We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just OK”

Whirlpool State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.78*
and up
Private Tour: Niagara Falls Sightseeing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
201 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Just OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Given the surroundings, I was very excited about this, but felt let down. When I hear the term "whirlpool," I imagine a swirling, distinct shape. It wasn't nearly that exciting; it was still cool to see the swirling water, though.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KCHolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    139
    42
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not sure about the park...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

though the Jet Boat Tours were incredible! We highly recommend them but don't go unless you love the unexpected. Four individuals were frightened and slowed down our trip...they were moved to the rear of the boat to alleviate their fears.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DierksLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An unexpected free view of the whirlpool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stopped for a short visit and were surprised at the view we had of the whirlpool from the US side. Since we did not go to the Canadian side, it was the only view we could get of the whirlpool. It was free and a great value.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MeAndMyHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Whirlpool State Park and the Devil's Hole Hike is one of the best things to do at the falls. Plan on taking a LOT of water this is a long hike. It is 450 steps atleast to the bottom of the gorge and then there is a lot of climbing over rocks to get to the rapids -but once you get there you will never forget how awesome it is! Well worth the trek!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank atbouldersedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spectacular views and all around enjoyable hike.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Need a good cardio workout? The stairs up and down will definitely give you that. With breathtaking views of the whirlpools and rapids this is a great spot for a picnic.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cbova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whirlpool State Park also viewed

 

Been to Whirlpool State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing