We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peaceful.... nice walk”

Niagara Falls State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$10.15*
and up
Niagara SkyWheel Admission Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A huge expanse of natural beauty, this oldest state park in the U.S. offers biking, fishing and cross-country skiing, and contains plenty of hiking and walking trails, including the Niagara Gorge Trail System, which affords great views of both the falls and the gorge.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“peaceful.... nice walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

i enjoyed walking through the nice clean well kept park, and the trolley ride was wonderful and informative as well

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alicia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,056
    713
    143
    44
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Visited niagara falls on the American side, the park is nice and clean and even though we went during winter and it's cold, it was a great visit

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tntt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Get up close to the Falls on the American side”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have been going to Niagara Falls for years, but always on the Canadian side. We recently visited the American side during a spring break road trip, only because some in our group of eighteen could not cross the border into Canada. I was pleasantly surprised that the view is quite good from the state park, and there is a nice visitor's center with helpful staff.

We were going to watch the 45-minute movie downstairs, but time was short, so we decided to just head outside into the cold and see (and feel!) the Falls for ourselves. During the summer time, you can get really close by walking down to the Falls along the wooden footpath, but it is closed in the winter. The wind was biting and it was bitterly cold when we went out onto the observation deck, but we still managed to get some good photos and experience the cold spray and mist on our faces. All the tourist attractions, such as the Maid of the Mist, are basically closed in the winter, but the plus side is that there are no crowds, and you can freely walk all over the park. Parking was also free!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank A_Michigan_Mom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The State Park is the best part of Niagara Falls USA or Canada. Be sure to take the trolley and go to Three Sisters Islands. There is also great hiking available starting at the Discovery Center. Pack a lunch if possible and eat in the park. We love to spend the first part of the day here and then walk across the bridge into Canada for dinner. You will be so happy you visited the State Park, so much nicer than the commercialized Canadian side.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Buffalonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Goat Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Love this park. Best view of the Falls, huge trees, great walking trails. Peaceful and lovely! Walked to the park for my hotel and stayed for hours. I was enchanted by the Falls!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank stonedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niagara Falls State Park also viewed

 

Been to Niagara Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing