We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yuck!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Pelican Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pelican Motel
Ranked #49 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yuck!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

I'm not a picky person. I understand and can deal with staying at a bare-bones room. I wasn't expecting a palace but I was expecting a lot more than what we experienced at this place! I booked this place based on the three most recent reviews which were quite positive and current. Now I have to wonder if these reviews are genuine.

The negative reviews were from last year and older while the positive ones were just within the last few months and so I thought that perhaps the motel had done some renos. I'm not sure where the pictures on the website came on but our room certainly didn't look like those pictures! The room was located at the very back building basically in this small alleyway... complete with an abandoned shopping cart. When we opened the door, all you could smell was smoke. The lighting was poor. There was a fridge and a microwave basically parked in the middle of the room. The lamps between the two beds didn't work and ended up falling off the wall. This was considered the "family suite" and the 2nd bedroom consisted of a closet-sized room with a BARE mattress ON THE FLOOR. The bathroom was disgusting. There was mold on the blinds, mold on the ceiling and down the walls, mold in the corners on the floor, mold in the shower, mold on the shower curtain. There wasn't enough hot water for everyone to shower. The fridge worked one night but not the second night and the microwave had to stay unplugged because if you plugged it in, it would stay on! The heat didn't work. The only decent thing about the place was that the manager was helpful. He told us how to get to the mall and brought extra towels (thin towels though) and when we told him there was no heat, he told us that there would be a space heater put in the room by the time we got back from dinner... and there was. The room was not cleaned except that the garbage was emptied. And now, my friend has asked me if I have bed bug bites!!

Don't stay here. Stay further from the outlet mall as the reviews for hotels/motels near the mall are not that great and so it makes me wonder if all the places near the mall are dumps. Next time, we will stay in Amherst where there is good shopping and decent hotels and it's not that far of a drive to the outlet mall.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Warp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    0
    0
    15
See reviews for
4
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

We had a great vacation trip to Niagra falls and the hotel we stayed is Pelican. It was fabulous and we enjoyed a lot in the Hotel . And also the hotel cost is reasonable. It is very close to the beautiful Niagra falls. .Also a very good service. It is very comfort and also very relaxable. It is also a very peaceful place......................in one word we can say its very good and awesome.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parrotIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

It's a great hotel to stay with. The service,discipline, location, service are appreciateable.

I enjoyed a lot with our friends and it's a good place to stay. The cleanliness and service

are amazing to talk about.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suresh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

The room was nice. The manager was very friendly and helpful. Not very far from the falls.

Stayed August 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank harshajbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

I basically ignored the negative reviews and hoped for the best and was quite satisfied with my stay. If you're looking for a 5 star hotel in the lap of luxury this is not the place for you. It is however, an affordable motel with a comfortable bed, AC, clean bathroom, working tv and is located about 3 miles from the Falls and in close access to restaurants and shopping. My room also had a refrigerator and microwave which were quite useful. The service was extremely good since the manager seems to be an all around great guy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NM_Brampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

First off, I don't know what part has been renovated but it definitely wasn't noticable. When we got there to check in, you had to buzz to even have the lobby door opened ( at 3:00 in the afternoon), the key that was given us did not work in the door, when we finally got in there was a strong odor of goo gone or something similar, no fridge, no microwave, no iron, cover off the thermostat, stains on the wall, bathroom was disgusting, decided to shower right away and tub overflowed while showering, cigarette butt in radiator vent which was broken. No towels, had to go get management three times in first half hour. Finally moved to new room where it reeked of cigarette smoke, holes in bedspread, stains on pillowcases and sheets. We had to ask six times for extra pillows and did not receive till 2nd night. There were other problems but I think you get the point. Definately will not stay there again!!!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank brwnmarshmallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Niagara Falls hotels

glastonbury CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2008

Wow.. all rooms smell like Smoke chamber.
Even their cleaners are smoking during their cleaning.

Every thing was broken, tab water does not work.
Carpets are very dirty. Tv remotes do not work. Internet did not work.

What surprises me the most was, how these motels are approved from Health inspectors. I thought, usa was not a third world country.

if you perfer to live at a ghetto place OR you are looking for a dirty hole just to hide yourself for the night or you can not afford any other thing , then this is the right place for you.

First, i want to move immediately But i was too tired to move somewhere else at 2AM after too much driving.

I complained the problems but soon realized, manager was originally from pakistan & just keep on saying Yes, Yes, & does nothing to your complain.

Guys, there are thousand of motels on this road (62). This motel experience makes me feel so bad, even i do not feel booking anymore on internet unless & until i have seen the place.

  • Liked — dirty smoking chamber hole
  • Disliked — Never trust, what asian motel managers says on the phone.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ashban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 mi away
Swiss Cottage Inns
Swiss Cottage Inns
#28 of 50 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#32 of 50 in Niagara Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.5 mi away
Motel 6 Niagara Falls
Motel 6 Niagara Falls
#27 of 50 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#25 of 50 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
3.7 mi away
Anchor Motel
Anchor Motel
#19 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moonlite Motel
Moonlite Motel
#18 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Motel

Property: Pelican Motel
Address: 6817 Niagara Falls Blvd, Route 62, Niagara Falls, NY 14304-2235
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pelican Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New rooms, low prices, great place for families and extended stay. less then 3 miles from Niagara Falls, 1 block to restaurants, shopping, 2 blocks from factory outlets shopping mall, 2 blocks from movie theater. Internet café, high speed wireless internet in each and every room. extended cable channels with free HBO. Seniors discount, low weekly rates, bus / trucks / RV parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pelican Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Motel Niagara Falls
Pelican Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing