Falls create a new feature menu for lunch and dinner each day. The popular AAA Three Diamond restaurant was rated "Four Stars-Excellent" by the Niagara Gazette, and it was the winner of the Western New York Chef Challenge and the Taste of Buffalo "People's Choice," "New York" and "Best Seafood" awards.A roaring wood fire in the natural stone fireplace warms the Grill Room in winter. In summer the patio, surrounded by a beautiful garden and koi pond is a favorite dining spot. The Rapids Room, an enclosed porch with leaded-glass windows, offers a panoramic view of the majestic Niagara Rapids. The Cruvinet wine bar has rich mahogany paneling with granite and brass accents. It features an array of vintage wines by the glass, flavored coffees, cappuccino, and beers from around the world. The cozy Fireside Room has an extensive library. It is the perfect gathering place for cocktails, an after-dinner drink, or for simply relaxing with a book by the fire. Banquet rooms with picture windows offering spectacular views of the Rapids can comfortably accommodate parties up to 50. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are served seven days a week.
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very lovely restaurant.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The food was quite good. We stopped for lunch and truly enjoyed it. The portions were generous, the food tasty but the service was slow. Our waitress took forever to bring out check and then there was a long wait to get my credit card back. One negative was that the bathroom was up a flight of stair. Not acceptable for someone with disabilities. Also there was no sidewalk cut near the restaurant to get a scooter or wheelchair up onto the sidewalk. (That is not the restaurant's fault, it is the city's fault.)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dickmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    268
    120
    60
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant; Not Senior/Handicap Accessible at All”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

First, do not confuse this Inn with the dumpy motel called the Red Carpet Inn in the same city.

Red Coach:
Beautiful atmosphere inside an English Tutor Inn. The conservatory aspect with wood tables and high back upholstered chairs offer expansive views of the Niagara River through many windows. The food is wide ranging in price and variety serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. There are casual dishes to be enjoyed here and this is a tourist, family-friendly restaurant too. However, if you are looking for more expensive fare, that is also on the menu. Many locals were dining here. WARNING: The restaurant hasn't been modernized quite enough. The old world charm is outstanding, but the only restrooms are up a grand staircase! This is completely unsuitable for seniors, people with disabilities, or those with very young children. The banquet facilities are also up the same grand staircase. Bear this in mind when booking here. I gave the restaurant a poor for families with children based on that point and also the special occasions. I can't think of a large family dinner that wouldn't involve someone who is senior or disabled in someway in most families. Time to fix this management no matter what you must do.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciaran49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You don't come to Niagara Falls for the food”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Our experience was hard to sum up in one sentence. The service on a Monday night at 6 pm was very solicitous. The waits were not unreasonable. The bread with strawberry-honey butter and olive oil with balsamic vinegar was very good. I enjoyed their award-winning coconut shrimp. The entrees seemed like afterthoughts. Or rather, it was like the pasta and vegetables were pre-cooked and sat on a steam table. My wife's shrimp scampi was waterlogged and had no discernible flavor. My duck breast was rubbery with limp vegetables. The desserts on the other hand were fabulous. The wine list was reasonable and not overpriced. The entree prices were all over the place. If the entrees that we ordered had tasted better, they would have been worth the price. If I return to Niagara Falls, I might try the Punjabi street food instead then stop by the Red Coach Inn for dessert and cognac.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Customer service fail”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

It was ok.... Nice environment ... Prices to be expected..... But the customer service was lacking. Took way to long to get the food. The waitress was not good at following up with us to see if we were ok. After sitting for 20 minutes and were still waiting for the food, another waitress asked if we had ordered yet. A lot of staff walking around talking to each other loudly about work stuff that under cut the environment they were going for. Food was ok but probably won't be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnn M, Guest Relations Manager at Red Coach Inn - Restaurant, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit with us at the Red Coach Restaurant. Your feedback is very useful to us in our efforts to always continually improve our operation. We have shared your specific feedback with our staff and expect improvement in the areas noted. We trust you will see a difference on your next visit, please feel free to contact us personally if I can be of any assistance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great dinner with rapids view”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Ate on the covered patio from which you can see the rapids and hear them as well. Great food, one of the hightlights of our trip. One block away from the Comfort Inn the Point.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carshowjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Coach Inn - Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Coach Inn - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing