We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good way to get around the Falls” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cataract Tours

Cataract Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Cataract Tours & Sightseeing INC. is a local family owned and operated company based out of One Niagara in Niagara Falls, New York. We sell our tours for the lowest price guaranteed. Our tours are seasonal and cover all major sites and attractions in the beautiful Niagara Falls State Park and Whirlpool State Park.Tours leave from One Niagara by shuttle bus with a licensed tour guide to accompany passengers throughout the entire tour and provide tickets and fun facts about Niagara Falls. Please visit our website for current tours, rates and bookings. Feel free to email or call us with any questions or concerns!
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good way to get around the Falls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The tour is well-organized, gives ample time for viewing the attractions. Kel was a fantastic driver and guide. I found it very convenient to see many attractions, but paid 60$, which is slightly too much. Besides the US side of the falls, you get a chance to see the power plant further north, the Gorge state park and the Maid of Mist boat tour is also included. I recommend it in a sunny, warm day, otherwise the wet part of the boat tour can be very unpleasent. Prepare for changing of your wet shoes/trousers/... Have fun!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RSz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    20
    7
    4
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
stae college pa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“garbage!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

this really was one of the worst rip-offs I have EVER experienced. On top of the overpriced $80 they charge you, you are at once greeted by a sign on the bus requesting a 15% gratuity. They then drive you around to some area parks most of which are free; the one that is not is only a couple of bucks for parking. Then they take you to the hydroelectric dam and museum...also FREE where you watch a lame movie on hydroelectric power..meh. BUT THE WORST is where they take to some Kwiki mart/ "museum" with barely anything stocked.. They push hot dogs on you while you look at some of the wreckage of those who went over the falls but did not survive....I'm not kidding..a Kwiki mart, trying to pose as a "museum".:...obviously friends with the tour operator. If you have a car, go to the park and then go to maid of the mist and save yourself a ton of money...This was a COMPLETE disgrace and I have to believe the tour guide, Zale, knew it. I really couldn't believe I was in the US and not some 3rd world country where a Bedouin farmer wants to charge 50 bucks to be photographed on his camel

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlover043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Family Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We just finished the tour - 4 adults and 4 kids aged 2 to 11. We could never have done all we did on our own. Joe was an outstanding guide! As a native of Buffalo I'm not new to the sights but much has changed since I lived here. We found the tour very efficient. VERY happy we found them.

Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Total scam - Please complain to the Better Business Bureau”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I don't have much to ad to all the comments already posted. Their tours are not worth it.

If you have not been satisfied, please complain to the Better Business Bureau. They have a good rating, which doesn't represent their services.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our tour guide was Joe and he was great. He took us to a few viewing spots that I wouldn't ave thought about going to. It was a bit pricey, but in the long run I thought it was worth it. We got to do all the touristy stuff on the american side in one day which left us with the next 3 days to go to Canada and Lake Ontario. If you have the cash and the time I would recommend taking the tour.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cataract Tours also viewed

 
Niagara Falls, NY
 

Been to Cataract Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing