We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building, beautiful room, great staff, please support this gem!!”
Review of The Giacomo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Giacomo
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Takoma Park, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful building, beautiful room, great staff, please support this gem!!”
Reviewed August 11, 2010

The only non-cheesy, non-chain, we could find in the Falls and it was a gem! I wish these guys the best of luck.

My only caveat/warning: don't get a Platinum Suite (the BIGGEST and MOST expensive room) because it is on the SECOND floor facing the parking lot! Why?? This didn't make any sense to me.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retrophit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    199
    64
    19
    19
See reviews for
172
520
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

My 20-year-old daughter and I decided to take a roadtrip across the southern edge of Lake Ontario (the Seaway Trail), with Niagara Falls as our turn-around point. I had visited the Falls many years ago, just to peer over the edge, then on to Canada; my daughter had never seen it. We decided to take the advice of Tripadvisor readers and splurge for the relatively pricey room at the Giacomo, finding that most hotels within walking distance of the Falls are pricey. We were pleasantly impressed with the service and staff, the location, the quality of the hotel and accoutrements, and best of all - the comfort! We arrived late afternoon, checked in quickly with valet parking, and totally admired the newly renovated, but very tasteful, Art Deco furnishings. We had learned when we made our reservation that the lower six floors are the hotel, while the upper floors are private addresses. Our 4th floor room was gorgeous, but we didn't stick around to admire it, as we headed out for the visitor center to get the "Discovery Pass" to see the Maid of the Mist, the Cave of the Winds, the Aquarium, etc. (well worth the discount price and convenience of having tickets in hand, if you plan to see these attractions anyway!). The line for the boat was about an hour from start to boarding the boat, so we were exhausted, but happy!, by the time we disembarked. We weren't too wet, so we went to the Top of the Falls restaurant (another wonderful experience - see other review). Since the line for the Cave of the Winds was long (presumably because folks wanted to be there when the lights come on at night), we just traded in our tickets for the obligatory poncho and water sandals, so that we could return first thing in the morning and get right in line for the elevator, without having to first wait in the other line. We hung around to see the lights come on at the Falls, then dragged ourselves back to the Giacomo (passing by the free outdoor Hard Rock Summer Concert) to crash hard in the most comfortable bed we'd ever slept in!!! We actually first rode the elevator up to the top of the hotel to the observation lounge, where we could have hung out if we had more energy, but we did enjoy the view - one cannot see the Falls from anywhere on the American side due to the angle; however, the mist that rises up is easily visible from the Giacomo, and the cool colored lights are beautiful, especially from the "top of the Giac." The views from our room weren't too shabby either, as we were on the corner and could look out both ways from large curtained windows. We had delightful showers (a giant glassed-in shower with seat/bench and hand-held shower wand) and wrapped ourselves in the perfect bathrobes provided, and sank into the luxurious king-size bed for TV (large flatscreen with cable) until we couldn't keep our eyes open any longer. Woke up early and very reluctantly crawled out of that great bed to grab some food - the Giacomo provides a complimentary breakfast (scrambled eggs, bacon, waffles, and the usual continental fare - all fresh and tasty) in a comfortable dining room - and coffee to go, although the rooms are furnished with Kourig coffee/tea makers also. We went to the Cave of the Winds (1st in line, even at 9am when the attraction opened, since we already had our ponchos!), then checked with the hotel staff before we headed to the Aquarium, in case we didn't get back by the 11am checkout time, but they said noon was fine, which worked out perfectly for us. The Giacomo was a huge part of making our roadtrip work perfectly overall, since - even with the long wait at the Maid of the Mist, and all the walking we did to see everything, we knew we could look forward to our incredibly comfortable and pleasant room! To us, that was priceless!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennsylvaniaFishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I had high expectations of this place going in and they exceeded them all. First we drove up and a valet immediately offered to park our car for us and bring in our luggage. When we proceeded to check in, our room was not ready due to a late check out of a previous guest. Upon asking and a little negotiating, we were upgraded to an awesome king suite for no extra charge. The breakfast in the morning was a great full hot breakfast in the dining area. The hotel decor is a sort of baronial type you would expect to see in a vampire castle movie. The room was dark wood with huge flatscreens, 15 ft ceilings, a shower big enough for 4, and all the best amenities you would expect at a top tier NYC hotel. There is more to say..... but go there and you will see what I mean.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeanddee730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Friendly staff, serene ambience and access to Indian eateries made our stay here very enjoyable..Highly recommended..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Gururaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2010

First time to Niagara Falls, and the Giacomo hotel. My husband found the hotel online and from the pictures thought it looked like a pretty good hotel. When we arrived the pictures didn't go the hotel justice. It was absolutely gorgeous, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The valet service was a really nice bonus. The hotel is minutes from Niagara Falls Park and you never have to take your car if you don't want to. Everything is pretty much in walking distance. The continental breakfast was great! It had a nice variety of food that helped get you filled up before starting your day. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice quality hotel with great service and minutes from the Falls! My husband and I would definitely return to this hotel when we come to the area again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie92883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
210 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I wasn't sure whether to spend the money on this hotel or go for a cheap motel but I'm so glad I decided to go for it. It is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. The location is great, just five minutes from the falls. Also the hotel rooms are lovely (comfortable beds, large room, tea/coffee making, free wifi etc). In addition the staff are so helpful and friendly. If you are going to Niagara falls this is where you need to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2010

All the other postiive reviews were right on point... My grandma and I checked in on a Friday and left on Sunday-and had a fabulous time. The staff was very accomidating. Most memorable staff members were Chris and Tim- they went out of their way to chauffer us around, make suggestions on where to go, and provide us items we forgot to bring (they even brought us fresh baked cookies as a surprise in the afternoons). The decor and ambiance was some of the neatest and most appealing I've seen during a hotel stay (art deco decor was very neat!) and we walked everywhere (no need to rent a car, if you plan on staying on the NY side) but the building was always easy to find, since you could see if from anywhere near the falls, no getting lost for us! It was super quiet in the building too, no annoying outside noises or loud neighbors. The complementatry breakfast was great every morning (eggs, bacon, toast, bagels, waffles, juice, coffee, etc... everything you needed to fill up for the day) and we were a 3 min walk to the park and Casino. WARNING - the Casino WILL take all of your Money!! The street on our corner had events all day, everyday- we were their for the taste of Niagara. It wasn't super fancy, but just what we wanted- comfortable, good food, drinks, and live music. Also, the Beds were very very comfortable- great for a good night sleep. We were on the 5th floor and the view out of our window was of the Candian side- you can't actually see the falls (we were too low to the ground), but you can see the mist and all the fun sights across the border.
*As for attractions- do the Discovery Pass it is cheaper, and you will spend atleast $33 for 3 sights...Must hop on the Maid of the Mist, Walk thru the cave of the winds, watch the fireworks and see the illumination, ride the trolly, go to the aquarium (skip the magic show though-unless you have kids), and check out the casino (but don't plan on making money!).
*Next time we will have our passports and expereince the cadnaidan side- but we will most likely stay back at the Giacomo for a few days 1st, just to spend time in this hotel again.
Thanks for everything!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank celesteleilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Niagara Falls
0.2 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Coach Inn Historic Bed and Breakfast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
#8 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
#5 of 50 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
1.1 mi away
Niagara Falls Marriott Fallsview Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Giacomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Giacomo

Property: The Giacomo
Address: 222 First Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara Falls
#2 Romantic Hotel in Niagara Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Giacomo 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Giacomo, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member(R) in Niagara Falls, NY near Maid of the Mist is a towering achievement of art deco architecture. Located in a nationally-registered historical building, this boutique hotel in Niagara Falls is within walking distance from the brink of the naturally beautiful Niagara Falls, as well as a host of other attractions The Giacomo is the premiere luxury boutique hotel in Niagara Falls. Experience the majestic wonder of Niagara Falls in the world-class setting of the Giacomo Hotel - Niagara's only upscale boutique hotel. The epitome of Art Deco Architecture, the Giacomo has been completely renovated to feature ultra-modern innovations and the highest standards of personal service to satisfy the needs of the most discriminating traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Giacomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Giacomo Hotel Niagara Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing