We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mini Lunch Escape” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Coach Inn - Restaurant

Red Coach Inn - Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Coach Inn - Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 289 Restaurants in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The chefs at the Red Coach Inn in Niagara Falls create a new feature menu for lunch and dinner each day. The popular AAA Three Diamond restaurant was rated "Four Stars-Excellent" by the Niagara Gazette, and it was the winner of the Western New York Chef Challenge and the Taste of Buffalo "People's Choice," "New York" and "Best Seafood" awards.A roaring wood fire in the natural stone fireplace warms the Grill Room in winter. In summer the patio, surrounded by a beautiful garden and koi pond is a favorite dining spot. The Rapids Room, an enclosed porch with leaded-glass windows, offers a panoramic view of the majestic Niagara Rapids. The Cruvinet wine bar has rich mahogany paneling with granite and brass accents. It features an array of vintage wines by the glass, flavored coffees, cappuccino, and beers from around the world. The cozy Fireside Room has an extensive library. It is the perfect gathering place for cocktails, an after-dinner drink, or for simply relaxing with a book by the fire. Banquet rooms with picture windows offering spectacular views of the Rapids can comfortably accommodate parties up to 50. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are served seven days a week.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Mini Lunch Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Great place to have lunch & take a little stress out of your day. Enjoy the food, the Old World atmosphere and after you have one of their fabulous desserts, take a walk along the rapids just across the street.
A perfect mini getaway in the middle of the day .

  • Visited October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Monhegan1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    260
    117
    55
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great location, venue just above average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Had dinner whilst in area. No need to book. Just across the road from falls so great view and you could hear the falls very clearly. Restaurant has outdoor area. Meals were good, not to large which is a bonus for us. Slightly expensive but if you are only in town for a few nights definately worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shamac777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester,new york
Level Contributor
222 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“great view and food too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We have been to this restaurant and have enjoyed every visit. When sitting on the veranda, you have an awesome view of the Niagara Falls, Canada skyline and the Niagara River that leads to the American Falls is 150' away. Our meal was very good. I had the Rainbow Trout and my husband had the filet. It was not as tender as he'd hoped. They were very busy on 8/26. We will go the next time in town. In the winter they have a cosy dining room with a fireplace. Worth the trip.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bicyclelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville , New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overall disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

My mother, sister, grandchild and I spent the morning visiting Niagara Falls and looked forward to our lunch at the Red Coach Inn. The building is absolutely exquisite in it's character and other people I know have had very good meals and experiences there. Unfortunately, ours was not. To begin with, our waiter was unable to communicate effectively due to his very strong accent. He did not seem to understand our menu questions very well. I ordered the steak tips with a demi-glace' over rice pilaf and it was under flavored and over cooked. My mother and sister ordered salads, neither of which came with dressing, and when asked for a side of dressing, it took over eight minutes! The service was incredibly lacking and the food was really not good. It would seem that this is an exception because I have read many good reviews for this restaurant. However, I can only review on my own experience. Also, there is not a children's menu, which for a tourist area, makes no sense, even for an upscale eatery. We were very disappointed and will not be going back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AverySmartchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful terrace but restaurant soso”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

If you can reserve an outdoor table in the warm summer months you should definitely go there.
If not, the picture is mixed: On our visit the food was OK, though overseasoned in too many places. The fish and chips turned out the best of the four main dishes by far. Meat and pasta were covered in too thick sauces with too many spices.
Service is even more difficult to review. All of the waiters (young women and men from Eastern European countries) were very friendly and spoke good English - but did not know much about food and even less about wine. When we ordered an American wine, the female waiter pointed out to a more knowledgable male waiter, who brought us an Australian Shiraz, then suggested an Italian Merlot before bringing a pretty bland Californian Merlot without giving us any other choices. On top the wine was close to 25C/80F.
To sum up: the place could certainly improve service and food to match the fabulous outdoor sitting.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mourspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Coach Inn - Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Coach Inn - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing