We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel in a terrible town”
Review of Gorge View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gorge View
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great hostel in a terrible town”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

This is one of the best hostels I've stayed in. Clean, modern. Common facilities are good - brand new dining/hanging out area, free wifi. Beds are comfortable. Bathrooms are individual (ie no shower block). If you are staying in Niagara USA, I would recommend this. 

However, if you are a traveller thinking about going to Niagara Falls and don't think it matters whether you stay on the Canadian side or the US side - think again. This town is an absolute dive.  You do not feel entirely safe on these streets. We couldn't believe the difference crossing the bridge into Canada. The Canadian side is abuzz with people and tourism, whereas the US side is terrible. No tourism, no people, no attractions. Plus you get a great view of the falls on the Canadian side compared to the view on the American side. From the door of our hostel to the other side of the bridge into the Canadian side, it took us 30 minutes to walk

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harks17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    18
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
12
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I stayed here for a weekend and enjoyed it. A private room with shared bathroom was $40 a night, which I think was reasonable. It is new and clean, with nice common areas, although the breakfast could be a little more varied.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beatgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

we came at around 10:30 at night and they accepted us without a reservation. we ended up staying in a 4 bed dorm but there was a private room in there too , in which they have to walk through the dorm to get to it , so it did disturb at times , esepcially at night and in the morning when you want sleep and some privacy. Also the bathroom was shared in the dorm room and the private room shared the bathroom too , which i found a bit odd , as i thought the term 'private' meant you didnt have to share. the room was clean though which was good. they provide lockers in the rooms but our locker didnt work properly and you could still access them when locked , and we was upset when we had some of our stuff stolen , the staff was apolagetic but explained it was our own responsibility. none the less , the staff was brilliant and friendly , and the free breakfast was good considering the price.

Room Tip: ideal for single travellers , needing a room. wifi is free but slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abby284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at Red Lounge Niagara...clean and functional the hostel is in a fabulous old building (though it is a bit like Ikea threw up in there!). My private room was great value but I found it odd that I had to walk through a dorm to get to it! Bathroom was old but fine. Terrible terrible water pressure...but you get that in such an old building. Free breakfast was a bonus... would have been nice if there was coffee all day. Free Wifi...but a lack of power points!

Obviously the falls are spectacular! But Niagara itself is a dying town...it's kind of sad to see.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JM_travels_sometimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This place was awesome. I regret that we only needed a place to stay for the night, because we would have loved to stay and spend more time there. It was so comfortable, each room was cute, clean & modern looking. You can get a single room with a double bed for 60, or an individual bunk bed for only 25 bucks. We had never stayed in a hostel before so the idea was intriguing but also a little scary. However after walking through the front doors we weren't worried at all, it seemed more like a camp where everyone is super friendly & ethnically diverse which makes it all the more intriguing. Staff is super friendly, bathrooms are single with locks, no complaints! A+++

Room Tip: Great for a unique (& very affordable experience) Best for your money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbrzezi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Fl
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Loved it, they accept me in the middle of the night without reservation and it was within walking distance fromt the Rainbow bridge. Most hotel wanted like $100 or more for a single person to sleep for a couple of hours and this recently opened facility was the answer to my prayers. I have travelled extensively throughout South and North America from 5 stars hotel to less desirable accomodations but had never experience a hostel so I was I bit concerned. I was kind of surprised to find a very clean facility, staffed by very friendly and helpful people. Keep up the good work, the area needed a clean, affordable facility for the single traveller. Good luck from a satisfied customer

Room Tip: Do a search in a search engine to see what's available in the area and check their rating from o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paticu2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,028 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,896 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#11 of 51 in Niagara Falls
443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
#8 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
#10 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorge View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorge View

Property: Gorge View
Address: 723 3rd St, Niagara Falls, NY 14301-1073
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorge View offers affordable accommodations at a privileged location across the street from the Niagara Falls State Park allowing you to walk to the Aquarium, Gorge Discovery Center, Made of the Mist, Cave of the Winds and Waterfalls in minutes. It's a great place to start hiking or biking the many trails along the Niagara Gorge and we're one block from the dining and entertainment district, enjoy food, beverages and meet new people in and around Gorge View.​Niagara Falls and the region around it is an affordable tourist destination in a relaxed atmosphere next to a world wonder. There is plenty to do and see within walking distance of Gorge View and no visit would be complete without exploring the larger Niagara Region. We offer private rooms and hostel dorms for overnight stays as well as apartments ideal for students and singles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Gorge View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing