We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience all around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wanderfalls Guesthouse & Hostel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience all around”
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

This being my first time at a hostel, I was pleasantly surprised at the diligence Carroll took in making me feel welcome and making sure I was comfortable around the city. As soon as i got in she gave me area maps, giving me directions and recommendations. She led me around the house (more a guest house than a hostel, but who's pointing fingers?). Everything was clean. The rooms were just fine for the pack I had. I left all my valuables there, feeling no threat of thievery. Though they give specific hours, the night I was there, they stayed two hours later to make sure a pair of latecomers knew their way around too. If I ever had to come to Niagara again, I'll stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerlachjacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
16
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Took us ages to find this place online but so glad we did! Incredibly reasonably priced, nice rooms and a very safe place due to location and the owners' dedication. Really enjoyable stay - I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
262 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I booked this budget guest house / hostel online for three nights after had my research through online articles and suggestions. I must say that i felt like homely at Wanderfalls. The couple who runs this property were very accommodating and helping in every terms. This small cozy house gives you feeling of your own Home. You can use the kitchen as well with Refrigerator. This guest house is quiet, neat and clean, friendly staff and owners, centrally located (near to the falls), ATM is near by. Stay here and enjoy the Falls. Special thanks to the owner Carroll and Andre Reetz for thier well behaved treatment and hospitality.

Room Tip: Just ask them for what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MudsMuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

The Wanderfalls is a real cross between a hostel and a B&B. The house is a pretty normal size, so you're not likely to have more than about 12 people staying at any one time. At the end of the day, your enjoyment depends a lot on whether you appreciate the hosteling/B&B kind of stay or not.

The staff are all great, giving you a personal touch that you can't find with hotels. Most of the house is accessible for guests, including the lovely backyard and common living rooms. Breakfast in the morning is essentially pancake mix and a griddle -- not exactly gourmet, but a nice touch especially if you're happy to make your own breakfast. It's also nice to be able to use the kitchen for your own meals.

On the downside, the house is not air conditioned and this was a bit of a problem in the height of summer when we stayed. There were some fans in the room but it was still quite hot especially on the top bunks. Yes all of the beds are bunk beds, in keeping with the hostel theme. The location of the house is within walking distance of the falls and the town, but it's not exactly within view or earshot of the falls -- probably about a 10-15 minute walk through the residential part of Niagara Falls.

I would recommend the Wanderfalls if you enjoy hostels or B&B's and you don't mind a bit of walking to the attractions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gene-parmesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This place was a great find! The staff was friendly and very accommodating! 3 minute drive to Niagara Falls, grocery store a block away. Borders on a questionable neighborhood, but I had no issues or concerns at the location or its immediate surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inc316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Our Girl Scout Troop had a great visit at Wanderfalls. The guesthouse has all the conveniences of home and provided our girls with safe, comfortable lodging. Plenty of room to spread out and enjoy our downtime. The close proximity to the Niagara Falls State Park, grocery store and restaurants was a huge benefit to our travel budget and very busy sightseeing schedule. Youth groups looking for that special destination or families planning a mini-reunion should definately consider Wanderfalls Hostel and Guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

It's a Nice place to stay. The owners are helpfull and friendly, the kitchen is excellent and there is a big supermarket around the corner. It's a bit of a walk to the falls but for the price it's a good location. Only downside is that the staff is only availeble between 8 to 11 and 4 to 9.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merijn111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#9 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel
0.7 mi away
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
#8 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
#10 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderfalls Guesthouse & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderfalls Guesthouse & Hostel

Property: Wanderfalls Guesthouse & Hostel
Address: 601 Spruce Ave, Niagara Falls, NY 14301-1058
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niagara Falls' Friendly Home Away From Home! The hostel closest to the Falls and the Gorge on either side, USA or Canada. Located 1 block from the Niagara River Gorge and 1 mile to the Falls along the gorge. Our mission is to be the number-one choice for Niagara Falls travelers who prefer affordable and comfortable accommodations in a warm, friendly environment to the sterile, lonely atmospheres of expensive hotels and motels. Our guests love meeting new people and are open to shared accommodations and communal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Wanderfalls Guesthouse & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing